Cookbook With Me #5 - Battling winter with Armenian yogurt sorrel soup + 2 Greek steemians' recipes!

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

ayss-.jpg

Intro

Strictly speaking, this is a cold Armenian yogurt & sorrel soup (called Tanov in Ukrainian). But I make it hot: ain't nothing wrong with changing a recipe more to our liking!

And I changed this in more ways than one.

It's a soup I make rather regularly, cos it's super cheap and rather easy to make (only has 4 steps) and provides me with my yogurt quota for the day (read first two sections here for why that's super important).

Also this time I'll include short reviews of two recipes by fellow steemians @mariossap and @tikotiko!

Exciting!

So let's get soupin'!

Greens galore!

bab.jpg

That's no cereal bowl, that's a big-ass salad basin!

The amount of greens that go into this gets me excited. It gets me excited cos I got this notion — not unsupported by research — that greens are good for me.

My taste buds ain't complainin' either. And there's a very satisfying crunch to the dill's stems that I like.

I've adjusted the quantities to 100 g spinach, 30 g dill, 20 g coriander, and 25 g sorrel. Those are for a single dose. (I make a double.)

That might not seem like a lot of grams, but they're a lot in dog years...excuse me I meant they're a lot in green grams.

Also once chopped and thrown into the pan, their mass gets quite manageable.

A note on the sorrel

They don't sell it where I live. As far as I know. So I use the salted jarred version. The 25 g refers to that. I use half a tsp salt & 1 eighth of a tsp finely ground pepper (for a single dose), so you might need to adjust upwards for the salt if you're using fresh sorrel (which is called οξαλίδα or λάπαθο in Greek, and щавель in Russia, where it's a common ingredient).

On to the Yogurt!

The recipe calls for "natural yogurt". That's quite generic if you ask me. The results you'll get using strained Greek yogurt vs soury sheep's yogurt will differ substantially, methinks, though I haven't tried the strained version.

No, I went straight for the sheep's yogurt. It seemed more reasonable to me, because this is a "half-Armenian Aunt Nina's" recipe written down by a Ukrainian chef, and despite recent political events Ukrainians and Russians share like 100% of their DNA and culture, including food culture, and in Russian dishes sorrel usually imparts a sour taste, so I figured that's what was intended, and after I tried it I was rather convinced I wouldn't like it any other way, and at least one other person who tried it told me "no, regular yogurt just won't do".

That was a big sentence.

So sheep's yogurt it is! 2 x 440 g of it! And as sour as it comes!

And 2 eggs, not 1. (The amounts are always for a single dose.)

And that's the last change I'll make to the recipe.

I promise.

Hot not cold

Except for the heat. It's okay-ish cold. But it's much better hot IMO.

Though I suspect for some reason that Aunt Nina's version is much better than mine, and might be better cold when she makes it. And it's her favorite family dish, to boot. I suspect the magic of Aunt Nina's cooking just can't be captured in a written recipe.

(Also make sure the rice is al dente.)

(No one likes mushy rice.)

On to our lovely steemian cooks!

IMG_20171210_232418409--.jpg

I'm not saying there's anything going on between @mariossap and @tikotiko, but their recipes do complement one another rather well. Suspicious? You tell me.

@mariossap's freshly harvested cured olives

Let's start with @mariossap's homemade olives recipe, because that's the one that came first chronologically.

It started when I read his post.

It continued when I went to the grocery store one day and saw fresh uncured olives being sold.

For lack of an olive tree, that was my next best option.

So I purchased some.

Followed the recipe almost to the letter, including using an egg to measure proper salt/water ratios.

IMG_20171206_145638037-.jpg

We got a floater!

I cured them for a week instead of 2 because they looked done to me.

And I was right.

I also left them in the salt half a day longer which did result in a bit of an extra-salty taste.

Now I'm not an olive connoisseur, but these did taste better than their supermarket equivalents. There was a more direct, more primal, more "full" taste to them.

IMG_20171208_203044527-.jpg

If you won't mind, I'll have some with halloumi-filled feta.

Gripes: I only purchased some and the jars I had were either too small or too big. Many of the olives floated to the top, and I'd like to have something to weigh them down with, but the mouth of the jar was too small compared to its inside capacity, so the olives escaped to the side anyways, whatever I used.

