Rainbow Rachel's Recommendations#1

in #recommendations6 years ago (edited)

Hello beautiful human. Thanks for stopping by my blog today. Sending you lots of love and light

In this post, I'd like to share with a few things that have come into my life recently that have really inspired me, motivated me, or improved my life in some way. Every 2 weeks or so, I plan to share with you my top 5 recommendations - these may include videos, books, movies, meditations, inspiring words, ideas, techniques, and whatever other amazing things come across my path.

So, here we go, with the first edition of Rainbow Rachel's Recommendations:


culori_21532700.jpg

1. Sadhuguru talks to the youth:

In this short video of Sadhguru giving a discord to a group of students at IIT Delhi, his main message is this: Don't be another problem in the world. Be the solution.

Sadhguru nails this speech by giving some of the best advice I've ever heard. Advice I believe everyone should hear, and especially every young person.

He talks about how when we go out into the world, everything is constantly outwards. But the real work we should be doing FIRST, is the work inside. Going in. Because if you don't go inwards, and fix what is going on inside, fixing things on the outside will not do the trick.

There will always be problems in the world. But he tells the students, they must not be part of the problem, but part of the solution. And to do this, you must get to know yourself, and your true nature. He makes the suggestion that each student go home and sit alone, by themselves, without their phones, their tvs, their books… to just sit alone with themselves for a few hours, or days, and see their true nature. He says: “When you’re alone, if you are miserable, you are obviously in bad company.”

“When you are an issue, how will you address the issues of the world?”
-Sadhguru

He says, whatever is going on inside, is what you will create. If you have peace inside, then whatever you do, and whatever you create with be peaceful. But if you have chaos and madness going on inside, there is no question that you will create more chaos and more madness yourself. And you will continue to attract more and more chaos into your life.

This message perfectly aligns with the Law of Attraction - what you focus on is what you get more of. If you're inner self, your subconscious mind and root feelings are those of sadness, anger, fear, anxiety, or any other less-than-amazing feeling, then you will attract and create more and more situations which give you these feelings.
But, fortunately, on the other hand, if you spend time working on creating harmony and peace within your own life, your own self; if you focus on creating and feeling emotions of happiness, bliss, peace, joy, or gratitude, then you will attract and create more things to feel happy about.

I love all the wisdom Sadhguru has to share with the world, but this video stood out to me. Check it out below!

2. The Untethered Soul

I recently started listening to the audiobook version of The Untethered Soul. I'm only about an hour in, but have already received so much great advice.

In this first hour and in the first few chapters, Michael Singer talks about "The Inner Voice" that we all have -- "The Inner Roommate", as he calls it. He talks about how in order to really find peace and move forward in our lives, we need to learn to ignore our inner roommate. We need to realize that the voice (or voices) inside our heads, are not US. YOU are NOT the voice inside your head. You are the observer of this voice. You are not your thoughts. The voice and the thoughts inside your head are constantly changing. Constantly contradicting itself and not even bothering to notice or care. Constantly talking. Constant noise.

Since you can’t control the world around you, you try to control it in your mind by talking about it. Singer explains that most people recreate the outside world inside their heads, and then just live inside their mind. He says that many of us do this because “reality is just too real for most of us.” For many of us, our minds and thoughts are a defense mechanism from the scariness of the world; it makes us feel more secure. But true personal growth, is about transcending the part of you this isn’t OK.

We are using our minds to buffer us from life, instead of actually living it.

So learning how to ignore this voice, how to detach from this voice, how to ignore this voice, and come into the full realization and acceptance that this voice is not YOU, but instead, YOU are the OBSERVER of this voice, this is his recommendation for the first step to real spiritual awakening.

Now, this is not the only book I’ve read that talks about these concepts or this idea that “you are not your thoughts”, but I am really enjoying the way the book is written so far. I’m only a short way into it, but it has been recommended to me by a number of people, and I’m really enjoying it so far.

If you’re looking for a new book on spiritual growth and empowerment, I highly recommend you check out The Untethered Soul.

41gng2SHxJL._SX345_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Photo Credit

3. Life Skills: Create a morning ritual

My third recommendation is more of a broad general recommendation for life -- To create a regular morning ritual.

About 15 months ago is when I first decided to create and stick to a regular morning ritual, and since that time, my life has begun to flourish more than ever. By starting my day, everyday, with a small set of mindful practices, I am able to start my days with more clarity, more focus and more energy.

