[wtf Wednesdays] Undercover Psychopaths : Do you know one?

in #psychology6 years ago

character-1292882_1280.png

The more I learn about different aspects of psychology, the more I start digging into all types of topics, including undercover psychopathy.

When you think of a person who has psychopathic behavioral issues, what do you see? Having crossed paths with a couple, I'll tell you what I've seen. These people, when described by people who thought they knew them, would be labeled as respectable, responsible, and likeable human beings, so that's what I saw.

On the surface, a psychopath I've met was a Navy senior chief that took care of his sailors. Ask anyone that worked with him and they'll have nothing but good things to say about him. So, when it was found out that he was abusing female sailors, it was a huge shock. No one knew I was one of them.

He called me in to his office regarding a barracks room issue. I will not go into gruesome details but I will go through my first incounter with his alter ego. It was just him and I in his office on the ship and it was a typical issue, no warning signs at all. It was just like a routine evaluation. After looking through my file, he discussed getting me a barracks room. I was pretty excited because sleeping on a shelf in the ship was cold and uncomfortable.

I remember after discussing this barracks room, he started asking me seemingly harmless questions. Something along the lines of, if I saw him in public would I hang out with him. I told him sure, it would be an honor to share a beer with him. I've heard nothing but good things about this guy. He started laughing and then the questions started getting uncomfortable. Very uncomfortable.

I kept dodging the questions with answers that I felt were appropriate with our dynamics. This was a married man and long story short he wanted to fraternize with me without instigating it himself. At the point where he said something along the lines of "ok, I can't put it in words, it's gotta be you." I knew exactly what he wanted and started to feel my face flush and realized I was alone with a predator. I looked at the door and started wondering if it was locked or not.

He started to catch on that I wasn't going to give him the answer he wanted and tried to play it off. He said something like "congrats! You passed the test." I laughed nervously and don't remember much after that.
I will not go into detail about what happened following this encounter. I never told anyone. Even if I felt like talking about it, I buried it deep.

The following month or so, I learned about three other women he has attacked. Even at this point I said nothing because no one cared, they still saw him as an outstanding senior chief. Many of the men I served with who found out about what these women went through had strong opinions, saying things like "Fuck those whores, they should've kept their mouths shut. They ruined a perfectly good man's career."

So, that's where I left it. No one wanted to hear about it. There wasn't much support on the female side of things, either. These women were called names by fellow female sailors. Going as far as to say it was a set up. He had pictures of these females in compromising positions, in his office, without clothes. How is that a set up? I guess they could say such things because they've never seen this man's dark side. They've never been in my shoes.

Now, hindsight is 20/20 but I wish I reported his attack. Part of me blamed myself for the other attacks that transpired the following month. I feel like I didn't for selfish reasons. I've done everything I could to build respect amongst my shipmates especially the male ones because many still looked at the military as a man's job. I began by finishing my tasks faster and better than them. I carried as much or more weight than them. I did what other females would refuse to do, claiming they need "the right MAN for the right job."

Either way, none of that mattered because this incident ate me up alive and I slipped after that. I drank more, skated more(meaning I avoided tasks), and just kept going in a downward spiral.

What I hope you take away from this is that if you hear someone talk about being attacked, regardless of your opinion of them and their lifestyle, Psychopaths prey on anyone. From my observation this one in particular preyed on those who no one would believe or in other words were comfortable with their sexuality, or unliked, or just brand new to the ship and haven't built any reputation yet.

Also, in regards to psychopathic predators, it can be anyone. Not all Psychopaths display psychopathic behavior. Why would they? They want to build their reputation so if anyone says anything about them, they wouldn't be believed. "He did that? No way. How did it happen? What did you do?" This is what I hear a lot when someone comes forward. What did you do

By the way, if this sounds like something you've experienced, please feel free to talk to me about it. I'm always giving the disclaimer that I'm no professional but when it comes to these kinds of issues, reaching out to someone who can possibly relate and picking their brain on how to cope might do some good. And if your predator chooses other victims, remember, you are not the psychopath here.

I encourage talking about your experience because I believe the only solution is to shed light on those who hide in the darkness. If you broke a bone, would you keep it to yourself? Being attacked even just on an emotional level is just as damaging as physical harm. Don't let it fester.

