The Hunt : Week 5 : Decisions, Disappointments, Patience and Hello Buyers Market [Part 01]

in #realestate7 years ago (edited)

Week 5 began with us heading down to BadReno house. I know I've bagged it out to death but it's really not that bad, especially when compared to some of the house we have already seen.

And because we just couldn't shake this view from the backyard we really had to go back and look the property over again.

One of the things I love about this property is the view from the top of the driveway. On this second inspection we noticed a spot for 2 cars at at the top of the street where I took this photo.

The pretty terraced garden won my heart over initially until I dragged my heart out of the equation and chose to see the reality of the situation.

That garden is beautiful but its also new and no doubt will need considerable upkeep (time) in the future to keep it the way it looks now.

Another problem is.. Are those plants going to grow into big trees?

However... I love the little sitting areas all over this front yard.

The stairs scare me. No hand rails! Whaaaa?!!! 😱 If we buy this house we'll need to put hand rails up for sure.

After combing every inch of the font yard we finally made it to the gorgeous front door.

See how they screened the view of the backyard? It would be great if they just left it open so you could see the view from the front door.

The beautiful built in fireplace and the squishy lounge room.

That kitchen... See how far it extends out? Its beautiful though. I have always wanted an all white kitchen. I also just noticed the small glass table with 4 chairs. No comment...

The newly renovated bathroom.. Also all in white 💛

I don't know if you can see the big cupboard on the left hand side of the pic. It makes the bathroom feel very tight and squishy.

The tub is huge which is great, but the toilet is in there, which isn't and I really need that toilet out of the bathroom. It's pretty though isn't it?

This is a 3 bedroom house, with 3 ok size rooms. One of them was the master bedroom, the other was used as a clothes room (we have one of those) and this is, what I suspect, is the meditation room/office.

It is also the only bedroom looking out to the backyard and this mountain view. Instantly Hubby looked at it and said.. Well this will be the baby's room 💛 Of course. It's got the best view.

The view out the front windows aren't bad because of the pretty garden.

Nothing beats the view from the back though.

What is up with the steps in his house. They like mini steps, steps for babies. I feel like it puts me off balance every time I go on these steps.

It's either these or a long steep driveway if I want to go out and sit on my own rock looking out into the bush.

I've always wanted a place to sit in nature and meditate or maybe just sit out there and do my steemit posts. I just don't know how quiet it will be with all the dogs on the street, cos there are dogs, plural, not just the big dog next door.

I honestly used to be a huge dog lover until we moved to this house. Now when I hear a dog barking at an inspection I walk straight out. Which is what I did to this house when I heard next door's dog barking.

Despite of that, we keep going back to this house.

And why not. It actually is really nice.

I realise how very picky and spoiled I am sounding in these posts and I'm sorry.

I don't really have an excuse. I just think it's a big wad of cash that we're borrowing and we could be stuck with this choice for a long time. I don't want us to make the wrong one.

There were a few more people looking at this house over the weekend and seems there is another party that is quite interested, which means we may need to seriously consider putting in a higher offer.

That said.. We still had the property on one of my favourite streets in the Blue Mountains to go to. But (spoiler) it was a huge disappointment (will tell u guys all about it tomorrow in Part 02). AND I was told by one of the agents to try and hold off buying til Jan-March as that's when the Buyer's Market will be truly on.

I agree. I can see prices sliding already, especially up here. Last week Pee House decreased in price by 20k and Off Grid House decreased in price by 10k. I'm waiting for more houses to go down.

Now it's a matter of patience.

Do we wait til next year? I feel like perhaps next month will be enough of a wait for the prices to drop. But if it does drop further, we could MAYBE afford to move to our number #1 street choice.

I don't really know what to do right now.

Stay tuned for Part 02 tomorrow! I'll tell you guys all about that disappointment of a house. I'm calling it the Photoshop House lol.

💗Arly

Week 4: Part 2: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-hunt-week-4-rainy-days-and-saturdays-great-views-bad-renos-and-food-part-2
Week 4: Part 1: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-hunt-week-4-rainy-days-and-saturdays-great-views-bad-renos-and-food-part-1
Week 3: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-hunt-week-3
Week 2: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-house-hunting-begins


steemph-footer.png

Sort:  

OMG Arly - you are turning house hunting into a Steem producing venture. Very impressive! And this Knight isn't impressed easily.

