You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Armchair Economics of @randowhale

in #randowhale7 years ago

Hmm, Quite an analysis of how the Randowhale vote will affect us in future. I am a minnow, only 4 days old here and still trying to grasp all concepts. Your article provides an insight on the metrics of randowhale voting benefits.
Upvoted and followed you.

Since you understand so much about Steemit, I request you to take a look at one of my blogs about Personality traits of Steemians https://steemit.com/steemit/@vm2904/personality-traits-of-a-steemian and help me spread the message. I am looking to reach a wider audience and grow enough to start giving back. Thanks for your support

Regards,
A minnow
minnow.jpgsteemit.png

Sort:  

Thanks, I left you a comment.

Probably one of the most genuine post promos I've come across :)

Thanks - Here are my thoughts on the comment you left:
Oh - when you make a reference to George Orwell's Animal Farm, is it to the famous situation of 'All animals are equal but some are more equal than others'?
When monetisation is involved, is that situation not a given to some extent in every hierarchy or society?
Therefore, am I wrong in trying to focus on positives (even at surface level) so that I can continue towards the goal of growing enough to be able to give back?
Also - when we compare Steemit to all other social media - this group seems to have a lot less trolling, abuse and false behaviour. Therefore, though not perfect, it is worth our time in my personal opinion.

I already respect your opinion since you have demonstrated your deeper understanding of the ecosystem here. Therefore, what I have written above is sort of trying to reason aloud to get guidance from you rather than trying to argue with you.

There are immediate disincentives to trolling, it's not financially rewarded and people will be most likely downvoted until you can no longer see their posts. That's why there are so few trolls.

As for the allocation of the reward pool, of course groups will form and certain users will milk those rewards daily, or multiple times daily. If people can band into groups this will always be an issue.

It's certainly worth it to invest your time here, there are lots of layers though. Overall it's incredibly positive, with probably one of the best 'family like' groups on the internet I've ever come across. Maybe I'm a little too analytical but I think we always need to remain vigilant, certainly people have tried to take advantage of the generosity of people on this platform in the past.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50