This has been a constant issue with other ferments I tried. I'll probably need to buy some more specialized equipment.

IMG_20171128_144742235-.jpg

Poor visibility, but it's the only pic I took.

@tikotiko's white beans soup (Fasolada)

IMG_20171210_220305980-.jpg

This too was greens galore. I like!

Fasolada is a national dish, and therefore a favorite.

However, I can't really offer an objective review of this recipe, cos I messed it up!

All I can offer as an excuse is that it was my first time using a pressure cooker!

I know, strange, for someone who cooks regularly. But life is strange.

So what was the problem?

You see, my pressure cooker had the beans ready in 15 min instead of the prescribed 45. But I only checked after 20 min, and by then they were already a mush. But I had to dump the "first water", which probably took most of the beans' taste with it.

I then recooked the beans along with the veggies!

And I added the max amount of water.

So the result was a watery mush without much taste!

However, on the second day it was better, and the third day better still, approximating what I think ought to be the intended taste of this dish—and it was nice!

In a fit of inspiration I dumped @mariossap's olives right into the soup and the result was very good! The saltiness fit right in, and the tastes complemented perfectly.

I also liked the subtle but noticeable spicy punch that the chili imparted, which isn't a common ingredient in fasolada.

Note to recipe triers that "white beans" refers to navy beans, although they're white not navy blue.

If your beans are blue there's probably something wrong with them.

So there it is! Make sure to check @tikotiko's photos which are much better than my amateurish ones!

The cookbook

Tanov - Armenian cold yogurt & sorrel soup in Mamushka: Recipes from Ukraine and Eastern Europe, by Olia Hercules.

The posts

A classic comfort food: Beans’ soup (Fasolada) by @tikotiko

Wild Olive-The Process Of The Harvest/ A Superfood In Your Salad! by @mariossap

All pics by yours truly.

Past episodes:

4: Cookbook With Me #4 - My lovely date with a Prosciutto!

3: Cookbook With Me #3 - Something to Dip about

2: Cookbook With Me #2 - Evocative Almond Cake!

1: Cookbook With Me #1 - Surprisingly Good Pickled Okra!


Upvote if you liked this, and follow for more like this!


@alexander.alexis is a @greek-trail trailer and trailee

Sort:  

You are dangerous!

I only came here to wish you a happy and prosporous new year, but found stuff I now have to copy and paste, so as to add to my recipe book (folder).

Did you celebrate the new year eve party in Cyprus?

A pity the above must have sheep yoghourt. Not something easy to come by in SA (only goat yoghourt) and even that, where available, is damn expensive. One of my favourite dishes is Lahano-dolmades. Do you eat it? With all the fresh lemon in the sauce, it is perfect for winter days.

Goat's must have a very similar flavor profile to sheep's, I believe. The two are often combined in Cy into a sheep/goat's yogurt blend, and I don't detect much difference in taste compared to plain sheep's.

To think of sheep's yogurt as expensive is very odd to me! 500g costs 1 euro here. I guess it's the same with Italians and Parmesan cheese: those lucky bastards probably buy it for pennies!

Yup we eat dolmades (which we call κουπέπια in Cyprus), in fact I had them this very morning! In Cyprus we make them much better than in Greece, IMO, cos we add minced meat, whereas in Greece it's usually just rice and flavorings, or maybe pine nuts or whatnot, so when you eat them it's like a side, it's like you didn't really eat anything. My mom's κουπέπια is definitely in my top 10 favorite dishes! She makes it especially lemony!

Happy New Year's to you too, although the way steem is going I think we'll all be celebrating! Even my puny 50% vote is worth 12 cents now! It's astounding!

Don't think I don't remember my promise to read your story! I do! I have a backlog of promises both to myself and other people. I've had some health issues recently that took up a chunk of my time. I'll get busier soon.

Don't worry about the story - I stopped posting it. Only Niko bothered to read it. What I would like to post for you is the part where Robert goes back in time to save a specie and he meets the person he calls "The Ethical Captain'. I sort of wonder whether you would agree with her rule.



