Spelt Pizza Bianco with Potatoes, Habanero, Garlic & Rosemary

in #recipes7 years ago

20170424_200141.jpg

Ooft, spelt flour for that ancient grain goodness with thinly sliced potatoes coated in yummy olive oil, sea salt, habanero, rosemary and garlic. I mean for goodness sake. Awesomes!!

The first time I was presented with a Pizza Bianco I almost got the punching gloves out, so convinced was I that someone was having a lark with me. But no, it was stunningly good. So here is my version. With added habanero mightiness of course!

You will need

20170424_190418.jpg

225 grams of spelt flour
225 grams of strong white flour
7 grams of fast action yeast
1 teaspoon of salt
½ a teaspoon of white sugar
3 tablespoons of olive oil
6 medium potatoes
2 sprigs of of rosemary
A pinch of sea salt
1 thinly sliced clove of garlic
1 hell hot habanero!!
300 mls of warm water

Note this makes enough for two 12 inch pizzas

Nom nom!

To make

Mix your flours in a bowl with your yeast, a tablespoon of oil and your teaspoon of salt

Then add your warm water
20170424_143508.gif

Stir it together till it's a cohesive dough. Cover and let it rise for three hours. Yup, three hours!
20170424_184918.jpg

Twenty minutes before the 3 hours is up get your oven on at 200 degrees. This oven recipe is especially for @jedau!

Now tip it out onto a heavily floured worktop and divide it into two. Flatten them into circles. (I use a roller)
20170424_185522.jpg

You can put them on a pizza peel or a baking tray. Make sure you flour those. I use fine semolina flour, to stop them sticking.

Finely slice your garlic and finely chop your Habanero. Add the remaining oil to a bowl with your pinch of sea salt, the rosemary leaves, garlic and habanero. Throw in another glug of olive oil for luck!
pixlr_20170424201604244.jpg

Thinly slice the potatoes, I use a potato peeler!
20170424_190027.jpg

Add the potatoes to the mix covering well with that spicy goodness!
20170424_195034.jpg

Now arrange on your pizza base till covered. Drizzle the remaining oil on too.
20170424_193932.jpg

Boof it into the oven for fifteen minutes

Then take out his majesty The Pizza Bianco!
20170424_193836.jpg

Lovely crispy edged potato and spicy habanero hotness!!
20170424_193830.jpg

Garlic and rosemary, makes me wanna boogy!!
20170424_194209.jpg

Enjoy!!!

20170424_200141.jpg

Sort:  

Never tried pizza with potatoes on it before, but it looks delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

You are welcome! It's decidedly more healthy for the lack of cheese than a regular one. Of course the oil adds a bit but it's healthy oil! :0D

How have a I missed your last 3 posts...all about eating and drinking!? Like, my fave! (not to mention, I have been checking in everyday as I was trying to reach some big steemit milestones and somehow missed these)

SO, all I have to say other than what I've just said is that this pizza looks fabulous :-)

Aw thats really nice of you to say! It is rather good! Yeah, I thought I had been neglecting the food and drink part of my blogging-ness hehe:O)

Thank you for posting @meesterboom.

Lovely photographs, gif and instructions. So very kind of you to bring such creativity to Steemit in style.

Looks delicious.......the mix of textures and taste.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Cheers.

Thank you for your amazing support @bleujay I can always count on you to notice the detail!

Best wishes to you too!

Wow, that looks amazingly good. I can almost taste it through the computer screen @meesterboom :)

Hey thank you very much, it's a pretty funky dish, funky good that is!!!

Darn right that seems funky, but something I'm almost certain would rock the taste buds in a great way :)

I do like an open mind! It does indeed rock em!

Haha, excellent. Have yourself a great day and enjoy the rest of that pizza :)

A pizza dedicated to me?! Awwww! I'm not worthy, dude haha!

Jeeez this really made my stomach grumble. I'm a sucker for taters! Can I use a tortilla wrap as a base instead?? hahaha! I can say that I'm on a gluten free diet to mask the fact that I am without an oven haha!

Good thing it's lunch time. Now's my chance to raid the pantry!

You could use a tortilla wrap!! It would be a little thin and crispy but that would sure work! Totties on a pizza is quite sublime! Enjoy the Jedau pizza!

I tried it yesterday! (I remembered to take pictures after I belched the vestiges of the dish) But, it was all sorts of fail. The first one, the potatoes weren't cooked through. I made a mistake of thinking my toaster had the same power as an oven. Maybe because it was called an "oven toaster". What a bunch of bull.

For the second one, it didn't hold its shape and it unraveled. I realized I didn't have habanero, so I just threw in whatever chili flakes I found. It was like an open-faced wrap. You're right that it was crispy. Very filling though!

For the next one, I thought that I should cut the potatoes more thinly and have a sort of gluing agent to hold it in place. But then, I discovered that I ran out of potatoes :/

Holy flip, that sounds like an epic tragedy!!!

Perhaps the pseudo oven recipes are not for you. I shall endeavour to make a tray bake next time. Deceptive as they are in the fact that there is no baking!!

Thanks for the consideration! Though, I'll still try to make this right once I grab hold of some habanero and potatoes. This has turned out to be my Everest.

I look forward to hearing/seeing all about it! Oh if you are genuinely going to do it I would add half a teaspoon of salt to the flour mix. Its my only change I would make!

Flour? Haha! I used a tortilla wrap, dude haha!

Shit that's right. I forgot about that bit, get the potatoes!!!

That looks really delicious :)
Is it still a pizza without tomato and cheese, though ?

Ha, thats exactly what I thought the first time I got one. I thought WTFeck is this a big open toasted sandwich! But it is still a total pizza, it just weirdly works!

Hungry!!! I am so hungry now... This looks so delicious.

It's a good time to eat!!

Bon appétit

There ain't much you can say to a cute cat in a cup except howdy!!! :0)

I just love pizza so much that I did not even have the words))))

The picture was better than words by far!!!

I did not want to offend you))

Me encanta la papa con piel, ricaa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50