Fingers Crossed - Qurator2018 Membership Contest Entry

in #qurator20186 years ago (edited)

Something to Offer and Something to Gain

I like to believe that I have a lot to offer here on Steemit. My interests, talents and experiences are many and diverse, and I love to share my thoughts, ideas and projects. Until I stumbled upon Steemit, I had no idea there were so many people out there who shared my points of view, my hobbies and my goals.

In my real life, although I love their company, I don’t have a whole lot in common with many of my friends and family. I visit with them about many things, but the things I’m really interested in, the things I’m really excited about, I share with Adam, my husband, or I contemplate alone.

Being excited about something is so much more fun when there’s someone to share that excitement with!
I’ve experienced and observed many benifits from Steemit, but three really stand out.

  • I share what I’m excited about, and I get excited feedback.
  • I have the opportunity to offer excitement for what others share.
  • There is a treasure trove of information and advise offered and received on Steemit.

The only factors that limit my opportunity to share experiences and excitement, mine and that of others, are the number of eyes reading my posts and the number of posts I read. How many posts I read is, to a point, up to me. The number of eyes reading mine isn’t so much within my control.

Seeking More

I’ve sought out and followed advise from more experienced and successful Steemians. I’ve worked hard to create quality posts. I have taken advantage of an opportunity to be mentored by someone I believe is knowledgeable and accomplished.

I’ve now been presented with the possibility of winning a membership into The Qurator. With, at the time of this post, 1,983 followers, when I am curated in the Daily Qurator my posts will have the potential to reach almost 2,000 Steemians. Even more exposure is possible through resteems and participation in the Tasty Tuesday and Photo Friday competitions. With my number of views rising, the probability of increasing reputation and upvotes also rises.

As my reputation increases and my wallet value rises, I can spend more time creating content and interacting with other creators. But I’m counting on one more benefit from my increases; I’m hoping that as those numbers go up, so will my credibility with friends and family when I tell them about Steemit and urge them to join. I believe in this platform and I want to share it with my loved ones, but before they’ll buy in, they’re going to have to be convinced that it’s not “too good to be true.” I believe that my success will be the evidence that does the convincing.

Thankful For Opportunities

I don’t believe in coincidence. I believe that we are presented with opportunities at the proper times. But opportunities are worthless unless we take advantage of them. If you’re a homesteader or gardener, and would like to take advantage of this opportunity, consider entering this contest.

If you’re interested in winning a Qurator membership, visit @goldendawn’s post here.

Sort:  

Love your something to offer and something to gain section!!
Very well explained. You spoke from the heart!

Thanks, @goldendawne! And thanks for running the contest, and for everything you do for the newcomers to Steemit! Have a great weekend!

good luck, and i love (and share) your excitement here! :D

You’re excitement for servant-leadership is inspiring! I hope to learn more about it in your future posts.

oh shucks, thank you! i will make it a point to share more of what i've learned.

Excellent! Looking forward to it!

Excellent entry! I hope we both make it :)

Me too! It is a lifelong dream, after all! lol

No Way! Yours too!?! ;)

I think you have TONS to offer and I think the gains for you are just around the corner. It is slow going getting started, but it seems like there is a tipping point where things start moving faster, then another tipping point and they move even faster.

I've only been active since August of last year. Not that much longer than you. Just this week my main account hit 500 Steem Power and I started my own community. I am not rolling in SBD, but I had enough extra SBD in my main account to give this new account a little shot in the arm to help it get started.

I just received your request to join Sotall. Then I popped over to get the URL to connect to and saw this post. You have multiple specialties, you are just thinking about them wrong. In communities like this, a specialty is not necessarily something you have a degree in, or the one thing you do better than anyone else in the world. A specialty is the things you love, the things you get excited about, they things you would gladly teach to others so they can love them too. You have a lot of specialties and each and every one of them can be material for you to add to the constantly growing stream of knowledge in your own unique way.

First of all, thank you! There’s a whole lotta compliment in those paragraphs. :) I certainly do love the things I do, and I’m more than happy to share what I know with anyone willing to listen.

I don’t really feel like it’s too slow going. When I decided I wanted to give blogging a try, my only real intentions were to make something like a journal that I could look back on, and maybe make a couple connections along the way. The connections here come fast. There are several people I watch for particularly in my feed, and there are people that I’ve come to expect to show up regularly in replies under my posts. So, I’ve already began to accomplish what I originally set out to do.

I had no expectation to make any money blogging. So, that came as a surprise bonus. I really wasn’t even sure any of this had any real monetary value. I thought it was maybe some sort of point system. Now that I’m understanding it more, I would like to take advantage of it the best I can. But no matter how quickly or slowly the Steem builds up, I have a hard time feeling disappointed in something I didn’t expect in the first place!

Thank you so much for your kind words. Happy Monday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62574.15
ETH 3443.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51