Kalettes Baby Tomatoes and Bacon Stuffed Zucchini topped with Dried Nutritional Yeast Flakes

in #recipe6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

Long time no see!:p I was a little off these days because I had some free time and I really enjoyed staying outside the house, computer and everything. And I also had some work to do...but here I am now, with this new and ORIGINAL RECIPE. 

I had home some zucchini, kalletes and some baby tomatoes. So...I came up with the idea of this yummmmmy, healthy and easy recipe! The ingredients are so well combined, all in harmony! Love it!! You should try this recipe, I'm sure you'll like the taste. :) 

It gives you satiety, energy and a nice feeling of having a healthy and delicious meal!

 ~~~~~~~~~~💓 miss deli 💓~~~~~~~~~~ 


What are these KALETTES?


Well, according to our friend Wikipedia,  Kalettes (formerly known as Flower Sprouts or Brusselkale) are a hybrid  plant brand name for kale sprouts, bred using traditional breeding techniques, they are a cross between kale and brusseles sprouts. Its flower-like florets are open to about two inches in diameter. The plant is touted as being a highly nutritious vegetable that may be eaten as raw or cooked. 

The hybrids were debuted by Tozer Seeds in England.  "Kalette" is actually a brand name for the vegetable "kale sprouts," which were introduced to the U.K. market in 2010 under the name Flower Sprouts. 

Also, a few words about Nutritional Yeast 


I think this is one of the best food ingredients that exists in the whole word. It contains full protein, providing all the amino acids that your body cant produce. It is also rich in vitamin B, Iron, Zinc, Selenium, other vitamins, minerals and antioxidants.

You will find  Unfortified nutritional yeast - meaning that the flakes/powder does not contain any added vitamins or minerals;  Fortified nutritional yeast, it contains also other vitamins in order to boost its nutrient content.

You can find it as flakes, granules or powder. It is higly used by vegans. It has a strong flavor, but I find it super delicious. 

 ~~~~~~~~~~💓 miss deli 💓~~~~~~~~~~ 

Ingredients:


  • 4 zucchini
  • 20-25 kalletes
  • 10 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 4-5 cloves garlic
  • bacon ( you can use how much you want, but I only used a couple of slices)
  • 1 bunch of green fresh parsley
  • cheese ( 100 gr or so)
  • nutritional yeast flakes ( 2 Tbsp)
  • condiments like salt and pepper
  • 2 tbsp olive oil 

 ~~~~~~~~~~💓 miss deli 💓~~~~~~~~~~ 

Method:


1. Preheat the oven.

2. Cut the zucchini in halves and scoop out the middle part with the seeds. 

3. Add some salt, pepper and olive oil and put them on a grill, over a tray, and add some water in the tray. Bake them for approximately 30 minutes or until you consider they are 85% done.

4. Meanwhile, cut kalettes, baby tomatoes, onion, garlic and bacon in small pieces. 

5. In a pan, heat the olive oil and stir in these ingredients. Let them cook for 4-5 minutes and add some salt and pepper.

6. Cut finely cheese and parsley. 

7. Combine the ingredients that you cooked with cheese and parsley. Wait until the zucchini are ready. 

8. When zucchini are done, stuff them with the mix. Sprinkle 1 Tbsp of the yeast on top.


9. Bake them another 10-15 minutes and when completely ready, you can add the other 1 Tbsp of nutritional yeast.


~~~~~~~~~~💓 miss deli 💓~~~~~~~~~~

 THIS IS THE RESULT!! Enjoy!!!  

💙 


~~~~~~~~~~💓 miss deli 💓~~~~~~~~~~

This was my recipe today! Hope you really like it and cant wait to read your feedback. Tell me if you like this recipe or maybe there's something you would change!

I will have this recipe again! cause it's really really delicious.

Stay healthy and try to find ways for having new healthy ingredients on your meals, like I did with the nutritional yeast. Boost your regular meal with some superfoods! It's a win-win because of the taste & the nutrients!

Wish you a wonderful time, 

Love, 

Miss Deli 

Sort:  

Kalettes? Never heard of them, but they look tasty. I hope the kale overwhelms the Brussels sprouts because well, Brussels sprouts :) Not my fave.

But I really like all the rest, and I love the way you combined them. I'll try something at least like it...

Thanks for a great looking recipe.

haha! me too, @bigtom13! But I promise you, kalettes are much better than eighter kale or brussels sprouts separately! The taste is much "balanced" and yes, they are more like kale.
Yeah, you could try something similar! I bet you will cook something tasty and healthy!
Thanks for supporting:)

I've never heard of kalettes before. I like both kale and Brussels sprouts, so I'm sure kalettes taste good too.
BTW, these zucchini boats look fantastic!

I think Kalettes are super yummy! I like also kale and brussels sprouts but I think these two together in kalettes are much better! They dont have that strong sour taste. Also, thanks so much! I'm glad you like these zucchini and kalettes boats:d

Zucchini Canoes with cabbage is a super delicious recipe, sometimes I prepare it. You make your recipe easily for our understanding. beautiful photographs. I congratulate you and I follow you.
I would love to visit my profile and you will value my publications .. Thank you.

Thank you very much @olgapaprica :)

This looks amazing!!! We use zucchini to make a bruschetta and also as Parmesan bites. I think this is something we can add to the menu.

mmmhhmm so yummy! I adore zucchini parmesan bites:x I dont do it to often, but I might consider doing it soon cause you made me realise I miss them haha:d Thanks for stopping by! Maybe you'll try sometimes the recipe:p or something similar:)

@missdeli, you did a great job photographing you food artwork. I really appreciate the variety of colors. Thanks for sharing something worth eating.

Thank you very much @sumatranate :) Yeah, the colors can say a lot about food. The more the better! because all colors in food have a meaning. For example, red foods are rich in licopen, green foods are rich in vit. C etc. :p Thank you very much for your kind words:)

that looks so tasty! I love courgettes. I find them super versatile.

I thought you were vegan, and now I see some sneaky bacon :)

Heyy there, my beautiful friend:x
Yes, I love them too. If I had to choose, zucchini/courgettes/whatever are my favorite veggies. They are really delicious pretty much with everything. Their taste is so delicate.
Hmm...why would you think that?:D Actually I try to be as much as I can vegan/vegetarian but I'm not entirely. its true that I try to eat as healthy as I can, depending on various things. But I think balance its the most important principle regarding health and food. So, I try to keep myself on the "light" side.
P.S. thanks for the resteem! you're sweet:)

AJ picked your post @missdeli for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Thank you very much! I really appreciate it:) enjoy my recipe!

Looks so great!!!

Heey thanks so much!! they are super delicious. For someone who's in love with "dovlecei/zucchini", no matter the method of cooking them. haha

They look like little veggie boats! I'm sure they're tasty

Well yeah:D except they're not vegan!! not even vegetarian! :d

Of course. You can’t forget the bacon!

I can! but you cant! haha:p

I will never forget the first time I had bacon in my life. I was in 5th grade and it was on a pizza...
My cholesterol levels have never been the same since....

ahahah:D i trust you!! I think i had bacon before 5th grade :d upssy ;)) I mean, I'm sure!

wooow amazing receipe, i havent seen the kalettes before, it looks super yummy do you have idea if there are kalettes for sale in MExico?

Thank you very much! Unfortunately, Idk if there are kalettes in Mexico! Hopefully you'll find some:p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71