You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feelings Are Our Friends Not Enemies! Feelings become Status Updates And Ghosting A New Trend?

in #relationships5 years ago

Wow, what a great article you wrote.

Ghosting, I never heard of that term, but now I think I understand what it is.

In my own experience, I see more and more people spending time with themselves, their own family, and less with their friends. Not that they do this intentionally - at least I think it is most of the time not intentionally - but still it happens. Maybe this has to do with the fact we are told over and over again, we also need to take care of ourself. But that is probably not the only thing, all in all society as a whole is getting more selfish, I think. Am not sure if this has to do with Internet, social media, messaging services. Certainly, because of these new communication mechanism, we may be less inclined to meet in person, since we kinda follow the lives of the people around us through the digital world. But that said, because of all these new-ish communication mechanism I keep contact with people, I would have lost when not having social media and messaging services.

I think another aspect of today's lives is the enormous amount of triggers we get (mostly the digital communication), the kinda addiction to do whatever on our phone, but also the demands of society to do more in less time. Most of my friends having children, spend so much time bringing their children to whatever sports, classes and other activities, it is simply mindblowing. When I was a kid, I did one or two things every week, but today it seems children are doing one or two things every day. And this doesn't only count for children, I see this with my friends as well.

Interestingly, with the ever increasing automation of the world, it is easy to arrange a lot we want from our own home. Maybe we are loosing the art of exploring live by exploring the world with our physical body - I mean, we don't have to go out and about to find ourselves whatever we need, from clothes to food and so on. We order it from our digital devices. That may result in less (eye-2-eye) contact with people as well.

Maybe we shall ditch our phones and laptops indeed, at least for periods of time and try to live the 'analogue' way. I certainly try to do so, a few times a year. From time to time, I tell myself: Now, get in touch with your friends and arrange meetings to really see them and enjoy each other. But that said, I was always a looner, even before the idea of Internet was created :)

Sort:  

Wow! So happy to see you on my post 👯‍♀️ I am still so hung over from one of the best techno nights here in Vienna. #Herrensauna! Sublime

Thank you so much for your kind words reg this article. Means a lot coming from you.
I am growing every day and what I have learnt since gone from Bali is simply incredible.

Hope to see you in Vienna soon

Posted using Partiko iOS

Owww, techno and best sounds damn good! :) Vienna, sounds also good, lets forget about ghosting and agree I shall come to Vienna sometime this year!

Yes yes yes pleaseeeee come to visit me
Ghosting is a total rude and disgusting joke only insecure people do, those who don’t have the courage to face up their problems and interactions with others. Many Balinese have the same mind and can vanish without a word after many years working for you example because they don’t want possible arguments. I find it super hurtful and impolite but I might be just old school

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59311.47
ETH 2603.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40