My Furchildren's diet, supplement, maintenance, considerations and warnings etc.

in #puppy7 years ago (edited)
Disclaimer: I don't regard myself an expert but rather an experienced handler. My advocacy is to share and promote responsible pet ownership. People who are unprepared for the responsibilities ends up abandoning their pets (be it cats nor dogs) and that is, to be honest, a lame excuse. I want everyone to know that apart from expenses and obligations, fur-parenthood is an accomplishment and that all living things deserved to be happy.


Puppies, Feuer and Phoebe's Diet



Orijen Puppy large

Its about $60. Affordability and quality wise.
Orijen boosts Feuer and Phoebe's weight. Even though they are picky-eaters at times, they won't get sick nor thin. It also didn't give any allergic reactions to my dogs. I love it cause my dogs' poop do not smell bad. I gave them a cup of Orijen every 8 hours. Also, it is the best dogfood in 2014. A bit pricey compare to other dog food which is way cheaper that is why I changed to Royal Canin after they turned 1 year old.




Royal Canin Maxi Adult


After the switched, I did not noticed any difference. They don't smell bad, they maintained their weight and they aren't that picky anymore. I sometimes put warm milk with this as treat so they would eat a lot. The quality is the same with Orijen and it costs about $50.


Supplements


Nutriplus Gel

I so love this. Tried and tested appetite booster! I gave puppies a pinky-sized amount before meals and thumb-sized amount for their parents. I started giving Nutriplus Gel on their 6th week.


In Diet


I started giving these kibbles to the puppies once they reached 10 weeks. These will make their fur shiny and tangle free. I gave 1 kibble every morning after eating. Its about $10 for this size.


Maintenance

First row : (from upper left to right) Bravecto, Fur Sprays with tick/flea repellant and St. Roche Shampoo
Second Row : (from lower left to right) St. Roche Conditioner, Toothpaste and Toothbrush and fur brushes

Bravecto

I gave Bravecto every 2 months since it really helps my dogs tick-and-flea free. About $20.

Fur Sprays
This is optional because I don't usually walk my dogs out since distemper and parvo virus became endemic.
It would make a good tick and flea repellant for about 2 hours.
Cost per bottle about $5.

St. Roche Shampoo and Conditioner
I love St. Roche! It is organic and locally made. I love the smell and also the scent stick on their skin.
I gave my dogs a bath every 4 day or at least 2 a week.
About $10 per bottle or 500ml.

Tooth Gel and toothbrush
It is best to brush their teeth during bath time :)
I brush their teeth and fangs (haha) every 4 days, too.

Fur Brush
Pin brush, Rig Brush and slicker brush.
I really recommend these 3 brushes. These will help eliminate their shedding so it will save your time vacuuming the place.
About $2 per brush type.

Nail Cutter
(not included on the collage)
I cut my dogs nails every month. Doing so helps them feel comfortable running on pavements.

These are only a few things to purchase when having a husky.


Considerations and Warnings

Having a husky means you need a bigger area to place them in.
A lawn or a spacious room.
I placed them in a 24-hour spacious, mosquito-free (against heart worm carrying mosquitoes) and well-ventilated area (air conditioned) to make sure their fur quality is maintained.
I do not recommend putting them on cage, trust me. It will give them trauma.
There are also immunizations that you need to consider such as 5in1 (every 2 weeks for puppies until 5months) and anti-rabies.
5in1 and anti-rabies are given annually for dogs 1 year and above.
Kennel cough vaccines and heart worm prevention are disclosed by vet if needed especially if the place is tagged as endemic.
Constant supervision is a must. Do not leave them alone.

Penny crossed the rainbow bridge on January 6, 2018 and please do consider this as a fur mommy reminder before getting a pet especially Siberian Husky.


Thanks for reading

Related Posts

Feuer

Phoebe

Puppies

Phoebe's pregnancy and delivery

Stories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55