Human values: Truth-Looking back ( Ecotrain)

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

images (5).jpeg



Human values: Truth-Looking back


I promised to write at the end of this week about my journey with Truth and its sub values. I am going to keep my promise, as that to me is an important part of Truth. But it's challenging to keep it, as I had a hard week. I was on strong antibiotics, which made me feel quite delirious and very tired and two days ago I woke up with hives all over my body as an allergic reaction to one of the penicillin based antibiotics I was taking. So I'm typing this post while I am covered in itchy red patches, scratching every now and then. Boy, it's not easy pondering Truth when you're not well. Here it goes:


I 've focussed mainly on the sub value of integrity this week. I find integrity a beautiful word and the concept has fascinated me for some time now, so that seemed the right one to pick. Letting thoughts go through my head about it, I remembered the word being used when the star trek ships were under attack. The captain would say: 'Damage report?' and the technical officer would reply: 'Hull plate integrity down to 30 %' And that would not be good. 

I have wondered about the meaning of integrity in this context and how it could shine light on the meaning of it in day to day life. This is what I found. Integrity has something to do with your eggshell being whole. Whether it's the hull of a spaceship or our personal space. It's about respecting our own boundaries and those of others. And these two go hand in hand. Our own eggshell can't stay whole while we are breaking other people's eggshells and the other way around: Other peoples boundaries are bound to be crossed by us if we don't respect our own. 

In other words integrity has a lot to do with staying in touch with our own vulnerability, because only then can we feel our own boundaries. And only if we can feel our own boundaries can we feel those of others. Staying in touch with our own vulnerability is an act of self acceptance and of Love. This would be the starting point of Truthful communication in my opinion. 


'Speak with Love and it becomes Truth.'

Sathya Sai Baba



Check out the ecoTrain highlight posts, showcasing our amazing passengers every week! https://steemit.com/nature/@eco-alex/ecotrain-post-highlights-5th-july-12th-august-2017-more-amazing-content-every-week
Sort:  

And Captain Piccard was the captain with most integrity of all.. I always felt safe with him! ;

And on the 7th day the Lord rested, so captain, tell your crew to not post on Sundays ;-)

seems it cant be done! what to do

very profound! I'm getting into these sunday posts of yours.

@clara-andriessen we must be very much alike. We both picked integrity. Being a third generation Japanese American it was instilled in me while I was growing up. We always had a great respect for our elders, our parents and other people. It must have grown into my inner core because to this day, it is one of the most valued traits I have.

In terms of reflecting back to truth and integrity, integrity is never doing something to someone else with a compromised break in one's moral principles. So for me, I would never sacrifice my principles for my own personal gain. I would never lie to someone for the same reason. Integrity is always being honest and truthful to oneself and others.

Finally integrity is one's moral compass. If you break basic morals, you will lose face and honor. It is like the Samurai, you stand for truth and honor. Being a descendant of a Samurai on my mother's side, truth is part of their code of ethics.

I'm not sure if this is what I was suppose to do in this assignment but this is all could come up with. I love your quest of truth and your ability to make us think and contemplate. It is good for all of us!!!

Hi Cabbagepatch, thanks for your contribution it is valuable to hear what your truth of integrity is.

"Staying in touch with our own vulnerability is an act of self acceptance and of Love. " - What a fantastic sentence. I will be thinking about this and what it means to me.
So sorry about your awful week Clara. I hope you recover fully very very soon. 💕

Aw, thank you icmultitudes <3 scratch, scratch ;-)

Sorry to hear about the antibiotics reaction! Clara, your posts always bring things up for me - I'm terrible with boundaries and you are so right about the intact eggshell.

So now you know you are vulnerable! Congratulations! Staying in touch with it will helps us communicate in truthfulness and integrity.

Very nice again, i must say i would also be happier with a monday reflection as i try to keep the weekend free for family.
This aside, some good points again. I would have said "being aware of our own vulnerabilities" and now i start to ponder, what is the difference? Staying in touch is actually better, sounds more like a constant awareness :-)

Yeah, good idea, next time I'll do it on monday I also like to keep my weekend free. About the choice of words: Sure both are possible. 'Staying in touch' feels more concrete to me, while 'being aware' feels more abstract. And you know us women we like things to be as concrete as possible. We are mata/matter. ;-)

Hope you are getting better Clara, lovely post under difficult circumstances. Integrity for me signifies honesty or honor, a state or an act performed with every ones best interest at heart. I like your take on it.

Wow, beautiful definition! Human values bring out the best in us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71084.64
ETH 3864.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52