You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Steemit When The Time Comes and You Implement That "Building Communities" Plan, Please Don't Forget Us Pikachus ...

in #question7 years ago

Don't think of it as being trapped in a Pokeball, think of communities more like Pokémon gyms! You can go there freely and interact with like minded individuals in certain subjects & areas, but you're still free to wander the entire world!

Sort:  

@bryan-imhoff thank you for reading.
May I ask about how did you know about how its going to be? Cause I read sneak's comments on that post and he wrote there has been no plans yet - no details

My concern is - if a community could go set the community as private - I think I'd feel a bit awkward and unwelcome in that case. I like it as it is now - we could just go mingle with everyone as open as this - virtually but very very transparent.

I certainly don't have any inside knowledge of how communities will be set up. I guess I just have faith that it will be properly implemented and simply help users find and engage with the people and subjects they are most interested in.
The structure of the blockchain leads me to believe that truly private communities would be difficult. As is, anyone can view any post they like, even the history of any edits that have been made, as long as they are using the right tools. Communities may gain tools to make themselves less visible, akin to choices on Facebook where you can choose to have just friends or anyone in the public view your posts. However these tools would most likely be on the website level, and not all sites will handle it the same. If a community can only hide itself on Steemit.com but not on busy.org or the eSteem app, closed communities will never work.
I strongly believe communities will be a helpful organizational device, and not a hindrance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44