Recipe - Teriyaki Couscous

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

A big improvement on my previous version.

CousCous01.jpg

As I told you in a previous post, I tried my hand at making a couscous dinner. It did not work out well, because I just threw some healthy stuff together and they didn't fit very well. It gave me an idea for a different kind of couscous dinner, though.

We like mushrooms here and we also enjoy the teriyaki taste, so I figured I'd combine the two. I once had this delicious sandwich with teriyaki sauce, mushrooms, chicken and taugé (is that the correct English word?). I figured, why not mix it with couscous? It turned out quite well, so here's the recipe!

CousCous02.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 500g Mushrooms (whichever you like best, I mixed two kinds)
  • 250g Tauge
  • A couple of spring unions
  • 125g Smoked chicken (or however much you like)
  • 200g Couscous
  • Coconut milk
  • Teriyaki sauce (however much you enjoy)
  • Cumin
  • Turmeric
  • Cardamom
  • Ginger syrup (optional)
  1. Cut the mushrooms in quarters and cut the spring unions and chicken in small pieces.
  2. Bring a bit of water to boil and mix it with the couscous and some coconut milk. Let this sit while doing the rest.
  3. Heat up some oil in a wok and add the spring unions and cumin. Heat up for a minute or two.
  4. Add the mushrooms, taugé, teriyaki sauce, turmeric, cardamom and optionally the ginger syrup. Mix and heat this up well.
  5. Add the chicken and the couscous and heat up for another minute or two.
  6. Done.

Enjoy!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Wordpress | Deviantart | Facebook | Photography shop |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

@playfulfoodie Schat mooi gedaan!
maar .. er is een maar ja :D
maak ook fotos van het process
anders wordt het genogeerd want dat is een van de guidelines die de mens die ons helpen hebben
veel success!

Ik snap het! Ik vergeet het snel tijdens de voorbereidingen en het koken, maar ik denk er steeds vaker aan en ga er extra goed aan denken voor de challenge :D
Dank je voor je lieve comment!

This is one of those things that probably tastes way better than it sounds like it should. I bet it would go well with quinoa, so really couscous wouldn't be all that much different.

I think so too, I might have to try it with quinoa sometime... I've never actually made quinoa yet!
And really, you could also just put the wok ingredients on bread and forget about the couscous, if that sounds better ;-)

Yeah, once it's already teriyaki'd up, most any carb will do I bet. I wonder how it would do with polenta.

Hmm don't think I've ever had that before. Is it like mashed potatoes or something? Looks similar when I check images on google.

It's a mashed cornmeal, I think it's Italian. There's a recipe here ---> http://allrecipes.com/recipe/234933/how-to-make-perfect-polenta/ but it's usually sold in either the refrigerated pasta section or the produce section of grocery stores.

It's really good, and it's a thicker consistency than couscous. If I make this recipe, I'll substitute the couscous for polenta and report back.

Hmm, I'll see if they have it here sometime. Always good to try new things, thanks!

Thank you, it was indeed quite good! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43