Sherry Plumped Raisin Scones

in #recipes8 years ago

These scones are amazing they have wonderful texture and the raisins are bursting with flavor. I created this recipe by using the compare method that I posted at  How to Compare Multiple Recipes for the Same Dish

MARINATED RAISINS

3 tablespoons Sherry (can substitute white grape juice or buttermilk)

1 cup raisins

MAIN INGREDIENTS

4 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 sticks frozen salted butter (1/2 pound)

1 1/4 cups buttermilk

TOPPING

1/4 cup coarse sugar (turbinado) and some extra buttermilk for the topping

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Soak the raisins in the sherry for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. 

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and baking soda. Roughly chop the frozen butter with a knife into chunks, then cut it into the dry ingredients using a pastry blender or your fingertips. Add in the buttermilk and sherry soaked raisins. Then lightly mix just until the ingredients are evenly distributed. Over mixing will make the scones have a denser texture. The dough will be a little dry and a bit crumbly, but that is normal for scones. 

Turn dough onto a floured surface and gently knead it together. Divide the dough in half. Working with one half at a time, gently form the dough into an 8 inch circle about 1 inch thick. Cut into 6-8 wedges depending on size you want. Then repeat with remaining dough.

Place the wedges on a parchment covered baking sheet, leaving about a half inch between them.  Brush the tops of the wedges with the extra buttermilk and then sprinkle with the coarse sugar.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until lightly browned on top. This recipe makes about 12-16 scones. I hope you love these as much as my family loves them!



Sort:  

Hi Benita, thanks again for making my Lime Cardamom Scones! They really turned out beautifully. I love raisins scones! Plumped up with sherry? Love isn't a strong enough word, I'm afraid. They look so good! I will try them this weekend. Thanks a bunch and keep 'em comin'!

Hi Benita! I made your scones, too, complete with video. Hope you approve! I did the best I could. Here's a link to the post. Thanks again! They're terrific!

Can i taste it?))

I really want them eating a now!

That looks delicious.

Very good. Thank you!

The picture to me didn't look appetising , But that's a good thing - Because I hate every food . Just kidding , Those sure do look like a bite from heaven!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44