Why is Delegating so Important to Running a Business?

in #realestate7 years ago

I am in Turks and Caicos for a vacation with my family. One of the greatest things about vacations now is I hardly work at all! In the past, I would be working all the time when I went on vacation. It is not much fun going on vacation when you have to argue with your wife about all the time you are taking to work. When I hired the right people and set up my business the right way, everything changed. I no longer work on vacation, I have fun. I may have a few things I do that are enjoyable like post on Steemit, but I don't have to do those things. I will have the next week to enjoy life, with only a few texts from my project manager.

I did a recent video on a work-vacation which was awesome, but not quite the same

Why are vacations important?

I do my best thinking while on vacation. I have not work to bother me and cloud my brain. Some of the best ideas I get are while I am thinking nothing about work. It is hard to think about the big picture when you are constantly immersed in the day to day. When I a working, I am not thinking about how to make the business better, but how to get a particular task done. When I am on vacation I am not thinking about a particular task, but how to make the business better.

Clear heads and clear thoughts give us better ideas. Not to mention that we will not all be able to work forever. How many people cannot take vacations because they started their own business and are the only ones who know how to work it? What happens if you get sick or worse? Who will run things? A business needs to be set up to run on its own.

https://investfourmore.com/2013/06/24/how-to-run-your-business-better-by-hiring-help-and-delegating-tasks/

Sort:  

Glad you are enjoying

You got a 1.93% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @investfourmore!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Sounds so much like Tim Ferris and the importance of systematizing your business/life.

Congrats on the success. Enjoy soaking up the sun!

Yes, I love Tim Ferris!

In these days of salaried moms and dads with kids, vacations are a FLAT OUT NECESSITY. I mean, who do you know that only has a 40 hour work week? Every professional that I know routinely put 50 plus hours very week. Most also work n the weekends. Long live vacations!

Very true. One reason why I love being an entrepreneur and creating my own work schedule

Sometimes you just need to show confidence to your staff and they will surprise with what they can handle. It is unhealthy for you to do everything on your own. Delegation is a process. You start by delegating routine tasks and with time progress to mission critical duties. You did well, there are many entrepreneurs out there who can't take even a 2 hour vacation not to mention 2 weeks.

THanks and very true

I'm in business too and really needed to hear this today. I'm learning to slowly let go of some of the control and God forbid - trust my staff and others to do it well.
Thank you for the timely post, it's like you read my mind :)

It is tough to do, but necessary to grow!

Great post this is very informative and opened up a new way of thought when approaching my business model thank you

This post has received a 4.59 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @investfourmore.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 10.67% upvote!
I was summoned by investfourmore. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75