Custom Domain, Baby! (& a Question for You!)

in #publishing6 years ago (edited)


I'm sorry I've been out of the game for a bit. I was desperate to get the whole website thing done before school started again. I'm glad I did, because it took longer than I thought it would! Between that, getting ready for my schedule to change again AND editing/formatting my next ebooks, it has been crazy making!

I've taken the first step to self publishing. Something that I thought was going to be fairly simple (I mean, I have set up a blog/web site before) but I was mistaken.

Screenshot-static

From everything I've read, STEP ONE: Set up a website and start collecting emails (so that you can find 'your audience' and have a way to let them know that you have books about to be released).

All righty then, NO PROBLEM!

After much stress, a huge learning curve and pulling out my hair, I think (Hope!) that I have accomplished this properly enough to say "I DID IT!" I now have my blog transferred over to my custom domain name bianallwright.com!!! So many things change when you take YEARS between doing projects like this!

I am still deciding on opening with a static page (that would have the options of categories (Erotica, Romance, Kinky Stuff + My publishing journey, behind the scenes stuff) or to just have the most recent posts show up and have the categories in the menu or side bar. BUT, I did get it set up AND it looks even better on mobile!

Screenshot-mobile3

I also tried (and failed) to set up a newsletter signup form. It is apparently beyond my capabilities today. I'll have to try that again tomorrow or when one of my techie friends is over. I can't believe how damn difficult some of these tasks were for me! I was beginning to feel like a colossal idiot. I got a sign up banner across the top thanks to a plugin, but I can not for the life of me figure out the pop-up form.

So I'm crossing my fingers, BUT I believe I got things accomplished here. Now, we'll see if the steempress plugin is going to work for me and crosspost to steemit.

Big Question:

When I DO get the email newsletter sign up thing figured out, what would make you want to subscribe? Anything? An audio version of one of my stories? A free story not available elsewhere? Something else I haven't thought of? How much of an incentive do you want/need/expect?

Screenshot-mobile4



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://bianallwright.com/?p=297

Sort:  

Wanna do another freewrite this weekend?

Fuck. Sorry I missed it. The school year starting threw me for a loop. I have been completely absent everywhere online. I always think I'm going to handle it better and it will be fine and then I end up going into a daze of 'too damn busy' for weeks on end.

I'm slowly getting back to sanity and having enough energy to focus on other things though. Next time for sure!

PS Cool website. Nice domain name.

When I DO get the email newsletter sign up thing figured out, what would make you want to subscribe? Anything? An audio version of one of my stories? A free story not available elsewhere? Something else I haven't thought of? How much of an incentive do you want/need/expect?

I don't know. That's why I don't offer one. If you have the bandwidth, you can throw some sexy tidbit of your (made up) real-life life.

Congratulations @eroticabian! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86