Your mate...

SirKnight

MAAATE!!! I've missed the fuck out of you! Hope you're doing well.

Cheers. Who knows maybe a couple more months and I could add more money to the deposit ;) Gotta love Steemit!

And the team here at COMMUNITY NEWS have noticed a sorrowful disposition in our Senior Editor over recent weeks - suspect he missed you too. He appears to have been busy on some adventures of his own but he is very secretive about it all. SirKnight is certainly a 'Man of Mystery'.

Incidentally Arly - did you notice that nearly 13,000 new Steemit accounts have been set up over the past 3-4 days? This place is exploding.

Have a great day and good luck with your home hunting.

COMMUNITY NEWS

Awww that's so sad to hear @communitynews. Sk is well loved, maybe we should chuck him a good partay to cheer him up?

Man of Mystery! He truly is that. I wonder what this new adventure is! I am waiting to hear more!

No I didn't! That is amazing! If only the price of Steem will follow suit, I'll be a happy camper indeed!

Many thanks for the luck. I need every little bit!

xox

There is definitely something very special about this house that keeps you coming back so many times, including the view. Even with some work needed it really is a nice space. Sometimes the need to revisit a place because you can't get it out of your mind ends up being the place that you just need to be. Hate that the other one was such a disappointment though.

Ohh love I was hoping you'd weigh in. You always give me solid advice. Thank you. I'm really starting to like this house. Especially while writing the post and looking at the photos.

Thank you <3

Anytime darling :)

Hey Hun, the view is beautiful! You can always pull that silly screen out. I love the rock near the bushes, seems like the perfect place for contemplation and relaxation. If you keep being drawn back to this place there must be a reason!
Hope the universe sends you a definitive sign to help you choose!
Good luck!

P.S. loved the terrace garden as well.

Hey sweetie!

Thanks for weighing in!! I think I gotta really consider what yall are saying about going back to this house and check out how much sound proofing will cost 😁

I hope the universe sends a sign too 🙏🙏

That terrace garden was pretty wasnt it? ❤

so nice dear

Aargh house hunting, I still hate it and it's been a while ago since we last had to do it XD (I don't count the quick glance we had at a property recently as we were just seeing what we were getting in THAT area for THAT price and were only going to seriously consider the moving thing if the house blew us away which it didn't).

I love the codenames you have for these houses XD Hope you get something perfect soon :)

goatsig

I'm beginning to hate it too. The first couple of weeks was cool but now I just want to move and settle in our house lol this is where patience needs to kick in I suppose. 😁

What sort of house would make you do the move?

Hehe thanks 😁 Pee house sounds like the worst of them all. BadReno is plain unfair lol

Depends on how much in a hurry you are I guess XD I basically got kicked over the edge for our current house as partner realised it was a good time to buy. I was thoroughly not in the mood at the time and snarked at him constantly but did it anyway and found us this place so I think I did all right there. I have less stressors on me now than I did then so would be okay looking now.

Plus the big kids seem to like helping with that kind of thing, middle child especially liked perusing them with me when I was having my casual look and helping to sort out what we should definitely go look at versus what we should definitely ditch.

We're actually looking to build so an existing house would need to be pretty close to what we want with minimal mods. We were also looking at going rural but have since decided that we don't want to deal with the commute and also need a lot of reliable internet for the stuff we get up to, so have since been looking at not-quite-so-big-acreage that's a bit closer in, but with that comes price challenges XD We mostly didn't do the move as anything would have to be an upgrade and we decided maintaining our current mortgage would be safer/easier than dealing with a new and probably bigger one.

goatsig

Ahhh... Yeh the practical aspect of buying kicked in in the end 😊😊 We wanted to build as well, we even got to the point where we sat down with the builder and then he told us the cost of the retaining walls 😱😱😱 and that was that - he actually suggested we sell our land lol

Would totally love an acreage one of the houses had 1.8 acres ❤ Mostly unusable bush tho but still lol

Well depends on what you want to do with it XD I wouldn't mind unusable bush land so much (long as it's not kind of on top of the house because fire hazard) but the partner wants to have an orchard and grow veges and stuff :)

goatsig

Congratulations @bearone! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a great view! The whole process of buying a new house can be so stressful. Hope you can find a way to keep it fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51