You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 28 | Mindfulness - Acceptance, Awareness & Being Present

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the well written post about mindfulness. I have used mindfulness as part of my own treatment and have found it quite effective at helping me to deal with anxiety and depression where other methods have failed.

When I first starting with the breathing exercises there was no way I could do it for three minutes because the thoughts were too intense. Furthermore, my brain would twist the breathing in a horrible manner so I would have to stop.

What I found helpful though is the idea of staying in the present. That is, focusing on what is and not what was or what will be. Overall I think mindfulness is a very useful treatment and I don't buy the criticism of the acceptance part because when you deal with intrusive thoughts you can't really change them. In fact the act of trying to change them often leads to them getting worse over time. I think it is important to accept them and the fact they can't be changed and then stay in the present by moving on with what is important. This is of course easier said than done.

Sort:  

Hello Tim :)

Yes, good point! Acceptance is also a means to deal with intrusive thoughts. I should have thought of that!

Thank you for taking the time to do the exercise and provide your feedback! I think so far I only read one comment saying they actually felt relaxed and peaceful. All the others, mainly reported anxious thoughts.

Although this is a focus exercise I make the effort to fit in in my daily schedule, I find that I can only truly turn off while doing my Yoga and, depending on the material, while studying. As for you, I believe that is when you play your instruments right?

I am glad to hear you liked the post.
All the best to you always.

I wish I could turn off while playing an instrument, but it just isn't the case. At one point I couldn't even play an instrument because I had too many thoughts about catastrophic things happening because of it. I have gotten to the point where I can play but some of the thoughts are still there. I just try to accept them now and continue on.

For me the most useful task is something that requires a lot of mental power to accomplish. Of course playing an instrument requires this but for some reason it has been a struggle. I have found that doing things such as writing music and working on complex mathematics work better for me. Although I have also had problems in the past with destroying things I have created and starting over because they aren't good enough or they have become contaminated by horrible thoughts.

I remember once you said you got rid of all your composition work because of your invasive thoughts (the equivalent of 5 years - if I am not mistaken).

I am definitely noting this down - the approach to accepting uninvited thoughts as a means to better live with them. Now, after your account, it makes sense to me.

Writing can be very engrossing indeed! And I am not even talking about writing music. Well, this is something I find truly beautiful and I also find you a very fine composer Tim.

Best :)

Yes, that is correct and it was some of my best work that I spent hundreds of hours on.

I am not good at accepting compliments because I am extremely perfectionistic and self critical. To me everything I have put on Steemit is garbage. But I am trying to work on that and not remove any of them. Thank you for all the support.

Keep going on the psychology posts. I find them very interesting and a good refresher of things I have learned while in therapy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52