[Book Review] Raspberry Pi 3 Programming And Projects (My 2018 Goodreads #3)

in #read20186 years ago

Raspberry Pi 3 Programming And Projects is a short book that explains the device briefly, short but good read

GoodreadsChallengePIC3.jpg

Salam (Peace)

It's been a while since I posted about my progress in Goodread 2018 Challenge that's because I had a lot of things to do that I forgot to finish the books I started.

Now because of a recent project I'm creating, I had to read few books about programming and stmbled upon this book on the way, it's the first one I finish out of them, so here's my third #read2018 Book Review.

Raspberry Pi 3 Programming And Projects: From beginner to Expert

For those who are not familiar with the device, Raspberry Pi is a single board computer that could run various types of programs, it's comparably cheap and is usually used by hobbyists and teachers to program at low cost.

Raspberry Pi 3 Programming And Projects by Jim Bisworth won't make you an expert by itself, but it's a good introduction to Raspberry Pi. While all the information in it can be searched on the internet, the book still worth reading.

Review

"Raspberry Pi 3: Programming and Projects from Beginner to Expert" is well organized and easy to follow and has some historical information about Raspberry Pi and the software usually associated with it.

I discovered some things I didn't know about my Raspberry Pi like how to operate Bluetooth (If not for the book I wouldn't have bothered trying but it was easier than expected.) The book includes brief introduction to Python stating the reasons it's easier than other programming languages as well as how to setup your Raspberry Pi for the latest IDE versions of Python.

The book contains some simple Projects for Raspberry Pi like making the device a Media Center (using Kodi) or Retro Emulator (using Retropie,) but the project that took my interest is "Installing Doom" one of the oldest famous FPS games, this project explains how to installing SDL libraries for graphics and how to compile a game source code. Something Windows users like me rarely use (if ever.)

Overall the book is good read, too short and won't make you good user by itself but it uses it's limited topics in a good way, so if you're new to Raspberry Pi and don't want to read full fledged 200+ page book this one is for you.

-- My Review on Goodreads.com

I Recommend to Raspberry Pi Newbies

The book won't be a lot of use if you're already a full-fledged Raspberry Pi user, but as I stated in the review above it explains these basics in a detailed and easy way and I might return to it for reference, though I recommend reading another book if you're going full force in using the device as there's only the basic stuff in this book.

What do you think?

If you liked this review, have a suggestion (or if I have missed a point) please tell me in your comments.


Image used is public domain, the book cover is taken from goodreads and used for review purposes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74