When to use @randowhale and the implications of using it.

in #randowhale7 years ago (edited)

Before you flag me please understand I am trying to give a broad ended feel to what I think as my opinion is best for steemit. You can give me criticism about this all you want do not be shy! I am newer on here and I can see the joys of @randowhale and similar ideas first hand. I also see a dark side that does not get noticed on here.

Second of all Id like to thank the person who created @randowhale for providing me with some more steem you do not get enough thanks.

Here is a picture of the guy he is a badass for sure! everyone clap for him @randowhale

U5dsa1toFStYXM3ykAYEza3HYNu4YVi_1680x8400.png
Everyone on here knows of @randowhale. I use it for a majority of my posts that get a lot of attention. He She It ai whatever gives me the steem I need at crucial points when I do it. Sometimes posts that I will have 40.00 on will give me a whopping 20-30 bucks more. For only 2sbd too.

When to use randowhale

I see a trend with @randowhale where his votes are giving me less and less. I do not care about that really. That is partially to limit the times that people vote and voting power and the new HARD FORK! In order for you to have a great exchange for @randowhale you have to have more then 2sbd worth of votes. The more the better! I would say 10 dollars minimum for your post is a good number to start. Plus the more that @randowhale receives the more its vote will be worth!

That brings me to another thing about it is when you are starting from the bottom it is a risk like gambling to get a post higher and higher. When @randowhale appeared out of nowhere I'd get 20 bucks for a 0.00 cent post. Which would lead to people checking my information out because it is a 20 dollar post instead of a 0.00. I see new people on here and I think to myself they should not use @randowhale till a post is going to gain more than 2bds. So that way you have the chance to get your fair share. So the first couple of weeks you might not even see 10 bucks for a post. My fear is that @randowhale will need a higher and higher entry level to even use it in the first place. So you will see a bunch of people who keep on getting higher and higher using @randowhale while the new people come in and do not get a shot. If this gets crazier more and more people will be left behind and they will need to catch up by depending on people's votes when if you do this at the lowest level it is super hard to get those votes not everyone likes your stuff etc etc. On top of that the price of @randowhale might be upped even causing even more people being left behind.

The hardfork fixes things a bit and makes things harder as well. First of all the new people can only do a limited amount of votes for their level. If they stay on steemitchat and they target minnows, you will be stuck with a few bucks a post never getting higher and higher. Only after a long grind would you have a money and your votes would mean somthing. That also means @randowhale might mean nothing till the grind is over. You might be lucky and get a 5% vote but what are the odds of that?

Big Bad Problem 1.

Onto the next big bad thing. What If I talked about a idea where people just continually buy votes from different vendors. A vote here a vote there. It would make steemit a paid for website instead of you freely contributing what you want and different people interact with you and you get attention by having someone read your content. If anything this will lead to not one person being different from the next and all posts are meaningless because you will just get paid for paying a bot to upvote you. It also leads to people getting the same amount of pay all the time. It also kills the community basis for this website which is the main reason WHY people get money on here. The littlest of the little gets trickle down upvotes and the highest of the high might take advantage of this style of steemit and try to limit the people. Steemit needs individualized content to survive in the world. If this does happen I think this will be unsustainable in the long run and it would lead to great changes restoring the old way of doing things on the platform.

That being said this is all speculation in my brain and me looking at it from another point of view. Maybe I went to parrallel universe where STEEM existed but your votes do not mean anything and if you pay for votes you will get a expansive price to your content. This might not even happen. I want steemit to stay this way but it cannot stay like this forever. I like the mixture of community and bots that help you out. None of this might happen but this is just a warning to what can happen on here. I hope it don't Please I hope it dont . This community is great and I never want to see it end.


Credit of pictures goes to @randowhale s creator


You know what to do.


@sinned.jpg

Sort:  

This is definitely a concern. I think it stems from people worrying that people wont have enough time to curate their posts when there are less upvotes to go around. Reasonable.

The thing is, the more steempower gets spread out, and the more people get used to curating posts and using the system as it should, I can imagine a steemit where paid services are mainly used on other peoples posts.

Giving a gift of a whale vote is totally unexpected and always well received. :)

Thanks for your insights, @sinned

following

Thank you buddy.

Your Welcome ..

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $55.56 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 22 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

are you saying to use randowhale, but engagement is key to this platforms success?
its taking me a bit to work this all out.
thanks for that, very helpful.

I say randowhale is wonderful but I hope it does not turn into a platform where you have to buy your votes from every place. If that happens the content and quality will go down.

Upvoted! I stopped using it because it was not recharging and I was breaking even or losing money. It needs to be taken offline every so often to recharge.

As far as people buying votes I have no problem with that. Because I see a lot of people that get payouts that the content does not really deserve already, just be being popular. So allowing people to buy votes give other people a shot at making money as does promotion which seems to be getting less effective and more costly also.

I am saying if it is the whole website it will not be good for every post =(

Great post. I am using @randowhale in my best posts but I didn't consider to wait for a certain price. Thanks and followed!

Holy shit did you make that? Thats fucking awesome are you on discord at all? followed you back

And actually I don't use @randowhale. I am using the hashtag #whalepower. So I couldn't be more off. At least there was a whale in it. By the way, I teach memory techniques. LOL

Yes, I made that GIF today. I am on discord right now!

I also have this one:

I like that one add me @SinneD#1563

Just discovered this post, and I'll be following your advise. I'm new and trying to get my posts more attention, but really I should probably work to get them more attention naturally, then use Randowhale to slam my best posts.

Thanks!

I like randowhale service.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69