The solution of Rebus [ENG] #4steemCreated with Sketch.

in #rebus8 years ago (edited)

I'd like to thank all the participants of my third Steemit contest! Your answers were very good and they all made sense, but no one guessed the official solution, which is "hoverboard" or "hover board".

The rebus was a picture of a classroom, where the letter H was literally over the board, so I hope I don't have to explain the solution in detail, as the most distinctive part of the picture was the H over board.

See you at the next contest! Follow me to have it in your feed.

My other posts you might be interested in:
Sort:  

Can I say that I do not particularly like the official answer?

"hall" (not answer of mine) was better.

I also like 2 unpublished answers of mine, both better than "Hoverboard"... clue "a star over a black hole"

OK. Thanks for the feedback. This puzzle was maybe slightly too open for alternative solutions, so everyone can have his favourite answer, which is not necessarily the official one. Solutions based on the position of a letter are rebus' classics and all the school surroundings, except the board, were misleading clues to make this puzzle harder, since you cracked the previous one in half an hour. 😉

I think the problem is that the official answer was not stronger/ more reasonable than 95% of any other answer given.
As for for me solving one fast - it was EASY and definite (90% chance of what you think is indeed the answer). I can promise to not answer rebuses that you describe as easy for say 3h, but I do not think this is the problem....
To sum it up - it seams reasonable for me the official answer should be the STRONGEST/ making most sense/most logical.... and when it is not? Well give up and give the price to the most logical answer so far and try another day.

"Hydrogen Wall"
Is 'more' correct answer to the the same rebus... and as obscure as 'hover board'

:)

Thanks again for the feedback, but I'll tell you my opinion too. It's obviously biased, as I'm the author, so I also asked all the participants for their opinion. Everybody's welcome to give me feedback, non-participants too. 😋
I'll take "hall" and "Hydrogen Wall" as examples. I understand that "hall" comes from "wall" in this case (tell me, if you interpreted it in a different way), so I would write "W → H" on a wall, if I wanted it as the solution. If it's only "H", I'd say it misses an important step, and "hoverboard" doesn't. And don't get me wrong, I appreciate this answer, but in my (biased) opinion the official one is stronger.
For "Hydrogen Wall" I would make a rebus, where [a picture of a wall] = H. In this case we have H on the wall, not H which is the wall, so Hydrogen Wall is not as literal as hoverboard from H over the board. Even if I placed H on the wall to have "Hydrogen Wall" as an answer, I would make a big H on an empty wall. In case of my rebus, we have other objects, so they should be considered. How "H" relates to them? The close relation is with the board and H is over this board, so I'd say it's not the same as "H" on an empty wall. The rest of the classroom is ignored, but it doesn't have that close relation to "H", so it's not the same as ignoring the board (if words like "hinclass" or "hinclassroom" existed, they would be nearly as strong answers as the official one, but I'd have placed H somewhere in the middle of the room, not on the wall, if I had wanted such answers).
Anyway, I had decided to split 1 SBD between the best answers even before your comments, but I want to get more feedback first and think a little more about what to pick and how to split the prize, so it might take up to a few days... 😌

And one more thing - it's not the point to refrain from commenting for 3 hours, if the puzzle is easy. That's not what a contest is for. You should guess as quickly as you can and it's not a bad thing that the rebus is solved in 30 minutes. It just makes me complicate things a little in the next puzzle. I don't regret creating the easy one, just want to make things different in the following edition. 😎

Ha ha, the hall answer was given by me.

I would appreciate your feedback too. Do you think that this rebus was too open for alternative solutions and that the official answer isn't any stronger than the alternative answers published in the comments? Thanks!

@ barcisz sorry about the offtopic but we have news for you.... Thank you!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81