Printed books vs E-books: a losing battle?

in #reading8 years ago

GitHub Logo

[Picture source]

I am by no means a person who thinks that we all should return to our roots and forget everything that the age of innovations has to offer. I believe it is possible to both keep up-to-date with everything that’s new and not forget about who we are and where we came from. There’s always a possibility for compromise.

My e-book is one of my favorite things; I love it fondly. I can’t quite imagine my life without it now. It’s really convenient! It lets me carry tens of books around, wherever I go, and I don’t even want to think of what that would look like with actual printed books.

GitHub Logo

[Picture source]

At the same time, I seriously suspect that people are forgetting about the aesthetic aspect of reading, and that next generations may know nothing about it. And it’s not the contents of books I’m talking about now; I mean the very process of reading that engages all your senses and becomes an important part of the experience. Because apart from the words that form sentences that form chapters there is also a soft sound of rustling pages, a smell of paper and printing ink and the feeling of a book cover under your fingers. There is special history and energy about real books; something a great deal more than an e-book can offer.

So do printed books gradually turn into something rare and special, something intended for true esthetes and not for general public?

I wonder if in the future people will sigh over the aesthetics of e-books.

GitHub Logo

[Picture source]

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Sigh
I remember the day.
We used to sit around the old campfire.
And knap flint.
No one hardly does that any more.

I suppose not, but it's not impossible to do that again to bring all the old memories back, right? :)

where am I going to find flint?

Have no idea, I'm not even sure what it looks like, but I'm pretty sure you can still find it somewhere. :)

I think that paper books will slowly start to die.
Just like vinyls, tapes, CD's etc.

I think it's quite likely that they will turn into something like objects of luxury, for true esthetes.

I use my ebook at night to read bc I can read in the dark and then throw it to the end of the bed when I'm sleepy .....but I also love the feel and smell of a printed book.

Same here: I find e-books almost endlessly convenient to use, but there's still nothing like enjoying a printed book.


Hi @annielee, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads today and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Hi @shadowspub, and thank you for including my post in your list!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58