INVESTING IN RELATIONSHIPS

in #relationships7 years ago

Sometimes the smallest effort can make have a huge impact.


In life we interact with others. Whether friends, family, or strangers, people are all around us and how we interact with them matters.

@mama-pepper and I have been together for over ten years now. When we first got together, I was pulling out all the stops to win her over. Sweet tokens of my love were common. Whether notes, cards, chocolates, flowers, or handmade gifts, these efforts of expressing my love for her were made frequently.

But then… we got married, so mission complete, right?

Not quite. Life continues on from there, and to have a love that doesn’t just exist but continues to develop and grow is the goal. There is no way that I want my love to grow stagnant or stale, and no way that I want her love for me to simply plateau.

As life has continued though, I am no longer a single man with lots of free time attempting to capture the heart of a young woman. Now I have a family to provide for and multiple children to invest my time in as well.

Despite our limited time, @mama-pepper and I still choose to take some the time that we do have to go out of our way to let one another know that we still care, a lot! The cover photo is one way that I invented of showing my wife that she is the only woman that I love. When we go out to eat, I’ll from my straw wrapper into the shape of a heart, with a small stem at the bottom. I’ll slide the stem into the end of her straw, and then she has a heart on top of her drink.

It’s not just any heart though… It’s a handmade heart from me.

It only takes a few seconds to do, but I still chose to invest that time and show my love in that way. Perhaps it’s a little childish or cute, but I like doing it and it seems to be working. ;-)

In a similar way, @mama-pepper loves to do cute things for me. Often I get sweet notes in my lunches. The other day, the message was even on my lunch, though I didn’t notice it until I started to bite into it.

I was surprised and caught off guard, but the message was loud and clear.

My wife loves me!

It is tiny efforts like these that can keep a relationship growing. I’ve used a marriage relationship as an example, but there are appropriate ways we can invest a little extra effort or time in any of our relationships to make them stronger and build someone else up.

Whether you have a spouse, a significant other, children, or other family members and friends, now is a great time to invest more, even if it is just a little bit more. Your investment has the opportunity to pay off big in the long run!

Even here on steemit, a little extra can go a long way and mean the world to someone else. Upvotes are nice, but often the comments can touch another user in ways that nothing else ever could. I’d recommend that you make a little extra effort and take just a little more time to encourage another steemian today! Who knows, it just might be what they really need in these uncertain times.


STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!

TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

thank you for this post, I do this for my partner as well and it sure can be the little actions that can go a long way!

You are welcome and I'm glad that you do sweet things like this too!

@papa-pepper aw! a one woman - man! ( I almost interchanged typing that!)
I can relate to this - we don't send messages but one cannot count how many times we give each other a hug and that we make sure we hold hands when we sleep :D
many studies say that holding hands strengthen and makes relationships lasts
Cheers - to being in love with @mama-pepper... papa!

Build that relationship to last! Thanks!

Haha I love the little fruit message! What a great idea :D

Yeah, she is great and cares a lot!

Hubby used to send me little messages 25 years on now he says it everyday but the little surprises have stopped

Maybe "just happen" to leave this post up when you go away from the computer...

I will have to enlarge the letters to attract his attention, maybe a few flashing lights might help

It could be worth the effort... a little investment up front...

Or bash him over the head and give up lol

Great post and your so right ! Its the little things that count and matter most ! Steeming onwards and upwards to the moon and back , staying positive and enthusiastic doesnt hurt eigther lol !👍😉

No kidding. I've got a few ideas for the future myself!

Awesome sounds good !👍😉

Great post! I try to not take anyone for granted and will surprise friends and family with little love surprises and unexpected times.

That's a great way to it! Thanks!

You are correct, sir... It's the little things, that can mean so much!

Absolutely!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This is a great reminder. Sometimes I get complacent.

Love that woman!

(And in a way that she knows... lol)

You are building a really sweet family @papa-pepper. It's truly lovely to get the little glimpses that you are all willing to share with us... Fun too!

Hopefully we can be inspiratinal and maybe even a good example!

I love doing stuff like this with my significant other! have you read at all about different languages of love? i've heard them described as: time, verbal, touch, gifts, and gestures. having the conversation with my boyfriend about which of these each of us gave/received benefitted our connection immensely :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43