Mama Castor's Soft Rolls or Bread Recipe (Incl. Update From Ceci)

in #recipe6 years ago

I'm lucky enough to be in touch with Ceci, our beloved friend in Nicaragua. We talk in a group with @phoenixwren, and one of our favourite things to chat about is...CARBS! More specifically, the creating of Carb-Products!

Allow Me to Introduce: Mama Castor's Soft Rolls

Exactly as She Wrote it:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup melted butter or oil
  • 1 -1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 to 4 tablespoons sugar (I used honey)
  • 4 tablespoons powdered milk
  • 1 tablespoon yeast (yes it sounds like a lot)
  • 3 to 4 generous cups of flour

Optional to add:

  • 1 /2 cup raisins or more
  • 1/2 cup candied fruit
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Let your imagination run wild...

I did free form loaves this time on a cookie sheet and it made three medium sized loaves. Kids wanted fruit and raisins so we did both.

Don't forget third punch down and then rougher you handle them dough, the better then loaves.

Happy baking!!

I've Made Them Twice Already!

My first attempt I decided to bake them into 3 small hand-formed loaves, baked on a pan together. I added raisins and cinnamon. Yesterday I put all the dough into a bread pan, it made the perfect loaf!

IMG_1664.JPG

There is only a slice or two of the loaf remaining...it's been 12 hours. I'm thinking this could turn into a daily thing. I need more flour.

IMG_1666.JPG

DOH!

IMG_1621.JPG

IMG_1620.JPG

Mmmm why does dough have to look so goooood?

IMG_1623.JPG

The 3 Hand Formed Loaves

Being my first attempt, I realized, I don't know how long to bake these babies for lol! I found out I left them in a little too long, apparently you 'knock' on the bottom of bread and if it sound hollow, it is ready.

IMG_1625.JPG

Didn't turn out too overcooked though! All gone within a day.

IMG_1630.JPG

Something in life I can never get enough of, toast!

IMG_1631.JPG

The Update from Ceci, Living in the Nicaragua Crisis

For those of you who haven't seen, @phoenixwren has been sharing updates from Ceci over the last couple months. I will list the articles in chronological order so you can catch up.

Ceci's message to her friends on January 6th, 2019

I have been doing some serious downsizing in prep for getting out of Dodge when the window opens. Traveling sounds like a good idea. When we are resettled, I want to take some time traveling around to visit all my friends from Steemit.

Funny thing about new years. Been contemplating a lot of things. I am tired of these idiots taking away what little freedoms that are left, so I am going to take back some. My son and I will recommence our early morning beach walks, with or without the MIB.

We are going to hold religious services here for those who wish to come. This isn't a church so as far as they are concerned this is not a public meeting place, just friends gathering for perhaps a lunch and fellowship...

The whole world is in a mess with flaky leaders. This will take longer to iron out than I am willing to wait. I want to live my life to its fullest regardless of what these bozos have in their little pea brains. There is no point in being afraid of one's shadow.

Just wanted to let folks know and I disappear, it is because I have tried to take my freedoms back.

She left us this link as well: "Ortega’s Nicaraguan Police Train for a Civil War"

Screen Shot 2019-01-07 at 11.36.41 AM.png

Source: https://havanatimes.org/?p=146604

Please help spread the word about what is happening to the innocent civilians living in Nicaragua. There is still no major media coverage.

Sort:  

So grateful you two are on touch with our dear friend Ceci. I pray for her and her circle all the time. She is likely the bravest warrior that i know and have been in contact with personally. I get the sense that she is feeling more empowered now which is so positive. In a crazy world like ours it's such a blessing we have the comforts of carbs! In her honour i will attempt this recipe. So grateful my two closer to home warrior friends are able to connect with Ceici and that you take the time to share her updates with our community. Much love and many nom noms haha HUGS to all.

I know she would love to hear from you Jill, she says we are her lifeline, and needs her connection with her Steem friends. I'll write you right away and connect you two, as well, if you need any directions with the bread, I can let you know that too <3 <3 <3 Thank you for this awesome comment Jill.

I get the sense that she is feeling more empowered now which is so positive.

So courageous and inspiring. Just no words...I can't imagine what they are going through.

In a crazy world like ours it's such a blessing we have the comforts of carbs! In her honour i will attempt this recipe.

Thank you so much for honouring Ceci, and for pointing out how blessed we are, to even have access to flour. The nightmare Ceci had the last time she went out to try and buy some...

And no crazy caverns in the bread? Woooo! LOL
I need more flour, too. But I don't eat bread that fast, lol.

Milk, it's all about the milk, the cavern killer!

What a lovely bread.
I'm tagging @muscara so she can have a look too. :)

What the heck is 'powdered milk'?? I would love to try this recipe (@kiwideb directed me here) ...but I do not know what powdered milk is . What can I substitute it with?

With milk <3 I used 1 cup of milk as substitute <3 Most folks would use skim milk, but I used whole and it turned out fine. Happy Baking!

Thank you ......

Hi @lyndsaybowes
I intended to resteem this post when I first read it but must have got interrupted.Glad I'm not too late to do so now. I'm also pleased to here how Ceci is doing and it doesn't surprise me to know that she is exercising her right to freedom in whatever capacity she can.
If it is possible for me to get in touch with her, I'd love to Lyndsay. If not, then please let her know she is often in my thoughts and prayers. Many thanks for sharing this news with us.
Great looking bread btw. (U & R)

Hi Trudee, thank you for writing, I can definitely connect you with Mama Castor!!

Find me on discord: Lyndsay Bowes#0572

or write me: [email protected]

That's wonderful. Thanks a lot Lyndsay.

Good to hear she is still safe(ish) and well. Thanks for sharing.

I love bread. This looks delicious! I was diagnosed with type ll diabetes last July , I've gotten the A1C down to 7.4 so bread has been at a minimum for me. Coconut flour is in though! Do you think it would work with spelt or coconut flour?

It is sad how the whole world seems to be crumbling because the corrupt news media refuses to report the truth and big tech shuts down those trying to report the truth. 2019 I think will be one hell of a ride. Hang on!

Thanks for commenting @watchfulmomma. I'm sorry to hear about your illness :'( If you do make the rolls/bread with coconut flour or spelt, please tag me in the post, I'd love to see how it went! I'll share it with Ceci too!

Glad you heard from her. She sent me that same article via Discord

I'm glad you're staying in touch <3 She needs her pals!

Since my wife went on keto, the one thing I really miss is garlic toast when we have steak

I didn’t even know there was a political crisis in Nicaragua. I suppose I’ll have to look more into it later.

I'm glad you are aware now. Their so-called 'government' has been killing its people for months now. They've found mass graves. Many families are missing loved ones... :'(

I’m sorry to hear that, but why would the lame stream media report on that when you can air non stop Trump Trashing 24/7? 😩😩😩

We have an untried bread maker, a present. If that doesn't work we'll do it your way. I love hot bread.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 43

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63915.30
ETH 2740.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59