Cookbook With Me #8 - Rocket Salad with Figs, Prosciutto, Walnuts, and Parmesan

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

A rocket bruised is a rocket that doesn't shoot well.

Rocket scientists VS Rocket cooks

It ain't just NASA scientists who work with rockets. I do too. Regularly. In fact, I eat that kind of stuff for breakfast. It's nothing to me. Just another day in the kitchen.

But they get all the limelight and applause. I don't mind, modesty is my middle name. It comes right after my first name which is Supreme and before my last name which is RocketLeader.

So let's review my last launch. I mean lunch.

Leftover Prosciutto

2.jpg

Rocket unbruised photoshoots much better.

I had some leftover Prosciutto (2 slices) so I made this salad. 2 slices meant half the recipe, which was good for 2 people. (Using the mathematical operation of multiplication, we can figure out that the whole recipe would require 4 slices of Prosciutto, and would serve 4 people.)

3.jpg

You start by slicing the Prosciutto into ribbons and then frying it and then drying it on a paper towel and then tasting the result cos you can't resist and then being very impressed and wanting to eat it all and resisting. (These steps are all covered in detail in the cookbook recipe.)

Then you make the sauce, which includes raspberry jam, vinegar, shallots, figs (I can feel you salivating), and you whisk and warm all this stuff together. You also toast the walnut separately.

4.jpg

Doesn't sound too hard, does it? But in fact it did take a bit longish to make. First times can often be on the long side, though. (This is my experience, though teen movies would claim otherwise.)

The resulting salad is bittersweet, a word that has only positive connotations in the culinary lexicon.

Verdict

5.jpg

Almost completely dressed now. Only the perm remains. I mean parm. Parmesan.

I really liked the crunch and taste of the fried Prosciutto. But it tends to get lost in the rest of the salad. Pity. I guess you could carefully layer it on top and eat it while trying not to mix it in.

The salad as a whole is good, but I've made better (and easier; and cheaper).

I guess it's good to make when you got leftover Prosciutto.

6.jpg

Final product. Covered with parm.

The cookbook

Arugula Salad with Figs, Prosciutto, Walnuts, and Parmesan in The Complete Mediterranean Cookbook: 500 Vibrant, Kitchen-Tested Recipes for Living and Eating Well Every Day, by The Editors at America's Test Kitchen.

All pics by yours truly.

Past episodes:

7: Cookbook With Me #7 - White Gazpacho

6: Cookbook With Me #6 - Sweetest Borscht + tikotiko's Melomakarona

5: Cookbook With Me #5 - Battling winter with Armenian yogurt sorrel soup + 2 Greek steemians' recipes!

4: Cookbook With Me #4 - My lovely date with a Prosciutto!

3: Cookbook With Me #3 - Something to Dip about

2: Cookbook With Me #2 - Evocative Almond Cake!

1: Cookbook With Me #1 - Surprisingly Good Pickled Okra!


Upvote if you liked this, and follow for more like this!


@alexander.alexis is a @greek-trail trailer and trailee

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this recipe, I love it! I'm a huge fan of salads in all forms and shapes, and I was looking for new idea for healthy lunch at work, I will try this for sure! :)

What an interesting salad) we probably don't find Prosciutto...

They do sell it in Cyprus. So if you're Greek they'll probably have it there too. ... Oh I see you're Russian! (The name Ksenia is identical in Greek!) Well, even better chances you'll find it, I think!

Yes, that's right, I'm from Russia. It's great that you know about the origin of my name)

I'm half Greek-Cypriot half-Russian, kinda hard not to know! )

@alexander.alexis Verdict though :p
Hope to get more content like this from you :)

Prepei mia mera na mas kaneis to trapezei.. me ola auta ta iperoxa pou ftiaxneis😀😀

Nice post @alexander.alexis maybe next time i will to try this food, thanks for sharing with us

really good! It made me mouth water. :p

Nice post look healthy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53955.17
ETH 2265.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34