Easy Crispy Potato Wedges

in #recipes6 years ago

Because they usually come in pre-measured 10 pound bags, I often find potatoes are the one food I buy too many of. Despite their versatility, I used to be left with half a bag of potatoes and not know what to do with them.Then I started chopping them into little wedges and baking them with olive oil and garlic and herbs, and now I have an easy side dish to accompany any meal. Because I found it takes too long merely roasting the potato wedges to create the crispy golden deliciousness I love in a potato, I started playing with the recipe and found that a quick pan fry before roasting and a swift session in the broiler after will give the wedges the golden, crunchy layer I was looking for.

20180801_081630 (1).jpg

Ingredients:

  • 6 russet potatoes
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • ½ teaspoon of dried basil
  • ½ teaspoon of oregano
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • ¼ teaspoon ground black pepper

1.Preheat the oven to 425℉. In a large skillet on low heat melt the butter, add the minced garlic and stir to distribute garlic throughout the butter. Cook on low heat for about 2 minutes, remove from heat and set aside.
2.Peel the potatoes and cut them into wedges of desired size. Place them in a baking dish.
3.Pour the garlic infused butter on to the potatoes and stir to evenly coat the wedges. Add the basil, oregano, kosher, and pepper. Continue to stir until the herbs look evenly distributed throughout the potatoes.
4.In the same skillet that had the butter and garlic, heat the olive oil on medium high. Add the potato wedges to the skillet and fry for about 7 minutes.

20180801_082212.jpg

5.Transfer the potatoes back to the baking dish and bake for 25 minutes.
6.When potatoes start to get golden, remove them from the oven and place them in the broiler on high for 3-5 minutes until they reach the desired crispiness.
7.Serve warm and enjoy!

Sort:  

I am hungry now .Am i taste this right now?

Seems very tasty! I'll definitely try it on the weekend! Hope it turns well and I don't make a disaster haha but the recipe seems very simple, thank you for explain it to us.

Give them taters some cheese sauce!

I usually do this recipe and just keep them in the frying pan the whole time and it takes forever, I may have to try finishing them off in the oven next time! Thanks for the great tip!

seems very yummy and tasty!

So Delicious . I want to eat

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

i like potato dish.

These look so delicious!!! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

Here is a recipe I recently shared on the benefits of eating Quinoa, because I also like to share delicious recipes with others 😏
Quinoa with Honey: An AMAZING Superfood!

Looks good, and parmesan cheese and ready to go Hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46