Clearing my mind... seperating the important things from the trivial ones!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

The last five years I have been through some pretty rough times. I am not going to complain about my life here, I am not that kind of guy.
But sometimes life is a real bitch, you get some though luck, financially, it happens, but I am OK now. That was the smallest of my problems...

IMG_5867.JPG
(I need to use a long leash with the dog, because he still loves to run to other dogs, he's merely 6 months old)

The hardest nut I had to crack when my father passed away. He was diagnosed with type 3 astrocytoma in his brain in february of 2012. Thanks to a very good surgeon they could remove almost everything surgically, which was unforseen before the surgery.
Then he got radiation on his head 60 times to try to kill all the other cells. He went through hell there, got severe burns on his head from that, needed to take Medrol, and all other types of medication to hold back epilepsy, the problems he had with his balance, headaches, etc...

But he got through this. But then came the really hard part. Because the bad prognosis of this disease, 98 % relapses within 2 years after treatment, he had to undergo a new scan of his brain every three months, and all the worrying that hangs around that. He was not the man he was before the operation, more scared, less optimistic, and he couldn't work anymore, he was officially disabled, and that hurt him mentally. As an only child and the fact that my mother passed away 15 years earlier, I had to be there for him, a lot! I'm glad I did it, too. Because after 2 and a half years it was back, fiercely, numerous tumors in his head, lungs, liver, on his ribs... There was his death sentence. He knew it, but tried to keep me optimistic although deep down I knew more. The hospital and doctors reluctantly kept giving him chemo and treatments that weakened him even more, although there was no real purpose to it. I am still really pissed and angry for that, they should gave given him his last months without treatment and let him live instead of dumping all sorts of terrible drugs in him in a hospital... No his last months were hell, and I just let it happen, because they still give you a little hope, just to sell their treatments. Horrific that is!

IMG_5860.JPG

Now, 2 years later, I have the feeling I can live again, the psychologic hell I went through during and after his illness has passed. I can look forward again, to the future with my family. And that's good, because you have to have grief before you can cope with something like that.

IMG_5858.JPG

Yesterday, during my weekly soccergame with my amazing team, which are all buddies of mine. I had to take a penalty kick in the last minute of the game at a 3-3 score. The captain asked me, "you take it!?", because our normal penalty kicker is injured.
I was ok with it, you do that for the team. But, damn, I just kicked it straight forward and the keeper saves. I was pissed like a m**********r. I cost my team 2 points, because it would have been the winning goal. My day was fucked, I was so angry with myself...

I went to the beach with my dog, to clear my head. The dog had the time of his life, he jumped in the water like a penguin. I laughed, cheered, shouted, ... It was fun. And then it struck me: "Why, in god's name are you letting a missed penalty kick ruin your day, look what you have been through allready!"
It came clear to me, I took one for the team, so what... At least I'm alive, at least I can enjoy life...

IMG_5853.JPG

I made a promise to myself there and then, that I will never let trivial things like that bother me again!

Sincerely,

Pele23

Sort:  

Upvoted (25%) and Resteemed by @venuspcs.

Want your post to get more attention then check out my Upvote, Resteem & Promote Services!

Wow... First of all, thank you for sharing your story with us. I guess writing about such experiences is not an easy task since all the memories come back directly without any buffer zone.
You must be a strong person with an extraordinarily big heart. Not everybody would have the strength to go through all that...

The fact that you are able to go to the beach to release your thoughts and clear your mind, is priceless. The Ocean is able to balance and reset our day. The pictures are magic and that dog looks really cute!

Don't be too strict with yourself. I guess it's a natural reaction that the missed shot made you angry. You were not only fighting for yourself but for a whole team, so you wanted to contribute to their success as well. I think it's absolutely OK to be upset for a certain time, it means that you care. As long as these things don't tear you down during an unnecessarily long time, everything's fine. You are right: you've gone through things that were quite harder compared to a soccer game, but you're still human and don't have superpowers. Even professional players that miss an important shot complain about it - it's part of their learning process.

Have a wonderful day!

First of all, thanks for the inspiring comment and the generous upvote.
You're right when you that I care, when I missed the penalty. And that is indeed a good thing, now I see that, but sunday I didn'it. lol
I'm mentally quite strong, but I do have a very understanding wife and 2 marvellous kids, without them, I don't know how I would have managed.
Have a very good day you too!

What a sad story about your dad and the illness he struggled with. It is a good thing you got over all the pain and grief; you managed to get back into positive living. Am sure playing soccer and that cute dog bring you so much joy :)

@pele23 I'm so sorry for your loss. Do not feel guilty. You did what you could. From heaven, your parents will still be proud of you. A very recognizable story for me. I also needed a very long period of mourning. Wish you all the luck of the world.

ps you have a very nice dog. Greetings from the Netherlands.

I do not want to foresee the future. I am concerned with taking care of the present. God has given me no control over the moment following.

- Mahatma Gandhi

This was a great post. Thank you for sharing. I'll be sure to keep an eye out for you future work!

Thanks, I really appreciate your reply and your upvote!

I know that I can speak for many of us when I say- I have been down some of those same paths. That brings a range of diverse people together at a high level. Powerful post. Thanks.

you're welcome! It came from the heart, you don't see that very often here!

Several good lessons to be learned from this heartfelt post... another underlying gem is what dogs can teach us about life and how to cope. They are not coined man's best friend for simply being loyal and dependent. :-)

tnx for your compassionate reply and upvote!
Following you!

Likewise, friend... Thnx!

You have certainly had more than your share of pain. But the lesson you speak of, learning to put things in perspective and realising what matters in life, is one many never learn. Enjoy every day to the fullest. ;-)

nice one mate keep it real.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64