You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Psychology of Toxic Choices: Setting up Your Life so You can Complain About it

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I'd say the same about my mom, brothers and sister, only instead of complainers I'd say drama queens, (it's probably worse then that but...) they have created all sorts of negativism (some criminal) and then I am expected to be the one to come to everyone's rescue and make it all right. Sometimes when I see them I'll be like what are you up to now and I'll get a does everything have to be a negative with you. There so good at it I think I've actually become a person who scrutinizes everything for preparedness for when the shit hits the fan. Maybe it helps build a protection barrier around myself, I am already telling myself I am not going to let it effect me when it all comes down....maybe that's why they think I am a pillar of strength. Everyone breaks down just some of us learn when it's not the right time to fall to pieces. If a heart were hands I should have been born with boxing gloves on.

Sort:  

Well, emotional self-management is definitely a valuable tool to have. And some people to seem to have a meltdown at the drop of a hat... which can be annoying. On the other hand, if you never allow yourself to experience your emotions, you do run the risk of eventually "blowing up" at the wrong time... but that's just my personal experience.

Yeah, your personal experience has not eluded me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69