I am currently watching videos of heroic black people... heroic human beings... forget the word black

in #racism8 years ago (edited)


Bravery is facing something scary and doing it anyway. Courage is speaking the truth even when you know it is uncomfortable and you might be attacked for speaking it. There are a lot of fellow human beings out there that have black skin, brown skin, and white skin. They were born that way. Just like me. Just like you. They are taking the time to THINK rather than letting the mainstream media force feed them hate and division.

I wanted to make a post to share some of these amazing people with you. I subscribed to them ALL on youtube, and I will watch what they have to say. I am a human. I wrote a post about my views on racism two days ago. If you wish to challenge me on racism at all please look at that post first.

I say this because, my goal here is to show people I think are being courageous for going against the engineered status quo.

Marc Lamont Hill Calls Black Celebrities Who Met With Trump "Mediocre Negroes" (REACTION)


I'm A Mediocre Negro

The Hypocrisy of The Marches/Protest This Weekend

Black Man Embarasses Anti Trump Protestors & Feminist At The Womens March! - Excellent "Big Joe" video.

Brunell Donald-Kyei DESTROYS CNN and Hillary Supporter "Trump Will Fix the Inner Cities"

Triggered Liberal Hillary Supporter Erupts Talking Points All Over Black Barista Girl (REACTION)

Liberals Bully Singer Jennifer Holliday Into Canceling Inauguration Performance (REACTION)

Edit:


I wanted to edit this post to add a Morgan Freeman video (very short) that I believe says everything.


Steem On!




Sort:  

Ever heard of Eric July? (I did while listening at an episode of Anarchast which is a great podcast hosted by Steemit public enemy #1, TDV, and because I was willing to see the forest behind the Shemitah tree)


Here he is talking about the censorship he experienced on Facebook.

Facebook Unpublished 'Being Libertarian' and 'Occupy Democrats Logic'


And the video for Statism, performing as the singer for BackWordz.

BackWordz- Statism (Ft. Craig Mabbitt of Escape The Fate)

Yeah isn't Eric July actually a steemit.com member as well? I think he came to steemit.com at least for awhile when TDV came here.

I am not a TDV basher, so no worries there.

Didn't know Eric July had created a Steemit account. I don't know him personally, but if I knew he had subscribed I would have followed for sure. Since I've not noticed him, he must not be much active here, I would guess.

TDV is one of the two person who made me aware of the existence of Steemit, the other one is Josh Sigurdson who, of course, is also on the network.

I am pretty sure Eric is on here, but I cannot remember what his handle is. Someone pointed him out to me, and no he wasn't very active. A lot of the people that came with TDV were active for a bit with the payout was higher, and most of them seemed to have stopped really doing much when the value decreased.

You know, I wish more people would forget that petty differences exist. Hardly anyone knows what I am about to say and I hope anyone that reads this understands the sincerity of this story.
I was raised in the south in a family of "good old boys" that were racist as humanly possible. I grew up not even understanding that it was wrong to use racial slurs, blame all of the economic and political problems on black people, and to blatantly and openly insult them in public. Okay so it's probably at this point that your thinking, well at least he knows he is a piece of shit. In all actuality, I know that I am not and here is why:
Yes all of my examples growing up we're horrible in regards to race, but when I became a teenager and actually got to meet people different than myself and my family, I realized how completely ignorant the stereotypes and hatred really were. My mother actually worked in a small business owned by a black man and she was the sole employee. I used to go to work with her and, although I have had to live through some horribly embarrassing situations due to my own ignorance or that of a sibling, I want you to know that I think of that man as a role model and a father figure. He did more to teach me right from wrong than my own father. When I went on a 7+ year coke and opiate bender and my father, who still to this day can't look at with me without disgust, decided to kick me out, guess who was there for moral support and to help guide my actions. Some random black guy that only knew me because my mom was his secretary. Color , nationality, and even religion don't dictate a persons' life choices and who they decide to be. I spend the majority of my time working in a non profit community hospital, and I promise I could be making more money trading crypto or posting on steemit, but you know it wouldn't be as fulfilling as making a difference and helping other people that either can't help themselves or don't have the resources to do so on their own. So the random black guy that knew me from birth and showed me that there was more to people than what you see on the outside is pretty much the only father figure I will ever know. I saw him last week actually, he is in his 80's now and probably not going to be around much longer, and I only hope he knows what a difference he made in the life of one ignorant little redneck child.
On a side note, all of this is actually why I take issue with BLM. As someone who has now been in the middle of two of the "protest" looking like a ghost in the night I stood out so bad, I probably know more black people than anything else to be honest, it's time to assess that the actual BLM movement is not what it was meant to be. How many videos of "beat his ass because he's white" or videos inciting violence against police do you need to see to know it isn't right? I have marched with plenty of my black friends through the south, just like I have with my LGBT friends, and I promise that violence will not fix this problem. MLK is probably my favorite civil rights leader and this quote should say it all: "Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that." I hope one day we can all get past this separatist bullshit agenda and just fucking live and let live.

