Let's Make Some Pupusas! (Savory stuffed corn cakes)

in #recipe6 years ago

I love food, from all parts of the world. When I taste something I like, the first thing that comes to my mind is, How can I make this at home?

pupusaplate - Edited.jpg

One of these foods is called a pupusa. It basically is a stuffed corn tortilla. I remember the first time I ate one, a Salvadorean friend had invited me over and she served me a pupusa. It was a lot thicker than a regular tortilla and it was filled with meat and cheese. She served it with a pickled cabbage salad called curtido. It was delicious, and right away I asked her how to make them. This was a few years ago, and I have made these pupusas many times now. The recipe is not completely traditional, but the concept is the same.

Here is what you need;

CURTIDO

  • ½ head of cabbage
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 onion
  • 1 jalapeno (optional)

Shred all of these ingredients and place them in a bowl
Pour enough boiling water to cover, and let it sit for 5 minutes.
Drain well, and add

  • 1 cup of water
  • ½ cup vinegar
  • 2 tsps oregano
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • Salt and pepper to taste

curtido - Edited.jpg

Combine all ingredients well and refrigerate until ready to serve.

PUPUSAS

  • 4 cups of corn flour (I use Maseca)
  • 3 cups of warm water
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp oil

Filling of choice - you can use cheese, or meat and cheese, or beans

Mix all ingredients.

maseca - Edited.jpg

You want to form a soft dough, it should not be wet. If it is too wet add just enough of the corn flour so that it is not sticky.

masecatouch - Edited.jpg

You are now ready to form the pupusa. I use an ice cream scoop so that they come out unifom in size.

masecascoop - Edited.jpg

Slightly flatten it out in your hand and add some filling.

masecawithfilling - Edited.jpg

Now wrap the dough around the filling. Flatten it out on a piece of wax paper until it forms a nice circle.

pupusaflat - Edited.jpg

Lightly grease a griddle that has been preheated to medium high heat.
Place the pupusas on the griddle. Cook them for about 5 minutes on each side. You will see they are ready when the have a nice golden color.

pupusa - Edited.jpg

Serve with the curtido and enjoy!

pupusaplate - Edited.jpg

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Wow ! It looks nice on the hot pan. Like pancake. And it seems easy to make too. Thanks for sharing

Yes, it is pretty easy, and delicious too!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-21T12:53:42
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 39.00/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your Recipe has been featured in the Steemkitchen Picks Of the week Article. Thank you for your continued Support. May the Hunger Stay with You.

Oh mama this looks really good!!! Yummmmsss

These look very delicious!! I love cabbage so I know I would enjoy these! Thanks for the recipe and the delicious photos!!! 😄

The cabbage hold wells in the refrigerator. When I first learned how to make it, I was told to make it a few days ahead of use. I t tastes great but I rarely plan my meals ahead, although I should.

When wrapping do you use more dough? It is hard to imagine when yours are so perfectly round. It looks so yummy! Perhaps I will be making this for supper tonight :D Thank you ^_^

No , I do not use extra dough. I simply wrap it the dough around the filling. I have been making these for years, so I have had a lot of practice. The first ones did not look like these, but eventually you get the hang of it, just takes practice. I hope you do try it and they turn out great!

I'm trying it tomorrow for supper! So cool thanks!

I couldnt find any corn flour at my grocery store :( Thinking regular flour would not be the same?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55350.85
ETH 2319.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33