Good Morning Steemit | Retrogaming x Retropie

in #untalented7 years ago

And Now I'm Playing Digimon World 3!!

Salam (Peace)

In my first #ahmadmangarpi post I talked about how I got a Raspberry Pi with my Steemit earning. And the challenges I faced trying to manage it.

IMG_20180105_113513z2.jpg
(Retropie, Digimon World 3 & My Trusty Xbox Controller)

I decided to try multiple Operating Systems before sticking to one of them. After succeeding in working raspbian I decided to try Retropie next... I'm already liking it so much but I'll probably try more systems before settling.

Problems I Encountered

One of the first thing I noticed is some noise in the audio... It doesn't matter what Speaker or Headphone I use. After a small google search it seems it's a built-in flaw of Raspberry Pi. And it's advised to use HDMI or USB audio instead.

Calibrating The Screen

Retropie is built on Raspbian so I knew that the 5 inch screen would work on it. But I was surprised when I found the screen displayed shows static on the right side of the screen. That's due to the wrong aspect ratio in the Pi's config file on the SD card.

IMG_20180105_142210x2.jpg
(Static!!... Static!! Everywhere!!)

I solved this with the help of Google Raspberry Pi's official Documentation. And as you can see in the cover picture the device works as a portable gaming system (without a case) right now.

# [Add in config.txt]:
# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=1
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_mode=2

If you have any thoughts, please let me know


This is the fourth day post in my #challenge30days. All images are taken by the worst photographer: "me."
Sort:  

Fantastic! I just got my Pi yesterday, and set it up with the case, then connected the HDMI cable to my tv, only to find out the HDMI port is bad on the television.

Did you have any trouble connecting your Xbox controller to the pi! I was thinking about just getting a couple of Bluetooth controllers for retropi.

Sadly I don't have HDMI display, I tried it on my friend's house and it worked very great on it but that was before I installed Retropie on the device. For now I'm stuck at the 5 inch screen. hopefully I get a better display in the future.

Did you have any trouble connecting your Xbox controller to the pi! I was thinking about just getting a couple of Bluetooth controllers for retropi.

You'll need to set the buttons, but you'll get the prompt for that automatically the first time you open Retropie (you better have Keyboard too the first time you open it). Other than that I didn't need any configuration.

I don't have Bluetooth controller so I don't know how to help you in this case.

I found some HDMI tablet like displays on amazing for what equates to not a lot of money, but definitely more than I have at this moment.

Thanks for the help friend!

Cool, fun project :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66670.04
ETH 3497.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71