Scone recipe - LIME CARDAMOM + video!

in #recipes8 years ago

LIME CARDAMOM SCONES by Hearth & Larder

enter image description here

Hello, Steemit foodie friends!

I have a small home based business called Hearth & Larder. I used to sell scones at the public baker's market up in Vancouver BC but since moving back home to California I now produce mainly a variety of citrus marmalade.
People rave about my delicious scones so today I'm pleased to share my recipe with you!


(Scroll down for a link to watch the video.)

DRY
3 cups all purpose flour
1 cup pastry flour
6 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
6 TB sugar
2 tsp lime zest
3 tsp ground cardamom
2/3 cup Craisins (or raisins)

WET
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup oil (olive, canola or melted coconut)
2 tsp vanilla
2 TB lime juice

GLAZE
1 cup icing sugar (or more if needed for thickness)
1 TB lime juice
1 TB lemon juice
1 tsp grated lime zest

TOPPING
finely chopped pistachios

METHOD
Preheat oven to 400˚.
Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl with a whisk. Next mix wet ingredients together in a bowl then pour into the dry ingredients. With a rubber spatula mix until just combined. Dump dough out on to a work surface. Divide into two balls and press each one into an 8” circle. With a sharp chef's knife or any long sharp metal edge cut each disc into 6 wedges.

Line one large baking sheet with parchment paper and place scones, evenly spaced. Bake for 12-14 minutes. Edges should be lightly toasted and the bottoms light golden brown.

Let cool on a rack for 20 minutes or until room temp.

ICING
Next mix your icing sugar and the wet ingredients together and drizzle, or brush the glaze on to the scones. Top each scone with some chopped pistachios. Let icing firm up for about 1/2 an hour. Enjoy!

And here's a silly video of me making them!

Scone Video

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

I made the Lime Cardamom Scones! They turned out great. The lime frosting is exceptional. I ended up using canola oil, because I was worried that the other options might add a weird flavor, but the lime and cardamom are so strong I don't think it would have made a difference. I also needed to increase the cooking time, because they were a bit doughy at 14 minutes, but that might just be my oven. The texture of the scones is a little denser than my normal butter based scones, but they are still great and flavors are new and weirdly fun. This post encouraged me to post my Sherry Plumped Raisin Scones

Wow!!! I'm so thrilled you tried the recipe, benita! They look great! I will check out your recipe. Looks scrummy!

I am eating bread with oil. Thanks a lot from my stomach.)

You and your stomach are most welcome, burmik123! I love bread and olive oil...a little sprinkle of salt and red pepper flakes are good with that, too. ;-)

Thank you, alphabeta! It was sort of last minute, actually. The video was set up for another chef and when he finished they said, why don't you do something? So I made scones! As you can see there was no script and I just sort of winged it.

That looks amazing, I cant wait to try this and see more of your recipes.

Excellent! And if you're ever in need of any explanation I'm here to help. I have several scone recipes which are really tasty and will post them soon. Orange-Pecan, Lemon-Blueberry, Strawberry-Almond to name a few. Thanks for checking it out. :-)

Brilliant! One sees tasty, I am charmed with that steemit takes place for all kinds of contents and all of them are valued. We wait for your next recipe!

Thank you, amartinezque, I hope you'll give it a try!

Great recipe! Scones are the shit :)

Well, that's one way of putting it. ;-) Thank you!!

I studied gastronomy, but i am far to make this. first i don´t have money for study more :C gastronomy, and dont have money for buy
ingredients, really we have problems in my country.

Search work is hard

I'm sorry to hear that, jillfeint. Hopefully someday you can return.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52