By the way, Robert initiated early on a change I liked. He decided that all sapient species are humans, so we must call ourselves Terrans. I find it strange that nobody has ever questioned it, giving me reasons why I'm wrong. I don't know whether I should consider it a sign that we are maturing, or just that my readers were too lazy and indifferent.

here you have it :-)

For sure I will cook what you so elegantly present here on your blog. Yammi!

As I was born in Russia and my ancestors are from the Ukraine (Germans) I know the soup very well. We grew sorrel in our garden even here in Germany and my mom actually cooked it once a week. Back then I did not like it so much but today I find it delicious. Cold version I haven't tried, though.

I am looking forward to "Pilmeni" when I visit my family. Any special recepies on them?

Awesome! Privet! Govorish po ryskii?!

Lots of traditional (Cypriot, in my case) dishes I didn't like when I was small, but now I adore!

When I was a kid there was a place in Rostov (on Don) that made the best pilmeni I ever had in my life. Nothing ever came close to those. The place is gone now.. '(

Pilmeni isn't one of my mom's specialties I'm afraid (she's Russian) and I haven't tried making any myself as of yet.

Tell me more about your own version of sorrel soup, if you don't mind, I'm curious! Do you call it Tanov? What ingredients do you use, like what kind of yogurt? Any info would be appreciated as I'm interested about these things, especially traditional recipes.

Thanks for reading (and voting)!

Privet! Nimnoschka- :-)
actually less then "nimnoschka" - some rude words and things like knife, fork and hunger - LOL

oh, sad to hear the the place where you got the worlds best Pilmeni is gone. :-(

For the recepy I must admit that as it was not my favorite dish, I did not ask my mom and also did not let her write it down. She passed away last year. But I can ask my aunt and the mothers in my community. I will go there on Christmas and maybe come back with some recepies.

We call it "Saurump-Borscht" - but I guess that is a very unique creation of mixed terms German-Russian. I have a lot of silly words in my repertoire noboy understands.

So far: Doswedanje!

some rude words and things like knife, fork and hunger

All the words you need to survive!

Sorry to hear about your mom. I lost my dad a few years back from cancer, so I feel you...

Saurump-Borscht

Does that translate to something like "sour borscht"? There's an immense number of soups going by the name of borscht in Russia, to the point where the word becomes meaningless. Plus, most red borschts I don't like, but I like green borschts.

Ia toje malo govoriu. No mnogo ponimau!

Looking forward to any secret recipes you might snatch from unsuspecting relatives!

otschin charascho! :-)

LOL, yes, for survival it might be enough.

You are right, it means "sour borscht". I don't like the red one neither and hated to eat it during my childhood. Today I am okay with it but still is not what I am craving for.

Ja ni magu gavari .... more ... toschi! HaHa!

Thank you for your kind words. Losing parents makes up a whole new realm to adultery. We are growing with the event of a death of a loved one. Though missing and pain are still there, appreciation and love equal that. All the best for you.

Following you with pleasure. Take care. For tonight that is all of steemit! Good night from Hamburg.

Hehe!the timing really depends o the beans used..once I was making chickpeas and it took me 12 hours!! I am sorry for putting you into trouble!

No, I like trying recipes, and the result wasn't in any sense bad. I just knew it wasn't what it was supposed to be.

I soaked the beans for a whole day, 24 hours, maybe a bit more, so maybe that's partly the reason. Or my Fissler pressure cooker is too good, dunno! Plus my "low" fire is really actually a medium fire by any standards, but that's as low as it goes as I use a gas stove.

I'm thinking of trying your melomakarona as I've been drooling since I read the post :P But I know making them can be a bit tricky.

Slow cooking is the best!

mmmm....this post makes me hungry! we just made our first batch of homemade olives :) I'm super interested in trying that yogurt soup though!

It's so nice to see you trying out the recipes people share in here @alexander.alexis!

What a boy, you cook, you write amazing scientific posts, don't tell me that you're Batman too! :P

No, I'm Robin, I fight crime in my undies! :P

Ahahaha! I did not put that on your stempede feature. Should I edit it? :P

F*** you made me hungry here 😊

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @alexander.alexis to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
SBD 2.55