Cookbook With Me #7 - White Gazpacho

in #recipes6 years ago (edited)

Intro

According to Wikipedia, Gazpacho has ancient roots. Mine only had bread, water, almonds, garlic, vinegar, olive oil, s&p, and grapes. But I will be googling later for an "ancient roots Gazpacho recipe".

The very white (but non-supremacist) Gazpacho

1.jpg

Feeling gra-py.

This was one of those recipes whose ingredients are so weird that you feel quite confident it's either gonna turn great, or a disaster. Bread and water? That alone sounds soggy. Add almonds and grapes and you're reaching for the bucket.

Did I add this is served cold?

Despite all that, it actually turned out quite nice, and all who tried it liked it!

Here's roughly how it's made, so that you get an idea: The water is basically processed in a blender along with the bread and blanched almonds. This creates a base that tastes quite similar to almond milk. Then you add the rest of the ingredients (except for the slivered almonds and grapes that are added as toppings at the end) and process.

Then the whole thing is put through a strainer and the solids discarded.

This is actually what I don't like about this recipe. You see, I hate waste! You're supposed to just throw away all that perfectly good and very protein-rich almond dry matter. I tried eating it, and it was fine, I guess, but there's so much of it, it wasn't exactly tasty in large doses. So that option is out. You also can't use it for another recipe, because the almond isn't just almond, it's also got bread and garlic and olive oil in it. Unless someone comes up with a recipe that requires powdered almond with garlic taste, it's unusable.

2.jpg

Need some protein.

Removing all that almond also means that the soup is rather lacking in protein, which means it needs to be accompanied with something proteiny. I chose a dip, as I often do when protein is lacking.

When you add the slivered almonds and seedless grapes (couldn't find seedless so I seeded them, which by some peculiarity of English means that I removed, not added, the seeds) to the milk-like base, it's slightly reminiscent of eating cereal. The dish being cold also helps that impression. But it's only a slight one.

And the dish does taste quite nice. But there's another thing, which they actually note in the recipe itself: you can't have too much of it. This is more like a starter. It's not the kind of thing you'd eat to feel full. Its intense taste gets a bit overwhelming.

But when I eat, I like to feel full!

It's also some trouble to make, for something that isn't filling. The whole process or straining the blended soup to separate away the solids is somewhat repetitive if you can't do it all at once, and generally the recipe is a bit too finicky for my taste. Add to that the fact that I also have to make sides separately, and this becomes even less of a regular option: when I add something to my cooking oeuvre, it means it's fast and tastes great and can nourish you completely.

On the plus side, this can be kept in the refrigerator for days, and it's the only soup I know of that you could store in a milk bottle and none would be the wiser.

Verdict

3.jpg

Come back, Gazpacho!

I would file this under "a keeper", but only to make it rarely. And not in the winter. Cold soup in winter = bad idea. The logistics of it make me feel lazy the moment I think about making it again, but I'm pretty sure I'll be missing it dearly in a six-month.

The cookbook

White Gazpacho in The Complete Mediterranean Cookbook: 500 Vibrant, Kitchen-Tested Recipes for Living and Eating Well Every Day, by The Editors at America's Test Kitchen.

All pics by yours truly.

Past episodes:

6: Cookbook With Me #6 - Sweetest Borscht + tikotiko's Melomakarona

5: Cookbook With Me #5 - Battling winter with Armenian yogurt sorrel soup + 2 Greek steemians' recipes!

4: Cookbook With Me #4 - My lovely date with a Prosciutto!

3: Cookbook With Me #3 - Something to Dip about

2: Cookbook With Me #2 - Evocative Almond Cake!

1: Cookbook With Me #1 - Surprisingly Good Pickled Okra!


Upvote if you liked this, and follow for more like this!


@alexander.alexis is a @greek-trail trailer and trailee

Sort:  

LOL:

@alexander.alexis is a @greek-trail trailer and trailee

Also: Wow. Right now and here I see 21 eyes having seen this post and 20 gave you an upvote. THAT I call a perfect quote.

I need a PDF-collection of your recipes. Isn't here anywhere a button I can push and it spits that out for me? :-)

Thanks ) Although they're not so much recipes as reviews of recipes, with slight tweaks sometimes.

You gotta contact Ned to make you an update of the site that will allow printing!

Also, that's nothing, look at this:

votes views.JPG

From an old post of mine. Now that's what I call a perfect ratio! :D

Well, how can one beat THAT? :-D
maybe that's why I am getting all depressed. LOL.

No, joke aside: I am all happy for you. When you feel well, I feel well. That's the way life goes.

Τέλειο.. άσε που δε εχω φάει και με έπιασε πείνα...😀😀😀καλή συνέχεια...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11