(Sorry for hijacking and jumping on a soapbox)

More or less I agree with you. I encountered some of the same things, but I was removed from a lot of that geographical environment earlier in my life. I never escaped bigotry though. Perhaps that tuned me into it more... I was a long hair heavy metal enthusiast in an area mostly dominated by cowboys and ranchers. It was also during the time Geraldo Rivera was warning of satanism.

I'd walk past a catholic priest on a side walk and he'd turn his head up and away from me.

I'd get written up for looking suspicious due to walking around down town...

(these things all happened)

I was written up in some newspapers as being Satanic though no one ever interviewed me to ask me. I wasn't even close to such a thing.

I was called a druggy when I'd spent a single month when I was 16 where I smoked pot, drank alcohol, etc.

After that month I never did ANY of those things. I was not against them, it was my personal choice. That was 30 years ago and I still have done none of those things.

However, I'd get stereotyped and encounter drunk cowboys who wanted to pick fights, etc.

Bigotry appears ALL over the place...

Racism is just one of the most pervasive and obvious ones that divide us, because you can't simply stop being black, white, brown, etc. I could have stopped listening to metal, and dressed differently.

Yet I was also rebelling against the concept that I even should have to do anything like that.

Oh god the memories of my punk/rock ass in high school. After Columbine, I got searched for weapons and hit list and even got a suspension because my ball bearing necklace was clearly a weapon. I can laugh about it now, but I feel ya on that shit. People love to hate something or someone different. It's funny the white teachers and principals we're more afraid of anyone looking remotely alt or goth than any of the Hispanic or black kids that we went to school with.

If you were to follow the link to my post on racism... that was in this post. You will see in the comments that I too shared that exact same quote two days ago.

It is a pretty amazing one...

As far as my personal exposure to racism... I also linked to an older post in that which I wrote when someone asked me if I had ever encountered racism.

Ya, I'm totally agreeing with you. I just wish the world would get it together. I can also tell you that at least half of my employees (well all of them are black or mixed) but half of them actually came to me scared when police were getting shot and riots were breaking out in the city. They were scared to get caught up in the middle of it and didn't agree with violence to answer violence.

I don't know who exactly Marc Lamont Hill is, but I feel it was disrespectful of him to use the label ''mediocre negro'' when talking about Steve Harvey who, in my opinion, is a very wise and inspirational man.

Steve Harvey - You Have to Jump

Oh it definitely was... that is why the other people I linked were speaking up.

The guy in the car reminds me of myself when going on a rant alone in my room about how I see the world going upside down. Maybe I should also use a camera & share it with others, in order to turn it into collective constructive critic and for it to be less of a sole exercice in rhetoric. Plus, talking to a cam instead of only to myself would surely make me sound less crazy. ;-P

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51