What is really going on?

in #psychology8 years ago

I mentioned to my therapist once that there seems to be a mental health crisis happening in the United States. I haven't traveled out of the country yet, so I can't speak for the rest of the world, but something here feels very off. Maybe it's like this in the rest of the world and I was just raised to expect something else, some kind of idyllic reality where people's opinions make sense, wars happen for easily discernible reasons and for the most part, people are happy. This isn't what I see though.

I struggle with mental illness myself, and I often ask myself what this even means. I doubt that my anxieties, addictions and depression stem entirely from neurochemical imbalances. I wonder almost too much whether or not ADHD actually exists, or if it's just a way to classify a certain type of person that doesn't fit into the one-size-fits-all school system. I wonder why there's so much heroine use everywhere, and why people I've known personally have been sucked into a methamphetamine addiction. What is it that drives people to chain smoke cigarettes, binge eat, binge drink and shoot addicting chemicals into their arms to escape reality? Not that I do. My addiction isn't so severe, fortunately. I smoke too much marijuana. It's not as bad as something like a Xanax addiction or even alcoholism, but I still struggle with the fact that I can't stop. All these compulsions, all these issues. Why do we feel the need to buy things when our surroundings feel too silent, or when we feel lonely? And most importantly, why does society as a whole seem to avoid confronting these issues?

All of this breaks down to consumption. Uncertainty. Insecurity. Why?

Because there is a void within us that we instinctively seek to fill.

But what fit into that space before we sensed its absence?

Perhaps community. Maybe that's what fit there. Our families do seem to be fracturing. Our neighborhood communities are nonexistent. We have no faith in something greater than ourselves.

But I don't know. One of these days I hope to know. But for now, if we consider it, maybe together we can find an answer.

Sort:  

you are onto something, dont worry humanity will be fine, but keep seeking the truth, if i had 1 thing i would recommend you, its meditation, trust me, meditate deeply enough and you`ll go into the rabbithole, and there lie all the answers, the world is mad, and the madman are sane

Thank you. I do meditate sometimes, but I struggle keeping up a daily habit. I'll try today :)

​Some interesting thoughts that I thank you for sharing. One of my interests lately is, I think, somewhat related. The question of personal identity has been hashed over by many great minds throughout history so I doubt I could add much to the knowledge base. But, it occurs to me that, there seems to be a corollary between the struggle of the individual to achieve independence from the tribe and the societal struggle between centralization and decentralization. To state this as a question; At a time when we are tantalizingly close to true individualism; Why do so many clamor for more centralized society? Is that struggle represented in individuals who come up against the contradictions in each side of the argument and have not the verbal and cognitive skills to pull apart the ideas? Is it painful to look at the future and see only darkness, nothingness, and non-understanding? Is that the moment, staring at that blackness, when turning away from reality with drugs or some other form of mind altering medium - becomes the solution to the pain? Am I asking the right questions?

Congratulations @mphstphls! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mphstphls! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47