You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mini Motivation #54 - Do you have people in your life who don't want you to succeed?

in #psychology7 years ago

Or maybe they have given up in putting effort to succeed. When they heard you want to do this, do that. They've already given up before they try. It's like hardwired in their brain already. They don't even start thinking how to do it, but they start and end with give up.

I've talked to a lot of corporate employees (ex and now) and mostly this happens after they have family. Yes, they fear change and they're so used to their lives, they've just given up on venturing out. I don't know what to say to these people, sometimes.

I'm sure you've met this kind of people. Do you leave them be, or bring them in growth journey?

Sort:  

Values change as we progress through major shifts in life. Marriage, having a family losing a parent are some that can change us, because our values had shifted because of the experience. Sometimes unconsciously too!

It's because of that that I don't try to change people anymore, because it's not my place to begin with. What I think is good, may not be good for them. As selfish as I sounds, I'll just move on, but look back once in a while to see if they decided to follow me. Then, I'll slow down, so they can catch up, and we can all walk together.

Those who wants to stay, stays for a reason. We who always look for change might never see eye to eye with them. I did the same as you, my friends who wish to stay, I chose not to influence them with my philosophy of life. I respected their decision and we'll just stay as friends, while I move on with my life and look for more like-minded friends.

Thank you @maverickfoo, you've assured me that this is not wrong. It's just the way it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59604.53
ETH 2413.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43