When we sleep, I believe our spirits go on a journey through the cosmos, through the ether, learning and growing and transforming through alternate dimensions. And when we wake up, this is the most crucial time for being quiet, and still, and receptive so that we can integrate our dream time into our time here on the physical earth. This is also the best time to meditate, since your mind is already quiet and still; before the stresses and the problems of the day take us out of the “now” and into thinking and contemplating about past, present, and future. These first few hours in the morning have the potential for the most spiritual growth, so use them wisely.

I highly recommend including some form of breathwork into your routine, so to help activate your mind and body with Prana - life force energy. Taking just 10 minutes to do a breathing technique shortly after you wake up can help get the air flowing evenly throughout your body, and help naturally energize you and wake you up so you can activate your highest self and start your day on your best foot.

There are plenty of things you can include into your morning routine. Breathwork, stretching, chanting (Ohmmmm), gratitude work, like writing in a gratitude journal or simply giving thanks for the things in your life via silently or out loud, praying, exercise, and sitting in silence are just a few examples. Create a routine that works for you, and makes you feel GREAT!


nadi-shodhana.jpegdownload.jpg
Photo Credit 1 2

4. Insight Timer - A meditation timing app

In order to keep track of my morning meditation routine, I use a beautiful free app called the Insight Timer. This app is free to download on both android and Apple phones.

I love the different settings you can use with this app, and there are no annoying ads to deal with either. Instead of the annoying bell sounds that my regular timer on my phone make, this app allows you to choose soothing gong or sound bowl sounds, which are perfect for timing your meditations. You can create looping timers, that sound every 5 minutes or so, and you can save different timing setting under the presets. You can also choose to have soothing background noise during your meditations, like monks chanting, or an angelic choir, and there are also an array of guided meditations available as well. I love this app, and use it every day during my morning and daily meditations and rituals. Check it out!

insight-timer-3-e1472399070499.png
Photo Credit

5. Chiangmai Specific Recommendation - Adirak Pizza

During each of my biweekly Recommendation Blogs, I’ll highlight something specifically from Chiangmai, because there is just so much that I love about this city.

This week, I’m home in the USA for a couple of weeks, so I’m missing my favorite restaurant in Chiangmai: Adirak Pizza.

This place is INCREDIBLE. It’s not your ordinary pizza.

First off, the pizza dough they use is made from sourdough yeast, so it’s tastier, chewier, and healthier for you than normal pizza dough. And it’s amazing.

Secondly, they make their own cheese, and it might be the best cheese I’ve ever had. I eat a mostly plant-based diet, but at least once every 2 weeks I head to Adirak Pizza and happily stuff my face with their homemade cheeses. They make mozzarella, parmesan, and my favorite, homemade Ricotta cheese. Wow.

My favorite pizza is the Pesto Ricotta, which has a base of pesto sauce instead of tomato sauce. It’s topped with sundried tomatoes, arugula, balsamic glaze, and dollops of homemade ricotta cheese, which melt into little ooey gooey balls of creamy cheesy heavenly goodness.

Then, they have an array of seasonings and toppings to add more flavor to your meal. These include sea salt, fresh black pepper, oregano, and tabasco, chili powder, and chili oil for those who like a little extra spice. I also like to ask for a side of tomato sauce to eat with my Pesto Ricotta pizza, because I’m a bit obsessed with covering my food in sauce, and I feel like I have an orgasm in my mouth everytime I go.

I can’t express in words how much I love this place. If you find yourself in Chiangmai, do yourself a favor and check this place out!

31959550_1648444498566155_4086235308503334912_o.jpg 75885236_2XxIeyjfqL1xtQDAhCahLBOo0gaPV-k3QJHlQ_2Lp0M.jpg
Photo Credit 1 2

IMG_2819.JPG

Well, that will do it for this first edition of Rainbow Rachel’s Recommendations.

Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by my blog. I hope you found it useful, interesting, or entertaining.

