Why Has @crowdfundedwhale Stopped Voting & Why Is It Powering Down?

in #question5 years ago (edited)

I was checking out some posts offline and some resteems reminded me of @crowdfundedwhale.

I'm calling all the Steemians who invested some Steems on that bot. Did you notice that the bot hasn't voted for a long time? It stopped posting updates 11 months ago as you can see on it's page @crowdfundedwhale.

At the moment I am typing this, the bot has 3,218.985 liquid Steem, $0.053 SBD and 10,733.188 STEEM and is powering down - check its wallet . If it has already been sent to the exchange site then I might as well post a screenshot of it which I took earlier.

Was there any announcement from the bot owner @cryptos about what's going to happen to the bot or at least an explanation on why it has stopped voting nor why it is powering down?

Did you chip in some Steem on that bot? Then, you, too has the right to know so resteem my post if you, too would like to know about it.

EDIT: I stand corrected it was @cryptos project not @cryptoctopus (I've asked around) sorry for the confusion. I noticed the bot's owner's name on the last post announcement too late.

Sort:  

Hiya....@englishtchrivy.

Thank you for writing about this project.

I think it was @germansailor who was inquiring about the @crowdfundedwhale a while ago......I do not know if he received any answers either.

Here's hoping someone steps up to plate.

A bientot mon ami

apparently he wasn't the only one
and the account seem to be no longer writing replies
the weird thing is its still curating and getting curation rewards
and I just found out about that last night too

It's been a while since I got an upvote from @crowdfundedwhale

I've invested Steem and am not happy to hear that it's a powering down.

I know that we have no guarantee of what we have paid in Steem to @crowdfundedwhale but @cryptos should be able to provide feedback to us who have invested with Steem or SBD

He has our username and could also send a message to us via our wallet on what's happening

It seems that he was annoyed over some nasty comments
and I understand that he's human, too and he has feelings
but it's not an acceptable excuse to lend us common courtesy
that he's shutting it down without notification
it would be kind enough of him to at least return the funds

Yes, hope he gives a feedback and that he returns the funds to us.

Hehe, you're not sleeping yet @englishtchrivy

I always sleep late on Friday I mean Sat at dawn :D

I wrote this in the hope that he doesn't ruin himself for a small amount of money
Having seen his face on a post before really makes me think that
what he's doing now is just out of that but who knows
he may look far too kind to be able to just unethically ditch us all
but as the saying goes -we should never judge the book by its cover

Thanks for asking. I am not sure in this too. I's been so long.

we should
if we just mum
this would happen again

I just did a search and seems I'm in on this one. Found our usernames in the post:
https://steemit.com/crowdfundedwhale/@crowdfundedwhale/crowdfunded-whale-status-update-after-363-days-since-the-start-of-the-project
And it seems someone knows something.

but surely @crowdfundedwhale / @cryptos is not @blocktrades

cause look at his comment on this post

they don't look the same either
you can see @crowdfundedwhale / @cryptos' face in this post he's the taller guy with eyeglasses on a gray shirt standing next to ottodv who's wearing the blue Steemit scarf that night, (photo is third to the last)
looks so behaved huh

its just possible that he negotiated about the btc with blocktrades

who knows but if the last comment darthnava sent is correct then it's a scam cause its strike 3

I'm referring to to mejes seems to know something with the message sent.

hmmm you have a point

perhaps we should ask @majes how did he know that @crowdfundedwhale is moving on?

Thanks a lot for posting about this betrayal of trust, @englishtchrivy. You should put the #steemit tag in this one to make it more known. I am resteeming this post to make it more exposed to others.

We should have gotten back individually the Steem we invested in if that @crowdfundedwhale is shutting down. It was supposed to grow as "our voting whale". Heck, it got to 15000 SP before it powered down last time I remembered it stopped upvoting me!

