🌱 Vegetarian Keto Taco 🌮steemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipes6 years ago (edited)

taco.png

5 minutes prep time.
15 minutes cook time.

anyone who tries these thought they were real meat, and the secret is in the seasoning and cooking method. Let's begin with the vegetarian protein patty.

I am pretty proud of this seasoning, it tastes just like real meat without sacrificing any animals. save cows, save methane gas, and we might just save the planet. But first, tacos!

After testing a couple of available options currently sold in nearby markets, I chose the Beyond Meat for flavor, texture, and macronutrients. The patty itself is not ketogenic, but we will address that by adding ghee to it. The ghee will both boost its fat content, and add a beef flavor. The tacos are easy, and can be inventive depending on your taste and mood, as long as you use ketofriendly ingredients. If you aren't sure what those may be, let's discuss in the comments below. Now, let's make some tacos!!

beyondburger.png
pattyseasoning.png
Seasoned the patty with a teaspoon of onion, chipotle, and smoked paprika powders. This produced a strong flavored patty, because I love a spicy taco. Adjust according to taste. In addition, I added 1/8 teaspoon of salt and a 1/8 teaspoon of black pepper. Mix well and then cook on an electric cast iron griddle.

I use the Cuisinart GR-4N . I highly recommend it for its durability and versatile applications. I will be using it plenty for future recipes.

In order to make the patty ketogenic, we add one tablespoon of fat
I choose ghee as it reintroduces an authentic beef flavor profile.

You can use this for any recipe that calls for ground beef

onto the tacos!


Ingredients

  • 1 Beyond Meat patty
    you can use another one if the macros are similar to:
    20g Fat, 20g protein, and 2g netCarb.
  • 15g [1 Tbsp] Ghee
  • 4g [1 tsp] Onion Powder
  • 4g [1 tsp] Smoked Paprika Powder
  • 4g [1 tsp] Chipotle Powder, also known as smoked jalapeños.
  • 1g [1/4 tsp] Pink Salt
  • 1g [1/4 tsp] Ground Black Pepper
  • 120g Mexican cheese blend
    blend of sharp cheddar, monterey jack, asadero and queso blanco
  • 1/4 tomato, diced
  • handful of cilantro chopped
  • 1 Lime
  • 1 Low-carb flour tortilla
    or use another as long as it's less than 6 netCarbs.

the same one I used in my folded pizza recipe


steps

  • heat the grill to 375° F/ 190° C, using the rigid side.
  • mix the spices with the meat patty and roast for 10 minutes.
  • as it crisps, mix in the cheese and cilantro, cook for 4 more minutes.
  • add the tomatoes, squeeze the lime, and additional cilantro.
  • scoop the cooked ingredients into the tortilla.
    top with more cheese, fold in half and return to the griddle.
  • toast the taco on each side for 2-4 minutes.

grilled-patties.png
cilantro.png
mixed.png
tomato.png
morecilantro.png
into-the-tortilla.png
taco-2.png
enjoy 🤤


882 Calories

74g Fat | 46g Protein | 6g netCarb

Screen Shot 2018-09-19 at 5.38.17 AM.png
macronutrients were tracked using My Macros +

Sort:  

oh damn! I love Beyond Burger! I've tried it before and you're totally right it's such a great beef substitute if seasoned right (and this is coming from a full-on carnivore that dislikes tofu :p)
can't wait to try it, it looks delish!
"but first tacos!"

Yeah once you get the seasoning and texture working, then you’ve got it.
I hope you get to try it and let me know what you think. I want to make meatballs with it or meat sauce to use with some 🍝!!

I am very supportive of burgers and like to eat it thanks @ketopian for posting that is very good.

Thanks fikar! :)

"I am very supportive of burgers" - that's the best thing ive read all day haha amazing

😂 it was a pretty cute comment, burgers are worth supporting.

The most delicious cake, I want to taste this one, it tastes delicious, thanks to the @ketopian post.

may b it's very delicious and tasty

I got that, but this is not cake, so the comment is not genuine. ⚠️ Do not spam my blog, final warning. ⚠️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71