Youre fired

in #real6 years ago


source

About 10 years ago one of my best friends was working for the same company. i never hired him but my brother in law had. He was a great help as he had electronics expertise and could fix most things.He was a computer technician and we needed him for the motor control boards.

he had a few weaknesses like we all have and his one was he liked to talk. Once he started he wouldn't stop and it was just a bad habit.I moved him up to Johannesburg to help assist me as I saw it saving his job. He had become lazy and I heard via the grapevine his neck was on the block.

He fitted in fine learning what I did and followed me around. The problem is he didn't stop following me and didn't do much work either.He saw it as some sort of promotion and as much as I tried he just wouldn't lift a finger. I had a heart to heart with him and it didn't change a thing.

We decided to send him away for a couple of weeks leave hoping it would refresh him and give him some time to get his head together.On his first day back we were all watching and it was the same thing again. He achieved nothing and it went on for a few days and I couldn't take it anymore.

I took him out for coffee and cake and had a good chat.I asked him where he was in his head and what his thoughts were after his break. What he told me left me with no choice. he said that he had a good think on holiday and realized he had done the hard yards and now it was time to sit back and enjoy his position. I had little choice and fired him on the spot. He couldn't see I was doing all the work and over the 18 months had learned and done nothing.

I don't regret firing him,but I should have done it sooner. After that it became a joke that if you are invited for coffee and cake you are in trouble. It is weird though as the only other serious issues with staff members has happened over some food somewhere.I believed I could get their full attention without any interruptions away from the workplace.They would see the importance of this and it was more personal.

I know firing people is sometimes a necessity,but it is never easy. The only easy ones if they have been caught for theft or something.Thank god those days are in the past and the only person I can fire is myself now.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Yeah I havent had to fire anyone yet, but im sure I will have to sometime in the future. Ive read and listened to a few guides on starting your own business and almost all of them tell you to be slow to hire and quick to fire.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You can fire ur following bots..😎

Posted using Partiko Android

They follow me from time to time and then disappear. I am not complaining as they assist my growth.

Wow, that is tough. I don't know if I would have been able to do that if the person was a friend. Though I doubt I would have hired them in the first place. I know how tough it can be to work in the same place with someone that you are close with . Sounds like you made the best decision in the end.

Unfortunately I never hired him as I wouldn't have either. I wouldn't bring friends into the same business as it just would't work. He was lucky in the end as he was kind of protected and lasted a few more years than he should have.

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! I hate firing anyone, it's the worst but you gave that guy so many bloody chances that it had to be a big relief when he was gone. Did he ever understand why he was fired?

No I think he was shocked at the time. He phoned about two years afterwards to see if we wanted him back. He still doesn't see what he did wrong. We have gone our separate ways since which was probably best.

oh my gosh! lol. Yes that was best because apparently he had no clue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49