Diagnosis as a Path to Self-Acceptance

in #psychology6 years ago

For most of my life I struggled to meet societal expectations. I was awkward and weird, propelled by my own anxiety to the point I was much like a starving dog attempting to steal a bone from a much bigger, healthier dog, and getting away with it because my attack was so driven and unexpected.

I was in my mid-twenties before I learned how to stop talking. I tend to fill the vacuum of quiet which naturally occurs when people are thinking or done talking. That quiet still makes me itch all over. I feel pressure inside to quickly fill it up, but that's impossible and ill-advised. When attempting to fill a vacuum, I throw out thoughts like banana peels. They are slippery and unwelcome. Their color turns as soon as they hit the air. They are better as compost than conversational fuel.

rawpixel-com-472352-unsplash.jpg
Image Credit

Compost. It's an idea I come back to frequently. I believe in looking at the shit of life as an opportunity for growth. When I could no longer stand to put on an act that I felt happy and safe with my peers, I felt mired in shit. My own. As though I was false. Truth be told, I was. I had been wearing masks and acting to fulfill the role of "normal." I learned to control my face and pitch my voice and use my body in a manner that has one of my friends telling me I'm a natural actress and I must pursue it. Maybe in a piece she writes, I will, but that's not who I want to be because it's not who I am.

I have a repertoire of characters to suit many occasions. I still switch between them in public. I've written about this before--about reading body language and my telephone voice--how even if I'm crying or asleep I can pass on the phone as happy and alert so as not to make the caller uncomfortable. These characters have served me in a world where neurodivergence is not accepted, but it is now the divergence that most serves me.

freestocks-org-485685-unsplash.jpg
Image Credit

Recognizing myself as autistic was revelatory. I suddenly understood why I never fit. I don't see neurodivergence as wrong. It's divergence. It's difference.

Difference is what set me apart socially and emotionally, drove me to adopt false characters and narratives to locate acceptance. It's also what sharpens my creativity, gives me alternate (and sometimes deeper) perspectives and, ultimately, supports me in loving and accepting myself.

What I mean to say is learning I am autistic was a relief. I was able to look back at the catalogue of my life and understand so many more interactions, tough moments and my incredibly painful shyness, outbursts and more. It was much like when I learned I have post traumatic stress disorder. Those words allowed me to accept that violence throughout my life was not something I sought. Namely, I was able to finally dispel with guilt for being raped and sexually assaulted. Blame landed where it should have: on the perpetrators.

With autism as part of me, I've stopped hiding my stims. If I need to cover my ears and rock, I find a comfortable spot and do it. My kids know what it means, they know to wait, but if they are rowdy, I'll find another adult and ask for help so I can calm my nervous system and carry on.

caique-silva-356646-unsplash.jpg
Image Credit

What does this boil down to? There is so much about me that was never accepted from the outside. Because I have the words and research to understand myself, I am able to accept it from the inside. PTSD, ADHD, dyslexia, dyscalculia, Autism Spectrum Disorder, depression, anxiety. These are all pieces of who I am. In fact, all fall under the ASD umbrella as autism informs our storing of violent experiences. They go together, and it's okay that this package calls me has so many labels. Labels don't make me, but they help me be my best me.

I have friends who never seek diagnosis for themselves or their children. I don't judge, but I don't understand. How do you turn off your curiosity? A label can be so useful. Yes, it can be applied destructively, but if we lovingly own our divergences from "typical," it doesn't matter what the world says. I choose to show my labels on the outside in an effort to de-stigmatize. None of them have stopped me from being compassionate. If anything, they've increased my ability to empathize. I am not afraid of knowing myself, but it's only because I've had the chance to examine my needs through the correct framework. I wish we all had this opportunity. I also wish for less stigma surrounding divergence.

I am many things, not one thing. No label can accurately caption all of me. Each one has simply paved a bit more of the path to self-acceptance.

What are you accepting about yourself?

Recent Posts

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

Steemit Bloggers
Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I love how you just embrace your challenges and turn them into something positive. It's awesome that you talk so openly about them and in so doing are helping others out. I'm so happy for you that you have found self acceptance and I can tell that you have put a lot of effort into understanding yourself.

