You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 28 | Mindfulness - Acceptance, Awareness & Being Present

in #psychology7 years ago

Hello Tim :)

Yes, good point! Acceptance is also a means to deal with intrusive thoughts. I should have thought of that!

Thank you for taking the time to do the exercise and provide your feedback! I think so far I only read one comment saying they actually felt relaxed and peaceful. All the others, mainly reported anxious thoughts.

Although this is a focus exercise I make the effort to fit in in my daily schedule, I find that I can only truly turn off while doing my Yoga and, depending on the material, while studying. As for you, I believe that is when you play your instruments right?

I am glad to hear you liked the post.
All the best to you always.

Sort:  

I wish I could turn off while playing an instrument, but it just isn't the case. At one point I couldn't even play an instrument because I had too many thoughts about catastrophic things happening because of it. I have gotten to the point where I can play but some of the thoughts are still there. I just try to accept them now and continue on.

For me the most useful task is something that requires a lot of mental power to accomplish. Of course playing an instrument requires this but for some reason it has been a struggle. I have found that doing things such as writing music and working on complex mathematics work better for me. Although I have also had problems in the past with destroying things I have created and starting over because they aren't good enough or they have become contaminated by horrible thoughts.

I remember once you said you got rid of all your composition work because of your invasive thoughts (the equivalent of 5 years - if I am not mistaken).

I am definitely noting this down - the approach to accepting uninvited thoughts as a means to better live with them. Now, after your account, it makes sense to me.

Writing can be very engrossing indeed! And I am not even talking about writing music. Well, this is something I find truly beautiful and I also find you a very fine composer Tim.

Best :)

Yes, that is correct and it was some of my best work that I spent hundreds of hours on.

I am not good at accepting compliments because I am extremely perfectionistic and self critical. To me everything I have put on Steemit is garbage. But I am trying to work on that and not remove any of them. Thank you for all the support.

Keep going on the psychology posts. I find them very interesting and a good refresher of things I have learned while in therapy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51