Panzanella Salad

in #recipes5 years ago

This Mediterranean salad is a rather unique salad, and I can guarantee it's unlike most salads in your repertoire. For one thing, it is bread based, instead of lettuce based. But that doesn't mean it's lacking in the vegetable department.

I may have jumped the gun on making this, as it's summery blend of veggies is ideal for the warmer months. Regardless of when it's made, this is one of my favorite appetizers. A double batch makes this a great party offering.

Like French toast, this panzanella is a great wa;y to get rid of your bread that is a little too hard and crusty to use in sandwiches. And as an added bonus, panzanella is endlessly adaptable. Had this been later in the year, garden fresh cucumber would have made an excellent addition, and truly, most vegetables work well in this recipe. You can also adapt the recipe to feature whichever salad dressing you have on hand, or modify it by using just a drizzle of balsamic vinegar or olive oil.

However you make it, you're sure to fall in love with panzanella, and return to this recipe again and again.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups halved grape tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup pitted kalamata olives
  • 5 oz. marinated quartered artichoke hearts, drained
  • 1/2 cup diced bell peppers
  • 2 tablespoons fresh basil, julienned
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoon red onion, minced
  • 1/2 loaf French bread, at least 2 days old
  • 1 tablespoon butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon oregano
  • 2 tablespoons feta
  • 2 tablespoons preferred dressing or oil (I used this honey balsamic dressing)
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. In a serving bowl, combine the tomatoes, artichoke hearts, garlic, onion, basil, bell peppers, and olives. Stir to combine and set aside.
  2. Cut the loaf of bread lengthwise twice, until you have four narrow slices of bread. Swipe the bread pieces with butter.
  3. Cut the bread crosswise into 2 cm thick pieces, creating cubes. Place these bread cubes in a baking dish, sprinkle the garlic salt onto the bread and bake for 10 minutes, until just crispy and golden.
  4. Stir bread into vegetable mixture with feta and drizzle with dressing. Stir once more and serve.


I like to leave a little extra dressing around when I serve this, that way people can add more to their dish according to preference.

Sort:  

This looks really fantastic! I don't know as though I have every had panzanella before, but based on the pictures I am seeing, it is something I would definitely try! I have been learning to enjoy Mediterranean flavors more and more as I get older.

Meaw :-) Think like a cat : Probably makes for Cats all around the world , we always love enjoy eating , Most of us knows best food in the world come from Mediterranean Supz !!! Of course we love salad !!!

That looks amazing. I never would have thought that you could make a salad out of bread. That's really cool and looks incredible. I definitly have to try this one

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks really good :)

The perfect salad, I feel the saliva is flowing, thank you for sharing.

Does that salad taste as delicious as it looks. I think I might have to try and make it.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It's really nice :) For sure I will try to make this dish!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49