#steemit used

then our hunches may be right
cause that's already strike 3

strike 1 he stopped upvoting without further notice
strike 2 apparently, according to this post he stopping upvoting his funders but was still getting curation rewards so that means he was upvoting others instead
that spells "hidden agenda"
strike 3 he used the SBD instead of converting it to SP to grow that account into a whale
and now 2,000 SBD has actually been harvested

I don't know what to think anymore

Woah, I just noticed this! I invested 100 steem smh 🙈 is there a way to get our investment back?!

Posted using Partiko iOS

ask him
am asking the same question
though he owns the bot @cryptos should still at least inform us on whats going to happen to it

Looks like @cryptos hasn't been online for a while smh! There is probably no way to get out steem back unfortunately.

I am not sure of that
perhaps we could ask for help

If you think there is a way then I'm behind you. I'll make a post about it tomorrow

unfortunately it seems that there's nothing much that we could do but kiss it goodbye

am hoping he is just powering down and wait till he completes a certain amount and return the funds

I figured as much 😞 thank you so much for fighting for us tho! Karma has a funny way of working itself out

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @englishtchrivy, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @cryptooctopus doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @cryptoctopus ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Sorry about that, Invest in @askanything instead !

Very disappointing that he would take the money and run. I guess it takes time, effort and money to set up a vote bot but still to power down and do a runner without notifying or posting is not cool.

I guess it takes time, effort and money

No, not really. Hell one could just use steemauto to do everything that 'crowdfundedwhale' did.

Well, to be fair, steemauto didn't exist when he set it up. I'm not even sure if steemvoter existed yet at the time. Also, it was doing a daily post for a long time, which is not something you can do through steemauto (AFAIK). So it required some effort, but still not especially difficult for someone with a technical background. And assuming he was running it on his own equipment, the cost is basically zero.

Steemvoter existed long before crowdfundedwhale.

The automated comment isn't possible with steemauto, you are correct.

Yeah the automated comment thing required a few hours of effort.

@justtryme90 exactly, it's all just turn on and turn back on when the HF happens
at least from what I was told
it's not hard
and posting for update wasnt either cause he just needed to use the old format
copy and paste a new name if someone adds more

@stephen-somers
I feel the same
I find it unethical
It wasn't just his work you know
without the funds it was just a bot
without the upvotes of the funders it wouldn't have grown into a dolphin

I'm disappointed cause when he needed help to grow this bot he could post
now that it's grown he didn't even bother to post about what he's going to do with it
worse part - with the actions that he's doing now
I doubt he was planning to give us back what we each chipped in
not knowing how much would be a pathetic excuse
cause everything is in the blockchain

am still giving him a benefit of the doubt
after all he was in Steem Fest 1

No, I haven’t noticed that!! Thank you for sharing, @englishtchrivy! I invested in that project and I believe I was still receiving the upvotes from the bot.

Well, it’s a pity!..

I wonder whether how much you've contributed could actually pay your SF 2 ticket or at least half of it
I hope his conscience doesn't make him sleep
if he has any

Well, I only paid 1 STEEM and I got it back many times over in terms of upvotes. But if we measure in each member’s fair share of the account – then yes, it would be more significant than that.

So so disappointing, if only we could have delegated back then. If only some people weren't lying thieving cheating bastards.

very disappointing
he was on Steemfest 1 did you not meet him?

that's what I also told my husband I could have just delegated that and get ROI
and still got my Steem back
but it's not about just the money
It's about trust and courtesy
and respect!
I'm never crowdfunding anymore ever again
and people shouldn't be surprised if the many of us step on the breaks on doing something like this again
no smart contract no deal

I'm never going it either. I have lost count of the amount of scams and thievery I have seen on steemit. They all promise honesty and in the end they steal like dishonest dirty fuckers

I just found out about this. That SP should have been divided and sent to each member of this 'project'. Fucking people...

Actually I think I might have jumped the gun. I have a vague memory of receiving some steem a while ago. But I forgot all about it. The profits would have been divvied up too though so yeah, fucking people!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94