A Dream came true

in #racing6 years ago

I drove a Formula 4 Car!

Weight: 570 kg
Capacity: 1.400 ccm

Power (kw/ps): 154/210
0-100: 3,7 sec
Max speed: 240 km/h

39213572_2240407965972581_2483823237029429248_n.jpg

At the Red Bull Ring in Austria it is possible for everyone to rent a Formula 4 vehicle and race a few laps on the (Half) Formula 1/ Moto Gp circuit

Unfortunately, that's a bit expensive, so I never granted in this pleasure myself

But! Last year, on my 30th birthday, my wife assembled the whole family and convinced them that this experience will be the perfect present for my round anniversary
Everyone agreed and gave me the best gift I ever received

There were several packages to choose from and my family managed to give me the silver package for 10 rounds at the Redbull Ring.
I was really happy, I did not expect anything like that.

When I wanted to book an appointment for this experience, I've seen that the surcharge for the large package (20 rounds, onboard video) was in my Buget, I decided to pay even on it myself

But my friends decided to give the upgrade as my birthday present from them.
How cool was that? I Love them all

So Let the race begin, almost.....

My first appointment was in the fall last year.

Unfortunately, we caught a rainy day. Thus, driving with these cars was out of the question.

After being told in the drivers briefing that it would be impossible to drive as an amateur with a formula car because of the weather, we were offered as compensation by the team to heat a few laps in a Nissan 370Z over the circuit
Incredibly cool! The Spielberg team would not have had to do that because nobody can influence the weather. That was extremely nice of them.
So we got into the Nissan and did a few lead and follow laps behind the instructor.

Lead and Follow ?? Sounds boring! But it was absolutely not.
For me, who has never ridden in real life on the circuit, with a unknown car in which I have never sat, on wet roads, ..... People believe me that was really really cool. Thanks for that again

#############################################################

RACEDAY!!

After the small disappointment due to the weather last year, it finally happened on the 8th of July.
Wonderful sunshine and we went back to Spielberg.

39213566_2240479139298797_1433473823558074368_o.jpg

My wife, my son, my brother and a friend with wife and child go with me this time.

After the whole paperwork, I have to go back to the drivers' meeting.
There we were explained in detail the cars and the track.

After the theory lesson in front of the screen, we went into the pits and were explained there again the cars.
I was really excited. You do not do that every day.

#######################################################

After we got our equipment, we finally got on the track.
After a few laps behind the safety car, we got the go to play around by our own.
MADNESS!
The cars have "only" 200 hp, but the feeling of sitting in a formula vehicle is nothing you can compare with.
The Sound, the View, the acceleration, the grip in the corners..... Fuck, that was amazing.

The hardest part for me was to use the car for which it was built for
I always braked way too early and way too gentle.
The brake pedal is not comparable to that in a normal road car. Almost no movement in the pedal and hard as a rock. You have to get used to that, as 30 minutes are not enough.

Nevertheless, I almost got my target time of under a minute
Next time i will beat that

#############################################################

Thanks to all who made it possible for me.

Claudia, Mum, Dad, Manuel, Michelle , Grandpa, Grandma ,Felix, Gabi, Thomas, Christine, Rathi, Sandra, Kathi, Jürgen, Patrick, Christoph,
Thank u guys, i love you . I hope I have not forgotten anyone here

#############################################################
Here is the onboard of my fastest Lap, including a little Spin at the end :D

Sort:  

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Congratulations @lion87! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lion87! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lion87! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50