Thank you. I am so grateful this platform has been a warm and safe space to share. It is vulnerable to expose the aspects of me that are stigmatized, but comments like this one show me that others understand. There is compassion in the world. I am grateful for your readership and voice.

I SO agree with your take on diagnosis. It is not a cure, but it is an explanation. I know someone who was diagnosed with autism spectrum as an adult, soon after her divorce, and she basically said, "well, that explains a lot!"
My own labels include joint hypermobility syndrome, secondary infertility, and anxiety with occasional bouts of depression. Finding out the name for what was going on didn't heal me in itself, but it helped me understand, for instance, that I was going to need a lot of physical therapy and to learn to do almost everything differently in order to protect my body.
Each label is almost like a membership card to a group you never really wanted to be a part of, but then it can help you find community too. Thanks for sharing.

Yes yes yes. I never thought, "Oooh, wouldn't it be great if I was diagnosed with . . . " but each diagnosis has been great in its own way. What you are saying about learning how to best care for your body is amazing. What a wonderful thing to learn--how not to destroy ourselves. <3

My son was diagnosed with Asperger's about six years ago, and as we went through the diagnostic process I had a series of epiphanies, some of them very painful, but I came out of it a far stronger and better person.

I am definitely on the spectrum, and this has been borne out over the years with me being out of synch with the world at large, often on the fringes without understanding why.

These days, I like the fringes! And oddly, I spend less time in them. Being comfortable with what we are and who we are is a huge part of our personal development.

My son was diagnosed at 7 and it was a cascade of aha moments for me from then on. I am now a better caretaker to him because I understand his thought processes in a way others simply can't relate to. I'm so grateful for knowing this about myself because it means he's not alone on his journey. It also means I can tell the difference between overwhelmed and lazy. He's 12 now, so that one's important!

Knowledge is power! That is one of life's truisms. Knowledge is always a good thing.

I feel like quoting some part of this post, but then, if I should, that means I'm quoting the entire post because almost all the words in every paragraph speak with a loud voice.
@shawnawma, your life is laced with experience, experience that has shaped your life and gave you better understanding of your true self.
You are a strong woman, and for that i congratulate you!

What are you accepting about yourself??
I accept my entire being.... The way I am and the way I was created
When faced with people that believe I am not worth it,that I'm odd and that I can't be among, I remind them that they are not in the driver's seat of my life.... Thus their opinion about me doesn't really count and I cannot live a fake character so as to blend with them

Thanks for another expository post!

Life is full of unforeseen circumstances of which we have only a portion in
controlling them. The other portion which cannot be controlled must be
embraced too because life is a mixture of negative and positives
circumstances and equity is the law used in treating both. We must
therefore be ready to meet what awaits us and also accept who we are.
My admiration to you for sharing yours with us. @shawnamawna.

I can relate to this SO much

I was in my mid-twenties before I learned how to stop talking. I tend to fill the vacuum of quiet which naturally occurs when people are thinking or done talking. That quiet still makes me itch all over. I feel pressure inside to quickly fill it up, but that's impossible and ill-advised.

It took me much longer to learn the importance and even the power of silence.

As far as diagnoses themselves, I've been relieved to get a diagnosis before, but really, the relief came well before an official person gave me the official call. In the case of the D.I.D. (multiple personalities) the official diagnosis was probably more... relevant to me because it was such a hard to believe issue.

The depression, the bipolar issues, especially the bipolar diagnosis at 19 was a relief to me because it just explained SO MUCH.

I can also see the side of things of not needing external diagnosis as well.

I have friends who never seek diagnosis for themselves or their children. I don't judge, but I don't understand. How do you turn off your curiosity?

Frankly, I ask that a lot too. I'm naturally curious - the kid who asked too many "whys" in class. And like you, when I observe others just going through life accepting the labels that are stuck on them, following the beliefs others impose on them, living the standrds set by others, I do wonder, don't they know that they can think for themselves?

And yes, I am constant trying not be judgemental.

This got me thinking about my shyness to meet with new persons, but I have discovered that the best way I can cope with my shyness is to add value to myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54