The Steemy Ramen Review! Vol. III: Echigohizoumen-Mujinzou

in #ramen7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3720.JPG
My son, sprinting to get some polyphenol-infused, "endless treasure noodles!"

The name is a delicious mouthful, just like the ramen served here.


越後秘蔵麺無尽蔵, (Echigohizoumen-Mujinzou) means literally: "Echigo Treasure Noodles: Endless Supply."

Fun, right?

Echigo is the former name of modern-day Niigata Prefecture, where I reside, and where this ramen shop's parent company, Kitakata, got its start back in 1980! More fun!

IMG_3721.JPG

This is a national chain ramen-ya (ramen shop) which is the first in Japan to infuse its men (noodles) with polyphenols from persimmons (note the picture of the persimmon on the front of the store). Unique, to say the least!

LET'S DIG IN!


Echigohizoumen-Mujinzou


Located at the foot of the Kushigata mountain range (Japan's smallest mountain range) in rural Tainai City, Niigata Prefecture, hitting this ramen shop is an out-of-the-way adventure worth taking for those who love nature and noodles.
IMG_3722.JPG
The staff is very friendly, the atmosphere inviting, and the noodles and soup, delicious. This time I opted for the deluxe pork shōyu (soy-sauce-based) ramen.

IMG_3726.JPG
Note the lovely presentation.

I especially love the boiled egg included in this tasty beast, which is cooked just right and flavored wonderfully after it soaks up the delicious broth a bit.

This ramen shop offers a choice of either thick or thin noodles (I like the thin style best) and also a choice between a lighter or more fatty broth. I view both of these options being present as an almost non-negotiable prereq to a great, chain-style ramen-ya.

IMG_3727.JPG

Portion size, flavor, etc.


The portion size here is almost perfect. Other joints give you such a heaping mass of hot noodles and bacon soup that one almost always leaves with a serious case of "ramen belly." Ramen belly is not fun. I left this shop, however, feeling satisfied, and yet still light enough and coherent enough to operate a motor vehicle without groaning under the weight of three thousand pounds of ingested pork and noodle soup.

IMG_3728.JPG
Isaiah, digging into his "kids' ramen set."


I ordered the more fatty and flavorful option where the broth is concerned, and it was pretty good. Tasty. Nicely flavored. It wasn't overpowering, though. I did wish for a little more of the dashi zip that I had experienced at Akashamoji, though.

The hosomen thin noodles were good, the Welsh onions were fuckin' dank, and the plentiful supply of crunchy-fresh nori (dried seaweed) was ever-welcome.

Another bonus is that this place is pretty kid/family friendly!
IMG_3725.JPG
Isaiah picking out a toy as a part of his okosama setto ("kids' set").

IMG_3724.JPG
Complimentary breeze provided by my company.

All in all, a good place. Downsides for me were the lack of a truly flavorful (I like really "punchy" soups, flavor-wise) broth, and a slightly chain-y feel to the motif and decor in the shop itself. The upsides were the friendly staff, beautiful presentation, and kids' options!


IMG_3729.JPG

FINAL RATING!


Atmosphere: 7/10


Broth "Dankness"/Flavor: 6/10


Noodles: 8/10


FINAL SCORE: 7/10 Ramens!

~*~

(Thanks for stopping by! If you missed the last installment of the Steemy Ramen Review, "Kissou," you can find it HERE!)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Looks delicious! I would love to try someday @kafkanarchy84

Those noodles look so delicious, it has been a while for me!!

Love that noodle very nice taste...i hv tasted 1 year ago...

Thank you for this wonderful review of this restaurant. The ramens make me feel so hungry and I can't wait to have ramen as my lunch later.

And I'll be going to Japan this coming week, can't wait to try their ramen there. Thanks for the recommendation again.

I will enjoy it very much and thank you for this ramen recommendation.

hahaha he is look cute and some naughty and enjoy with ur son @kafkanarchy sir

Thank you. Yes, he is a bit naughty ;). I love his punk rock attitude.

Wow....I think it is very tasty...
I really like noodles with chicken curry..and enjoy your life with your cute son...
@kafkanarchy84
What your loving son's name?..
Wel done..
Happy steeming...keep it up post..
Cheers! .

Thank you! His name is Isaiah.

Yummy yaar(friend,in Hindi India), your son is so cute. My kids also like noddles, but in India we have some more spicy foods. I learned something about Japanese festival such as Nuttery festivals of your Niggata city. You are enjoying greatly with your kids thanks you are a good father. I come to know much about you guys, previously I had some knowledge about Japan, your Islands, Handy, Hakaedo, seukue, Reukue, Fujiyama etc. Friend you didn't reply my comments, please I have a request, provide me your pic, so that I can show my people for my next program. Want to see you in my post too. Have a great day friend.

Thanks for the review!! A good ramen shop is hard to find here in the wilds of WV, USA, but I've been fortunate enough to visit a few in big cities here in the US.
ramen food-1216048_1920.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52