The Steemy Ramen Review! Vol. II: "Kissou," Higashi Ward, Niigata City, Japan.

in #ramen7 years ago (edited)

A tiny joint to be sure, but big, fatty ramen, and a unique dessert offering.

IMG_3206.JPG

I gotta be honest. This place is not my favorite, but it is unique, for a couple reasons. Let's dig in!


KISSOU


IMG_3216.JPG

"Kissou" (吉相) means "auspicious appearance, good or luck omen." First of all, I love the name. Jesus. That's great. Now, how about the ramen?

Well, as I said, the place is not my favorite, but there are a few unique points that stand out to me, the first being the mountainous negi (Welsh onion) in the negi ramen. Holy camoly.
IMG_3223.JPG
Now that is a mountain of shredded Welsh onions.


Like Akashamoji in the previous Steemy Ramen post, Kissou offers two selections when it comes to the fat and flavor content of the broth: Assari and Kotteri. Assari being the lighter, less fatty broth, and Kotteri being the dank shit for true maniacs. I say "maniac," because the Kotteri here really is something else. You can see the thousands of tiny globules of fat floating around in the broth. I opt for kotteri every time, but I gotta be honest: compared to Akashamoji, the broth flavor here is, well, sub-par.

IMG_3211.JPG
The Kissou menu. The darker colored side is the Kotteri option.


As I said, I order the shoyu (soy-sauce-based) broth, negi-ramen. I ordered the Kotteri version. It was okay, but I was a bit disappointed after last week's amazing experience at Akashamoji. Noodle size was also not really a strong point, in my opinion. Well, to my personal taste, I suppose. The noodles here at Kissou are supposed to be thin (how I like them), but the kotteri broth comes with slightly thicker noodles that did little more for me than make me feel bloated.


IMG_3221.JPG
Speaking of noodles, it took me about five hours to get to them. I had to dig through this pile of negi first.


IMG_3224.JPG
Miyuki partaking of some gyouza. She said the shells weren't fried with a crunch at all, so they were a bit "meh."

IMG_3228.JPG
The atmosphere is very basic. Mellowed colors, no radio (just the din of Japanese TV in the background), and some posters and such here and there.

Ice cream!!!


I mentioned there were a few special things about this place. They are:

  • The onion mountains on the ramen.
  • The super fat-laden broth
  • ICE CREAM!!!

IMG_3229.JPG
Everyone gets to help themselves to a free ice cream bar on the way out.

IMG_3231.JPG


Yes, the free ice cream treat at the end is pretty cool, indeed!


FINAL RATING!


Atmosphere - 5


Broth - 4.5


Noodles - 5


Onion Mountains Bonus - .2

Ice Cream Bonus - .2


FINAL SCORE: 5.2

"Meh," but fun "meh." :)


~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Oh, dude, I'm loving your Steemy Ramen reviews - an awesome idea to do this, and very fun...I gotta go eat something now:)

Looking forward to the next installment;)

Cheers, man. Much obliged.

You had me at free ice cream bar! xD

What an awesome post :D Loving the visuals!

Awesome stuff! What camera did you use?

Arigatou! Just an iPhone 7.

'Just' :D Are we hinting on an upgrade or is it just me? Haha

Awesome stuff!

Yummy, you made me hungry!

Ramen was my childhood comfort food growing up in Hawaii! Thanks for the post.

This food looks very good :) I must try this too :)

Bon Appetit.

oh mannn! im so jealous!
I have travelled to SO many countries but never yet Japan. It is actually my dream to one day go there and try a REAL authentic Ramen... oh im so craving some now!

Sometimes the eclectic places are the best!

What about the meat? I'm assuming you didn't order the vegan ramen, which of course you can find at any ramen shop in Japan /s.

I've never seen vegan ramen here. Really?

Sorry man, that was /sarcasm. No, I haven't seen much vegan anything in Japan. I imagine there's something in the big cities, but not here in Omi beef land.

Anyway, you mentioned the noodles and broth but not the meat, which is usually my favorite part unless the broth is really good. Love a good piece of chashu.

Ahahah. Was slow on the take. The meat was pretty good, and yeah, you're right, I kind of neglected to mention that!

Yeah, I should have learned my lesson about being sarcastic on the net by now. It's better suited to real life.

No no no. By all means. Keep it up! Need more of that, not less.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43