Curator Cat Says: One Random Act of Kindness Leads to Another!

in #rak6 years ago

So yesterday, I wrote about being the recipient of a totally unexpected delegation as a random act of kindness from a fellow Steemian-- which was amazing!

Much gratitude there!

Suddenly, I had eight times the voting power I was used to-- wow!

Cat
Looking forward to exciting times!

Shortly after having written about this amazing event, I came across a post by @toocurious about the Human Kindness Project and how this one nomadic family — currently traveling around Canada in a converted van — is trying to counter what we often hear of: "FUD" (Fear, Uncertainty, Doubt) with the tag #RAK for "Random Act of Kindness."

Sounds like a really great initiative to me! We need more kindness int he world.

Then something extraordinary happened!

No sooner had I started curating posts with my new delegation than I noticed another change: The often coveted "voting power slider" suddenly started working (on Steemit — I know it works at a lower level of VESTS on some of the other front ends), making my life a lot easier.

But why?

Cat
Yes, I'm sitting on the kitchen counter. Sort of. THE CAT DOES WHAT IT WANTS!

Turns out I was the fortunate recipient of another "Random Act of Kindness:" Another 50SP delegation from none other than @ocd founder @acidyo!

Wow!

I don't know if the two delegations were related, but that extra 50SP will enable me to spread my curation pawprints across a much wider network of content... so MUCH gratitude!

I will do my best to pay it forward and help highlight valuable content by promising newcomers.

I've only been part of the Steemit community for a little over 100 days, so these recognitions are quite an honor! I hope I can do them justice.

Everybody go have a beautiful day!

=^..^=

Sort:  

Congrats! How fun and great example of what makes Steemit different - in what other platform can you make this kind of practical positive impact on strangers? Awesome!

There does definitely seem to be a higher level of "paying it forward" here on Steemit... which stands in nice contrast to the endless bickering on so many other social platforms.

=^..^=

Happy curating, @curatorcat. I make it my duty every day to go out and upvote until I hit 80%, so that it can regenerate within 24 hours. Constant, if small support means a lot to many

That's pretty much my ambition, as well. That 20% is "free money" we get to give away every day... and NOT doing so I see as pretty much a waste. Sadly, it seems a lot of people just post their own stuff and that's about it...

All those little bits of support are what makes this interesting enough to pursue! And I appreciate yours, @nikv!

=^..^=

I take the same tack... upvoting to 75-80% every day I can 'cause it's "free money" to pass around the platform. There are so many little nuances to learn when first coming to Steemit.

It is always awesome to be spreading your votes and comments and great on you receivieng that delegation to make it happen!

So keep leaving your paw prints of kindness because with the low value of steem nowadays we all need it.

That is what I plan to do @maverickinvictus; spread it around as best I can. We all just need to help each other, as best we can.

=^..^=

No-one should be 50 short of 500, nice one @acidyo, and much deserved 😊

If anyone does happen to read this and is 50 odd away from 500 SP, I'll boost the first 2/3 that reply here 🌈 (Following a quick check on general engagement levels)

That was such a great little "extra something," because I was just a few whiskers short. Sure, I could have gone over and used Busy.org instead, but I really prefer working from here.

And thanks for your own generous offer @abh12345!

=^..^=

Congratulation on the RAK, and the initiative. It is indeed a happy day when you get the real slider it makes life so much easier, and you can reach out and touch more peoples lives. I know I really liked it when I got my slider.

It does definitely make it easier to spread the goodness, which can be difficult when you're still really small. And I feel a little "weird" about leaving comments on good posts without an upvote... so there's that.

Thanks, also, for the @dustsweeper top-up gift @bashadow! I appreciate that; it's a great service.

=^..^=

I have that same issue, when I found steemworld.org I thought that was great, I struggled to learn how to use the manual voter, and as soon as my vote value hit $0.020, I started using it. I was able to vote on more and more accounts, and leave comments, so I do understand that.

I looked at your comments and saw a lot of penny votes, then a very quick look at steemd, the first couple of pages and did not see dusty, so thought I would send a little your way, a start or a top up, did not matter, @dustsweeper is important not only for us, but for the voters who gave us the vote because now they get a curation reward, (at least I am pretty sure they do).

That's one of the things I really like about "Dusty;" it's a win-win; the bot itself isn't a money maker — you get back what you pay — but you get all those pennies and half cents that would otherwise be lost. AND, as you say, the people who gave those upvotes get their 0.002 curation reward... if you're pretty active, that starts adding up in a hurry!

Congratulations @curatorcat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thats great ... its good to see that their are members here giving back and trying to encourage account growth.

I feel it's pretty important. And all those of us with small accounts should also be using @dustsweeper so we don't leave a bunch of pennies lying around and going to waste.

=^..^=

Agreed on both accounts.

That’s awesome!! Congrats!!!

Thank you! I'm pretty excited about it!

=^..^=

Wow congratulations- how wonderful to receive these two acts that'll enable you to have so much fun in curating! Youre right, kindness is so important and i think random acts can make a changing point in some recipients lives- no matter how small the act. Have a wonderful day. So happy to meet you! E x

Thanks for visiting @eveningart! Kindness is very important... as a small black cat, it was the kindness of my humans (who were NOT looking for a cat at the time!) that got me into a loving home!

=^..^=

Aw how lovely! A loving home has to be the kindest thing any of us can offer E x

Thanks for sharing your RAK, I hope there are many more to come. And that you can pass your RAK on to someone else. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82