I GOT MAMA-PEPPER A WASHING MACHINE FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY... WELL, ACTUALLY I MADE HER ONE

in #relationships7 years ago

Today I Learned How to Make an Off The Grid Washing Machine!


Today was the monthly wedding anniversary for @mama-pepper and @papa-pepper. Since we celebrate every month, we’ve had 114 anniversaries so far, which translates into 9 1/2 years. In order to bless the wonderful lady, I made her a washing machine.

She had wanted me to make her one for a while now, and since I finally got a 30 gallon barrel the other day, I figured that it was about time that I learned how. I checked out some various YouTube videos on different ones, and once I understood the basic idea, I got to work on my own.

Soon, I will be doing a how-to photo post of the entire process in case anyone else wants to give it a go, and eventually I may even modify it to use a bicycle as the power source.


For now, though, it works and we even washed our first load in it earlier. It was a family affair as the @little-peppers were also very excited about it. For us to be able to wash our clothing without using electricity will be a bonus, and I’ve heard that if you use castile soap to wash with, you can even use the waste water for your garden or plants.

In honor of our anniversary, I’ll give you this video tour of my first homemade washing machine, with all the bells and whistles.

DIY OFF THE GRID WASHING MACHINE MADE BY @PAPA-PEPPER


I’m sure that some of you have seen washing machines like this before, but has anyone else ever made their own? If so, are there any ways that you know of to improve on the design of this type of washing machine?

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

thats funny ;)

Maybe I'll use a similar design to build a rock polisher. Great job Son!

That could work! It would take a lot more turning though.

Maybe a 15 gallon barrell, a bunch of sand, a handful of rocks...

That's pretty cool!

Thanks, did you catch those last two chapters I posted of Love Like His? I've still got a few more to go!

I need one, I was going to do something like this:
http://www.ecochunk.com/1146/2012/07/19/foot-powered-washing-machine-made-from-recycled-materials-costs-just-4/

I cannot wait to do this as I have the blue 55gal barrels already and I am sure I can find a 30 gal for cheap/free!

I saw your 55s, and I had a lot too. Just took me a bit to get that 30, at $10.

I'm gonna look for it on 5miles/offerup/cl, I live in a rural area and I know it should be hard to find one, I will check out some tutorials but I think we will just run to the laundromat tomorrow and just wait on your step by step.

I must say @papa-pepper you truly are a renaissance man.
000000007.jpg

Thanks @humanearl!

Nice job
What did you use for a door seal ? The one I tried like this leaked too much and I went with a butter churn type instead......oh wait I see now .
Also If you attach fins inside you will get better agitation.

I was considering larger fins or something, and I did not seal the door, I just fill it halfway.

Good idea. Look forward to see more photos and hear how it is working.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66530.02
ETH 3495.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64