YOU NEED TO GET OFF FACEBOOK - Who's the enemy, here?

in #real7 years ago (edited)

Screen shot 2017-10-31 at 18.22.44.png

I don't have 4,976 Facebook friends "in real life", I have about four. My true friends are here on Steemit, and I consider this a good thing. I have deleted my Facebonk account, I give an overview of why, and blog the benefits of creating such space, here if you're interested. There is one haunting video which comes to my mind immediately, called "YOU NEED TO GET OFF FACEBOOK" and this video went viral almost 10 years ago and clocked up over 10 millions of views, until it got deleted. Who knows why? Maybe Ross, the filmmaker hadn't expected to become world-wide-web-o-vision famous, and didn't want the attention. He might prefer being an anonymous traveling english teacher. Maybe Facecrack legal department squished his idealism of deactivating accounts, before it caught on.

Screen shot 2017-10-31 at 16.47.37.pngScreen shot 2017-10-31 at 17.00.04.pngScreen shot 2017-10-31 at 17.04.04.png

Fortunately, (thank-you-internet) someone downloaded and re-uploaded it, so we can still reap the rewards of these silent insights. The song is absolutely beautiful. The message is so special because there is no speaking. The creator makes his bold statements in a busy South Korea street with hand-written signs, in one shot, one take. Yet the guy is hilarious! It's the kind of funny that also brings a tear to my eye, however many times I watch it.

Screen shot 2017-10-31 at 17.09.25.png

There is something about our Steemit community which is incredibly loving and supportive. I found Facebook to be draining, and complaining. As if I owe them something or need to "convince" them of my point of view, just to be heard and get some thumbs up. "Likes" that have paid me.... nothing!

Screen shot 2017-10-31 at 17.13.59.png

So I invite you to invite your friends to Steemit. Thanks to people like @pharsim who I've voted as a witness, Inviting People is becoming more streamlined.
STEEMIT INVITE.png

And I dare you, no, I double dare you... go to Faceplonk, top right of the screen, settings, then Deactivate. Before you turn into a dribbling turbospaz. Do it just for the thrill of it. Do it just to see what it feels like to be clean for a week, or a month, or longer. Do it just to test your own fears. What are you afraid of? And do it because when everyone asks where you've gone, you can tell them...

LATERS.png

I challenge you to become a Steemit Evangelist who people are poking, seeking, asking, wondering, pondering, and questioning. It's much easier this way around. Curious cats will come to you, effortlessly, you wont have to "convince" them; banging your head against their Facebook wall. You wont have an account.

Screen shot 2017-10-31 at 17.32.15.png

So, without further-a-dooo.... Let's watch the video, and if you Like it, why not share this on Facebook for me, since I cant, because....

Screen shot 2017-10-31 at 17.06.26.png

I love you.

Sort:  

A good message, but then I don't want to let my 872 friends down and simply disappear. No really... I don't have nearly that many. The only friends I have on fb are those that I have actually met in person... for real, except for one, and I do like him so he stays. I have deleted many fb "friends" over the years because I agree with your message. The remaining friends I have are the real people in my life. They are my family and true friends. No wanabees. Facebook is how I stay connected living half-way around the world. My relationship with fb is love/hate, but until I find a better way to communicate and stay informed, it will have to do. Steemit is wonderful, but not fb... yet.

"The remaining friends I have are the real people in my life." -like we've never heard this one before! ;) All I hear if is fears and addictions in disguise again, cant you feel it in there. Afraid to "let them down". :) Bless. You never know till you try. What will happen if you try one month deactivated? Do you know?

Oh, no.... you've never tried. :P

It was a tongue-in-cheek comment. Ha. Real people are those that I know personally and choose to stay in contact with them... as opposed to people I have never met and, for all practical purposes, may not even exist! Facebook is MY personal phonebook so to speak and is how I keep up with my friends and family. No fears, no addictions. As far as experiencing any type of deactivation, I care not to. I can choose non-participation at any time of my choosing. To deactivate would be to become just another lonely mountain man in solitude.

You've never met me. I may not exist. Maybe you're addicted to reply-ing....................

Sweet post , enjoyed reading it . Unfortunatly my family is spread out around the globe so Facebook is main way for connecting otherwise agree Steemit has a warmer vibe to it, but most people just want to be lazy and post pics and not spend time writing ....anyway my 2c

It's not unfortunate, it's fear (speaking from experience). My friends and family are all over the plane. Do you have access to a telephone, whatapp, skype or email? I really do appreciate your vote$ and attention, my challenge is face our fears, to see what is beyond them.

For sure dude I appreciate your input just lazy im trying to change the world through finace ,decentralisation .... steem on dude

Im not sure we need to change the world, or save the world, it's alright
; )

Totally agree... the world is a big place and fb makes it much smaller to stay connected with those who mean so much to me. I reside and move around in the Western Pacific and until something better comes along, I will stay connected through fb. But Steemit will be my creative outlet.

Thanks for the comment dude , yea it was an age getting my mum on FB I cant even begin with other things let alone steemit

It's-not-a-Globe ;)

Okay, a sphere!

What is your most conclusive evidence it's a sphere? =)

flat-v-sphere.jpg

Mostly because you're a fool to believe in such idiocy. But in reality, I majored in atmospheric physics.

@minnowpondred has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post has received a 21.31 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @sebcamtv. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This post has received a 1.38 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @sebcamtv. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Already voted, & encourage others to do the same! Cheers @themarkymark

Heyyyyy, way cool to hear from ya Mark! I've been sharing the word about you/buildawhale etc, with all my Steemit crew! Thankful for your cool-ness!

I have family on Facebook, and the things I post there are really their only connection to me. Yet I doubt anyone would check up on me if I deleted it...aside from my mom maybe. I've been on it much less lately because of Steemit and no one bats an eye haha.

Perfect. It'll be easier to delete yourself then. Your first disciple will be your Mom joining Steemit. Just sayin'.......... Whatcha scared of?! :P

Ha, I could go missing on fb for a month before anyone realized it, but it still remains my first mode of contact friends across the globe.

Beautiful post!

Upvoted, resteemed and following you now - you have excellent content on your blog :D

Beeeautiful :) Im creating content Im feelin' in the moment. It's becoming easier the less distractions I have (no Twitter either, 50,000 people wondering where I've gone ;) Blogs with zero planning. My grand master plan, is not to plan ;)

Nice post I left about seven years ago. For lots of obvious reason but I watch a ted talk. A guy requested all the information Facebook had on him after a year (i think maybe less) They sent him 13 dvds worth of information. Everything I said don't even deleted. I din't want my information being freely available to the highest bidder !

Definitely a interesting message and I feel the guy is spot on. I know friends who have got depressed looking at other peoples lives, good share @sebcam

Knowledge is not the same as wisdom.
Wisdom, is DO-ing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58666.46
ETH 2281.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46