If you did enjoy this post, I would greatly appreciate your UPVOTE, and would love for you to follow me here on Steemit @rainbowrachel 🌟 🌟

Also, feel free to connect with me via
facebook.JPG and on instagram.JPG

I appreciate all your support. 💙 💙

IMG_2819.JPG
That’s all for now.
Sending you love and light, and hoping you have a magical day.
Until next time...
🌈 Rachel
me small.png

IMG_2819.JPG

I am a proud member of @tribesteemup, a beautiful community of people working together to help make the world a more peaceful, positive, free place. Among us are healers, free-thinkers, teachers, and high-vibe people who are creating great content to help make the world more positive and better for us all. Please stop by the page to check out the group and support the work being created. 💗


I’m also a proud passenger on the @ecotrain

Check out the hashtag #ecotrain for more high-quality, high-vibe articles from people working to bring more positivity and forward movement to the world.

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

etrain.png

IMG_2819.JPG


Promo-Mentors Discord Link

Asapers.gif


#recommendations #RRR #Rainbowrachelsrecommendations #inspiration #story #blog #life #sadhguru #theuntetheredsoul #morningroutine #pranayama #food #pizza #ecotrain #tribesteemup

Sort:  

It's amazing how something so simple can be so inspiring!

Aw, thank you! Glad you found it inspiring

Congratulations @rainbowrachel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Boahhhh those pizzas look delicious and I am not even that much of a pizza person!

Yeah morning routines are good actually, my used to include walking the dog with a half sleepy head to reach home entirely awake!

Already for that having a dog is the bomb, I really should a place again where I am allowed to have dogs

I didn't know about the insight timer app, will be checking that out!

And that pizza looked like something special, I wish I could taste it hehe

The Insight Timer is amaaaaazing!!!

It's such a nice app. I love the gong sounds that it uses when the timer is up...so much more soothing and peaceful than the loud, intense sounds my phone timer makes.

Great recommendations @rainbowrachel. I recently had someone else mention 'The Untethered Soul' to me, I think I'm going to have to make it a point to get this.

Ironically, our family motto has become 'Be part of the solution, not the problem' My stepdad has been telling us that for years and I have raised my kids with that thinking. It makes such a difference in how you view things. Keep up with the great recommendations.

Wow that is a wonderful life motto! Such great advice. That is a beautiful motto to be raised with, so happy to hear you're teaching your kids the same :)

Sadhguru also says, instead of viewing all the challenges in life as "problems", view them as "situations". You can always find your way out of a certain situation, but it's when we call it a "problem" that we tend to feel lost or helpless. Not sure why I felt compelled to share that, haha, it just felt fitting :)

Thanks for reading and commenting!!! I really appreciate it.
xx

It's very fitting. Problem would be negative terminology to see things as situations is much better. We tend to see a situation as a temporary condition .

Woow wonderful!
Every 2 weeks recommandations, one side recommandations today were helpful, hope the same or better in the future! Thanks @rainbowrachel

would still be lovely if is every 1 week recommendation

Congratulations @rainbowrachel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a cool idea for a post. That pizza place looks amazing. And I can definately vouch for the insight timer app - my favourite is Jennifer Piercy's Yoga Nidra for Sleep. A great healing practice!

Oooh, I will definitely check that out! I've just started practicing yoga nidra a few months ago, but I always just find youtube videos. I had no idea there was one on the Insight Timer app. Thanks for the info!!! And thanks for stopping by to read and comment. I'm going to check out some of your stuff too....I'm a big fan of natural medicine and all things natural. Nice to meet you here :)

I love a daily nadi shodhana practice - can't live without it. It does get chaotic in this head of mine without it, so it's a great morning ritual for sure. That book looks great - I'll put it on my list! I have watched a few Sadhguru videos since I first saw you mention him. Cheers again!

Yay!!! Hope you enjoyed Sadhguru. It took me a few videos to get into his type of teaching. He is quite slow, and peaceful, and some people have told me it can be boring, but once I started watching him regularly I became obsessed. I think he is so damn wise, and I love how much he laughs at his own jokes haha.

And for the breathwork, I completely agree with you. On days when I wake up late, or for whatever reason don't do my daily practice, I find the whole day to be a bit off and much more chaotic. Such a simple solution with such a big impact. :)

I love those enlightened gurus.. they are slow as they dont need to be fast, and they are so contemplative. Its us that are fast!!! I love how he talks about when he meditated for days and thought it had been half an hour. Lol.

Hey just looked at the smartsteem bidbot and saw some dude bid 180 on the round you bid 5. I went to bid last night and someone bid 100. How is that far for ordinary folk like us trying to get a wee boost from an ethical bot every now and then? Grr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67