If you or someone you know is struggling with strong emotions that gets in the way of everyday life, it wouldn't hurt to look into dialectal behavioral therapy as a possible solution. To get an idea of what DBT entails, I'll link a short video description of this practice below:

Also, I recently made a post about radical acceptance which can be reached through the practice if DBT. If you want to read about my experience, click here

A side note, not all psychopaths are predators or harmful. If you'd like to get a better understanding of what a psychopath is, I will link a video down below.


[All videos are not my own. I do not own any rights to these videos. Image sourced from pixabay.com]

Sort:  

What a hard but important subject to discuss, and yes, shine light on. It’s scary how many women have had to deal with situations like this, where they are afraid to speak up because it could ruin their career or worse. I commend you for your bravery, bringing this forward now.

Thanks for sharing Stace ♡
My ex is a psychopath, according to him. I have a lot of trauma and thus healing to do from my life with him. Its hard for me to share stories about that decade of my life.
I havent used dbt before but im really drawn to cbt, ill have to check out dbt too.
♡♡♡

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

I am so sorry you went through this. My heart breaks for you to not only be violated at first - but then violated again and again after hearing how people are completely unsupportive. Thank you for putting yourself out there so that others can have someone to talk to! I'm sure that this will reach someone!

I know that this kind of thing can't be easy to talk about, much respect to you for being willing to put it into words for others to read!
If this can help even 1 person, it's worth doing, and I know there is a certain amount of healing in talking about it instead of keeping it all inside.

Exactly, someone will read this and relate. This is something I was doing on Facebook before I found steemit, letting people know they're not alone. I've had men and women come to me and tell me their story but at the time it just pushed me further into my depression. As a kid I use to just be open and honest with anyone who was willing to listen and I found myself doing it less and less as I got negative reactions. Knowing what I know now, I can do this in a better mindset and with the knowledge and tools to be there for someone effectively. Not from a place of helplessness or seeking pitty but from a place of strength and seeking to heal. As long as there's darkness I will do my best to shed my light as best I can. And there will always be darkness ☯️. Practicing the DBT skills helps in sharing my experiences. It helps to learn coping skills so when I feel the intense emotional pull, I know how to maintain my bearings. I know to take breaks and come back to it if it's too much to handle in one sitting. I do have a long ways to go but I will be sharing everything I learn along the way so that others potentially can benefit from what I know. At least as long as I'm not harming myself in the process because like you said it isn't easy. I strive to operate these kinds of tasks with a sound mind.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow that Jordan Peterson video is very insightful. I have seen his videos crop up from time to time and there seem to be a lot of gems in what he says. A lot in the eyes and non verbal communication. And characteristics of psychopaths....

Regarding what happened, it sounds like a very tough situation. I'm glad that more and more such stories are coming out in the open though, just for awareness' sake.

Exactly, maybe it takes just bringing awareness for things to change. I hope sharing my experience helps in some way

Posted using Partiko Android

oh wow stace... I applaud your bravery on bringing up this charged subject..

I'm so sorry you had to live that... what a douche... is he still part of the navy?

He was forced to retire after he got caught with those photos of the female sailors on his phone. But still, I feel like he should have been punished a bit more severely than forced retirement. That means he still got that retirement money. but then again, who knows what happened to his wife and kids. Losing his family was probably hard enough. Who am I to decide someone's fate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi staceyjean,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Saturday/Early Sunday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]

Curie---Author-Showcase---Radial-Gradient-BG.gif

Hi staceyjean,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much! It's an honor to be selected by the Curie community. This post means so much to me and I hope it reaches your audience and someone who needs to read it finds the path to healing. It's something that I hope this posts leads to. Awareness is a step towards healing 🤗❤️

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I am sorry to hear what happened to you. It must have been very difficult for you to write this so thank you for sharing. I am sure that somebody who has similar experience will read it and gain strength to do something about that.

I always feel disgusted by such behavior and hopeless that I can't do anything to help. I've heard many stories but thanks God never had such experience myself.

Again, thank you for sharing and I hope that this guy will be punished for his actions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63560.19
ETH 3041.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49