Cooking With Kids - Home Made Tortillas and Omelette

in #recipes7 years ago

Getting the kids involved in the cooking. It's something I try to do all the time. You are teaching them something they can never lose and also more importantly... Maybe one day they will be making the dinners for us!!

So I thought it would be good to make our own tortillas and throw in an eggy filling. Tortillas were a good choice because they are easy!! Also anything that involves a rolling pin tends to get kids excited!

You can be a bit fast and loose with the measurements and let your little one do it, this is a forgiving recipe!

You will need

200 grams of strong white flour
¼ teaspoon of salt
½ a teaspoon of baking powder
20 grams of butter, just wheek 2 knobs of butter in, no definite amounts here!
100 mls of just boiled water

Couple of eggs for the kiddie filling
Also some chilli paste for the adults ;0)

To make

Get child to measure out the flour.

Help them slice off some butter into cubes

Now let them rub the butter and flour between their fingertips till it's like breadcrumbs!

My daughter loves this bit

Once it's sort of breadcrumb'y

Bung in your boiling water and use a spoon to mix together till it's cools. Then you can get a hand in and squidge it all together.

Tear it into about six balls, or less if you want them bigger.

Flour a surface and flatten one of the balls in your hand

Now let the little tyke loose with the rolling pin and roll them flat!!

Put a pan on a high heat and cook for a minute on each side

Obviously they might not be quite round when you get your daughter's help!

Do this with all your pieces, each time you fry one put it aside in a clean cloth or towel

That's the tortillas!!

Now if you are making a quick lunch for you and the little un mix up a couple of eggs and throw them into the same pan on a lower heat to make a quick omelette.

For the adults you can smear on some chilli paste on one of the Tortillas!!

Then slap on the omelette to a tortilla! Roll it up, slice in half and serve!!

Total double yum!!!

Now they know how, get them to make it every time!! ;0)

Sort:  

@meesterboom since you have been posting wowza entries on all of your SCC entries in the past you are rewarded a 5SBD and

Aw wow, seriously that's dead touching. And amazing, I am very happy to receive this but wow!!

I make that sandwich all the time now, it's the dog's bollocks!!!

@meesterboom you set the bar high when the SCC started !

This is so cute! Thanks for sharing! And now I'm hungry, haha!

Hehe, thank you! I wish I could send them on!

Fantabulous post! You have inspired me. I need to post pics of me helping my Mom make cookies when I was like 2 or maybe younger.

Your baby is beautiful.

Fantastic food, I love tortillas. I could taste them when I looked at your pics.

Slow day today here on steemit.

Very slow! Wow that would be awesome, if you can find the pics you should do a post about it. I would be so chuffed if my daughter remembers the cooking with daddy fondly when she is older!

She will, I remember all of that stuff and it is some of my favorites.

Aw thats really good to know! Thats it, more cooking for the little lady!! :O)

@meesterboom - 'tis is daddy and daddy's girl bonding / quality time? I want one but with paprika slices and cucumber in 'em, too and a bit of cheeeeesssseeee

Ah, that sounds lovely! Yes indeed, today was daddy day-care due to weather circumstances and She got to stay at home and make, bake and eat with Daddy!

@meesterboom well, daddy's lil' girl is so lucky ey?
I won't be shocked if she says she wants to be a chef one day

That would be amazing!!! I would be the happiest daddy ever!

Thanks for sharing family time and some tasty tortillas with the Steemit ktichen.

You are very welcome!

Nice food - your daughter really seems to like it! :)

She totally does, even though she is t she is young she gets a real kick out of eating something she has made!

It's indeed a nice fun exercise. I can't wait to have kids some day so that I could share the same experience. Thanks for sharing the recipe, seems easy enough to do!

Tis a breeze!!! Good luck for the future!!

Some of my best memories of my grandmothers are in the kitchen thanks for sharing this!

The more I read comments like this the happier I feel about cooking with her!! Cheers!

Will the recipe work well, if you do this in secret while your children are sleeping and eat all by yourself?

It would work even better because then you could put all of the lovely stuff on the Tortillas!!! ;0)

That's true! Afterwards, the kids can try too later when I have practiced myself at first.

Always a good move!!

I tried one to make some tortillas but they turned out very hard.

These ones are really easy!! The secret is to not overdo the frying!!!

I will remember your recipe the next time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01