The Hunt : Week 5 : Decisions, Disappointments, Patience and Hello Buyers Market [Part 02]

in #realestate7 years ago (edited)

It's 2pm and I have been half expecting my phone to ring.

I was so sure that pregnant lady was going to put an offer in for BadReno. The day is young, it could still happen but so far.. Nothing.

I was also half expecting a call from the boys about this house.. the Photoshop House.

Last time I mentioned this house was here. It had just come on the market and it's on one of my fave streets.

It may seem odd that I have favorite streets but that's just me, you'll get used to it , but I do have streets that I love. You would think coming up to the Blue Mountains everyone would have a view from their house. Sadly that's not the case. Since we've been on the hunt for so long, first last year when we were hunting around for our land, then now when were hunting around for our house, we've seen some amazing streets that have the best views.

One of them is this particular street. This is the street we moved to when we were Mountains newbies. Our old house is just a few houses away. The road is wide, there are no dogs, it's down the road from the fire station, within a scenic walking distance to all amenities - and there's not many of those up here. Location wise it is perfect.

Driving to the house I noticed how beautiful the weather was. It was practically perfect and I was spewing. I knew there was going to be a crowd at the inspection, and there was. People even brought their dogs.

The last time I saw that many people looking over a house it went into a bidding war, so already with this house's starting price being our top price I was already a bit wary.

We finally parked the car, took a deep breath and joined the horde.

The first thing I noticed was the lovely view the bins had from their spot on top of the driveway. Then I noticed the huge ass rocks - I can't believe I didn't notice them straight away. WOW. Imagine sitting there and meditating. It sure is a better rock spot then BadReno.

As I continued to walk down the driveway I noticed huge rocks on both sides and wondered how they even managed to build this house. It might explain why the driveway is curved and winds down from the top of the street to the large double carport. I love a house that's set back from the street.

I also noticed how far the neighbors are on either side and how the trees provide that extra buffer between us. I really like that about this house.

Up til this point I'm all.. WOW and love this and isn't that lovely.. love LOVE all over this property.

Until this. This, right here, is why I call this house The Photoshop House.

Promo Shot.
2013988259_2_pi_171107_031103-w1600-h1200.jpg

Reality.

That thing is bowing and I shit you not, I was concerned it was going to cave in while we were there.

It wasn't so much that the hack job they did when they removed the fireplace; OR the written instructions on the wall for the gas heating; OR board under that carpet meaning there's no hardwood; OR the exterior cracks; OR the 1.8 acres of unusable land; OR rickety decks that ran me out of that place.

It was this..

This, on the floor plan was meant to be a granny flat. The door you are seeing connects to the under house storage.

It's not about how it looked that bothered me, it was how it felt. I dunno you guys... This house once I walked into it didn't feel right.

Pee House was putrid but it didn't feel like this house. This house either needs saging or burn it down - cos something ain't right here.

This was also meant to be the "kitchenette"

The "ensuite"

Which is actually better than the main toilet..

I've said this before and I'm gonna say it again. When the agent doesn't include a photo of the bathroom/toilet be worried. In this case I was spot on. I didn't lift the lid. The bathroom I didn't bother taking a photo of.

But this view...

The interesting thing is. This house backs on to the same valley as Pee House and the land we just sold. I feel like it's trying to give us a chance to get back to this side. I told you, this land loves us.

This is where this saying gets tricky.

You can always change the house, but you can't change your location.

I really don't feel comfortable with that house.

Its a numerology 3 house which has a tendency to be a money pit, it has huge feng shui problems, one of them being that the front door isn't visible from the street, which would add to the money pit problem. It has major energy issues and it needs cleansing, clearing and sage, lots and lot of sage.

I could see us struggling in this house which was hard cos I could see Hubby falling in love with all the rocks and the view. I love all those too, but what they want for this house, in the condition it's in, yes I know which street it is and I'm sure that's factored in, in the price... I just cant justify it, however, Hubby loved it, saw the potential (we really love that street) and asked the boys to let us know if someone puts an offer in.

That is where we are at after week 5.

Big fat nowhere 😆

Hopefully something comes up soon although I'm surprisingly Ok with this long hunt. I think it's because I can feel the prices will be dropping lower and that will certainly help out heaps in the future. It'd be nice to have our house AND have another block of land.

See how we go this week. Could be a nerve racking one as we wait and see if there has been any offers on this house or BadReno.

💗Arly

Photos taken on my Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Week 5: Part 01: https://steemit.com/realestate/@bearone/the-hunt-week-5-decisions-disappointments-patience-and-hello-buyers-market-part-01
Week 4: Part 2: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-hunt-week-4-rainy-days-and-saturdays-great-views-bad-renos-and-food-part-2
Week 4: Part 1: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-hunt-week-4-rainy-days-and-saturdays-great-views-bad-renos-and-food-part-1
Week 3: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-hunt-week-3
Week 2: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-house-hunting-begins


follow_bearone.gif


Sort:  

I really hope you find a place that truly fills your heart. I know it takes time, but soon you'll have the place you'll want to call home.

Thank you @alee212 I hope so too 💜

good post

Oh that sucks, I really hoped this was the house for you. It always seems perfect til you walk in the door.

I have a sneaky feeling you are going to end up in badreno. Don't know why I just have a feeling.

Hope things happen soon Hun!

Thanks hun 💖 I had hoped this was it too. If they end up reducing it right down - it could still be a possibility 😁

I hope not BadReno. I just tried to imagine one of our parties happening there and just could picture it. Which is weird cos I only just thought of this now. Thanks for that! ❤

You will know when you find "home". Until then keep looking. You never know what may pop up.

Thank you so much for that! Your words just hit me like a sign from the universe ❤

Not too hard I hope :)

I agree with the sage momi @bearone. It got spooky at some point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51