Getting real tired of deaf culturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #rant6 years ago

Not that I'm involved in Deaf Culture myself, other deafs that I know are though, and it frustrates me to no end dealing with them, making me want to kinda just not anymore. Deal only with the hearing world.

These dickheads basically end up treating me like shit because I use hearing aids and working towards correcting my hearing even if that means getting cochlear implants. Treat me like I'm some sort of leper.

Like wow, sorry you fucking bitch. Must be fucking great to be born so god damn perfect. Must be nice to only be deaf rather than being deaf and blind. So excuse me ya vapid cunt!

My vision is only going to get worse. I said about 7 or 8 months ago (not even a year) that "I am going blind" well fast forward to today and I legally am blind. My vision is tanking so sorry but knowing only sign language isn't going to fucking help me any.

I'm like Helen Keller up in this bitch. What's worse is speaking of Helen Keller, these people do so love to mention her as an "inspiration". Well sorry but Helen Keller grew up in a time period were hearing aids nor cochlear implants were a thing but today we do. Even more so, very, VERY few people could communicate with her. Less than 1% of the deaf community know tactile signing. Sure I know it, but who the fuck am I going to use it with?

Trust me, if I could replace my eyes like I could potentially replace my hearing via an implant so that I can see functionally normal or better than 20/20, I would, but with my eyeglasses on, my vision is 20/100 which isn't quite blind but almost. Remove my glasses though? Boom, fucking blind.

"But you can still use regular signing though!" yeah right, with my glasses on I can't distinguish between M, N, T in ASL nor can I tell the difference between U, V, W, R. Fingerspelling is out the window so good luck introducing yourself.

Yes I can sign accordingly, but I'm at a stage in my life where signing back and forth no longer helps. Video games themselves are a huge cunt and a half to play, but I still play them because I enjoy them. I want to have some fun too.

But that is why I'm so sick and tired of Deaf Culture. They claim to be inclusive and all that jazz, but the instant they run into a deafblind, suddenly their entire "inclusive" is revealed for what it really is, exclusivity.

I'm not dealing with that. Fuck Deaf Culture. I'd much rather hear since I can't replace my eyes with better ones. At least not yet. Give me the technology to do it though and I'll volunteer in a heartbeat.

Sort:  

Congratulations @outtheshellvlog! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74