Of becoming a furparent : a short story

in #responsiblepetownership7 years ago (edited)

116_5136.JPG

A transition from being a cat-lady, into a dog lover.. (because of fur-sheds haha20151012_202840.jpg)


You might wanna know why I choose Siberian Husky as my first pet dog. I did not choose, it was given as an anniversary gift by my boyfriend.

FB_IMG_1513929131212.jpg

Well, my boyfriend and I are in a long distance relationship ever since we started. So on our 2nd anniversary, he decided to buy a husky for me as my company while he is working abroad.
Because LDR is always more than 9months.

FB_IMG_1513929620068.jpg

Why husky? Because bf thinks they look scary and cute at the same time. And he thinks it will help me overcome my fear of dogs. I got bitten by a shih tzu at the age of 3 and the phobia lingers until I was 21. REALLY. I am scared of dogs even if they are sleeping on the sidewalk, goosebumps all over my body.

FB_IMG_1513929271406.jpg

But when I did a kennel visit to see Von Feuer, his aura soooooooo innocent and cute. From there, I know this cute little fella won't hurt me.
20151101_022035~2.jpg

I got him last September 14, 2015. He was exactly a month old and weighs about 2 pounds only. He is the runt of the litter so I decided to get him even if his brothers are way healthier, fluffier and chubbier. ( I don't have a picture of them, sorry).

(But here is Phoebe and Feuer being too cute)
received_1882015305386092.jpeg

Maybe because at that time, I still am scared of dogs even if they are puppies, and Von Feuer is so timid. He just stared at me, moving his head sidewards from right to left as if he was so curious and he is very well-tempered. Unlike his siblings, they are so chaotic seeing humans. So imagine a 21 year old with a phobia seeing this puppies bulging on the gate wanting to riot in front of me, NO.

Photo0292.jpg

I immediately brought him to the vet and have the presciptions and feed him every 6 hours for the next months.

20151013_032110~2.jpg
Having Feuer as my first dog taught a lot of lessons in keeping a dog esp Siberian Huskies. A lot of things to consider such as ventillation (24hour aircon to prevent cough), budget, potty training and seasonal fur-shed.

FB_IMG_1513929278229.jpg

Adjustment is always the challenge. But I also have adapted to their language, dog's language. I am not scared anymore if a stranger dog barks. I can determine whether they are scared, happy, attentive, hungry etc.

received_1882034915384131.jpeg

I think the most challenging part is feeding. I can't leave him for more than 6hours because he won't eat. Yes. Huskies are known to be a drama queen and king if they are left alone.
They are notorious for skipping meals. There are times that I scroll over to the world wide web for appetite boosters, vitamins as if I have a human baby.

FB_IMG_1513929663022.jpg
Time passed and we realized that Feuer is on heat. We did not have him neutered since we did not expect that on his 7th month, he will be looking for a partner. So we decided to buy a new one which is Phoebe.

FB_IMG_1513929612651.jpg
Having a new pup is not that hard anymore but we're basically starting again since it is a different puppy.

received_1803918176529139.jpeg

Phoebe's temperament is an opposite of Feuer's. She is so demanding that I experienced waking up from slumber hearing a loud whimper and howl.

FB_IMG_1513929388496.jpg

Having Phoebe is more challenging, really, than having Feuer. She is so hyperactive, bullying Von Feuer and acting as an Alpha Female.

received_1802348096686147.jpeg

She destroys anything being left with Feuer. She can destroy everything, just give her less than a day. But I still love seeing her guilty face, folding ears and sorry eyes.

FB_IMG_1513929524115.jpg

Good thing about having her is that since Feuer already have a companion, he won't be skipping meals, have a playmate and a partner.
received_1791570211097269.jpeg

You know the feeling when you came home from work being tired and stressed out, then once they heard you on the doorstep, their whimper is a music to ears. Then you entering the house with kisses, howls, eyes full of gladness to see you and excitement--- like turning your bad hair day into love and warmth plus cuddle sessions. Figuratively making you feel that "It is not a bad day after all".

FB_IMG_1513929674256.jpg

Time flies so fast and they are not a puppy anymore. (Still a puppy at heart)
They grew up so fast that they already have puppies.

20171113_161157.jpg

And a new journey begins.

Thanks for reading!


Feuer's intro link: https://steemit.com/huskies/@ellamielle/meet-my-furchild-von-feuer
Phoebe's intro link: https://steemit.com/responsiblepetownership/@ellamielle/meet-my-queen-of-cuteness-and-chaos-phoebe
IG: ellamielbeau

will post more about furparenthood, artworks and movie insights soon.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ellamielle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ellamielle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64